We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Montgomery
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hudson River Crest B&B
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Escape”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hudson River Crest B&B for two nights in July. As soon as you enter the door, you're greeted with a beautifully set living room with an amazing view of the river. The back porch, where we had breakfast, overlooks the river and backyard. Lynn's breakfasts were delicious, she was truly a great host and was very accommodating with our 1 year old son. She even went as far as baking a muffin without nuts that he could eat for breakfast. There are always freshly baked treats and snacks as well as wine set out for the guests. We stayed in the Tara Room, which is charming and spacious even with a pack 'n play that was set up for us before we arrived. It's obvious that the hosts love what they do, we were very well taken care of.
Lynn sent us home with a goody bag full of brownies and muffins that she had baked. We really were sad to leave this beautiful house and hope to go back one day. Thank you, Lynn and Bill!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed at this B&B before a race in the area, and Lynn and Bill went out of their way to make our experience more enjoyable. We stayed in the Tara Room, which was very large and had its own seating area. The room is very tastefully decorated and at times I felt like I was staying at a fancy hotel rather than someone's home. There were freshly baked brownies, a Keurig, bottled water in the fridge, and complimentary wine available to us at all times. The other guests staying at the B&B were in town for the same race, and Lynn allowed us all to stay later than the usual 12PM checkout. She was up at 6AM to tend to our "picky" pre-race breakfast requests, and then served us a hearty feast of a brunch when we returned around noon. Both the house and yard are gorgeous, and you can tell that a lot of love has gone into the property. The house overlooks the Hudson River, and we spent the afternoon sipping wine and stretching on the stone patio. I'm sad that we didn't plan on spending more than one night, and we definitely plan on staying here again if we're in the area. To make the experience that much more memorable, Lynn sent us all home with a care package stuffed with homemade baked goods for our ride home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was one of the most spectacular hidden treasures for New Yorkers that I have ever stumbled upon. With hardly an hour in the car you are in this glorious setting, and in the comforts of the beautiful home of Lynn and Bill. Their generosity, kindness, and true interest that our stay be flawless was boundless. The home is stunning, the room a dream come true, and the breakfast outstanding. The scenery is breathtaking--even with a wintery tinge to it it was poetic. This is the true spirit of a B&B: warm, lovely people opening up their homes in a rare context of nature and beauty. Go!!! --Jessica

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have been to many B&Bs in the Hudson Valley area, but River Crest is our favorite by far. Our room was large, bright and airy, with incredible detail, down to the super soft sheets and blankets, luxurious towels and organic toiletries.

Bill and Lynn are an amazingly sweet couple and were very flexible regarding our dietary and time needs.

Lynn is an amazing cook and made special accommodations for my boyfriend, who cannot eat eggs. She always had special treats out: homemade brownies, apple sauce cake, pretzels and granola bars. Yum! We didn't take her up on her offer for a glass of wine on the back porch, but it's something we're looking forward to next time.

Bill is very sweet and soft spoken and is a joy to watch as he interacts with Oliver and Roosevelt, their two parrots. The birds are beautiful and really fun to watch. They are very well-behaved and when they are allowed to be free, usually hang out on a perch next to a window in the living room to take in the view as they talk to each other. (Bill and Lynn will keep them caged if preferred by the guests.)

The view of the Hudson River is gorgeous and the backyard is wonderfully appointed with rocking chairs, a porch swing and lots of places to sit and relax. I also really enjoyed doing yoga on their large stone patio--plenty of room!

All in all, I highly recommend this fabulous B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Montgomery
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
2.8 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hudson River Crest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hudson River Crest B&B

Property: The Hudson River Crest B&B
Address: 14 River Crest Road, Fort Montgomery, NY 10922-0449
Region: United States > New York > Fort Montgomery
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Montgomery
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious first class accommodations, all with private baths (one is semi-private). The back porch has magnificent views of the Hudson River. We are close to West Point, Woodbury Commons, Mass Transit, Bear Mountain, Hiking, and Hudson Valley Wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing