We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster baby!”
Review of Nautilus Cafe

Nautilus Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Nautilus Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 97 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$39
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Front Street
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lobster baby!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

While visiting my brother in NY, we went to the Nautilus for dinner. The food was so good! I have no had lobster in years. I ordered the 2 lb and I enjoyed every bite! I don't use butter so I asked for lots of lemon and they made sure I had enough to enjoy my meal. The restaurant was small but the service was excellent. The place felt like one was in a sleepy fishing village, fresh fish abound. My sister -in- law had the halibut with a lobster crust that was almost decadent, just delicious. If you like seafood and you don't need the ambiance, this is the place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank imoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dining at Nautilus Cafe”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Been our go to place for seafood for years.
Not a huge menu, but has good selection for land and water choices, and there are daily specials too.
Most entrees come with a good sized salad and side dishes are big enough to share.
Seating can be a bit tight, the food makes it worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 185charlesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Consistantly good”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

What more can I say about this place. Brian and his staff have proven time and time again that this is the place to beat. Service, and food being always consistently good. Lunches here are the best deal in town and the early bird is a pretty good deal to. Try Steak night or Lobster night but make reservations the place gets packed.
I've been coming here for 15 years and it's always a place we look forward to dining at.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Veal chop is to die for!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Amazing veal chop and prime rib dinner. Excellent! The best food on the Nautical Mile. It is very busy, so I would suggest reservations. They also have Valet parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marianne522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
It's a Freeport Thing
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had an enjoyable dinner there with many colleagues. THe staff was very accommodating as the amount of people in our group kept changing. Food was very good too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buldog216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nautilus Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Nautilus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing