We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of Karma Piano Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Karma Piano Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
West Winfield, New York, United States
1 review
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I try to be a fair person and give everyone a chance to set things right. We had reserved seats at KARMA in Frankfort for dinner New Years Eve. Stacy dad was coming up from Ithaca, we drove from Winfield and several friends were meeting us. We got there to find a sign in the driveway stating they were closed due to illness! There was no updated message on the phone or on their website! Just a sign in the parking lot we got to read as we pulled in at 7:30 on NY eve!!!!!! So I called them today to see if they planned on doing anything to make this right. The owner cried of how sick he was and then how much money he lost!!!! Not of a word of how sorry he was he ruined our NY eve! Since we go there often and usually take friends with us he just lost even more because we will NEVER go back again!
I need to add that Swifty's on Genesee St. in Utica not only got us right in at 8 p.m. but we had a GREAT meal and fantastic service! They saved our New Years Eve and will continue to get our business!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
1 review
“Horrible "restaurant"..”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Had dinner here tonight and will never go back..Group got together to celebrate a birthday as well as a member of our family on leave from the Navy being home and have never had an experience like it before...service was slow..1 1/2 hours just to get the soup and salad brought out..when food finally arrived cold, over-cooked, and just not good...complained that food was cold and chef told us..no lie..that it was warm on the bottom and we just need to stir it up...complained to owner (who wouldn't even come out to see us, 2 of us had to go into kitchen to find him) and he told us we didn't know what we were talking about and food was fine and this isn't Applebees..asked to have money back on one of the dishes that was just awful and was told he would but we could never come back and threatened to kick my family members [--] if he didn't leave the kitchen..a disgrace..way over priced and would recommend Denny's or McDonald's before this place...wish I was making this up..felt like I was on an episode of Kitchen Nightmares or something..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Karma without the Piano”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

When we arrived at the Karma at 5 p.m. together with two other couples we were given enough time at the bar to enjoy a couple of good dinks without a piano ever interrupting our witty conversations. When we sat down at our reserved table (which later turned out to be quite advisable looking at the amount of customers on an else quiet Wednesday evening) we were given a very elaborate menu with very fancy descriptions of the fine dishes that we were about to order. Half an hour later our food arrived and indeed everyone was more or less pleased with what they had ordered though the "fresh" haddock seemed to have made the aquaintance of a deep-freezer for some time and the pasta sauce that came with the penne and the shrimph seemed to have survived several warming-ups. Nonetheless the food was tasty and the rations were more than enough. Overall everyone left with the feeling that the food had added to our well-being (good karma) whereas there must have something happened to the piano and its player: the never showed up.
By the way the management promised to remove the piano from the pub's coat of arms (and the player from the pay-roll) So please check the next time you come.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herkimer, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Always a great dinner, service is good, and many choices. If your in the mood for pizza it is heavenly too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johnsville, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Karma Restaurant and Piano Bar has wonderful homemade food, great service and Italian dishes to die for! Have not had rice balls since my Gramma Rose's passing and they were delicious! Took 15 people back for my birthday!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lissycap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karma Piano Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing