We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foxglove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Freeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Don't stay at the Foxglove Bed and Breakfast. It is the worst B and B we've ever stayed at. Basically, you're staying in an upstairs bedroom in a boarding house with other permanent residents. The room is big with a new, nice bathroom. However, the king size bed has old, unmatched, sheets and quilts. The front porch would have been adequate, except they allow smoking, so the porch and ashtrays stink. The hosts were nice enough and the breakfast was delicious. You could do so much better in the Ithaca area. Even a hotel would have been better than this.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hikergal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We are not really "B&B" types, but as this was a short distance from the people we were visiting, we booked it. I will say that Chris and Suzanne made this our best B&B experience ever. Due to health issues, we need to stay on a lower carb diet, and Suzanne accommodated us with no problems. The room was comfortable, the bath large, and the window air conditioner worked fine in the near record heat the area experienced. We too were disappointed that the labyrinth, gardens, and nature trail no longer exist. Had they been there, it would be a definite 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatCentralFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Chris and Suzanne were very nice and the rates certainly affordable. Unfortunately, some of the amenities advertised in our guidebook were not available. We enjoy biking and thought the hot tub would be a welcomed end to our day, but it has not worked in three years. I am a Gardner and looked forward to the gardens that were described on the website, but again was disappointed that we were met with what seemed like uncared for grounds. Lastly, as a spiritual person, the turtle labyrinth attracted me the most, but was told it has not been maintained.

We were the only guests and had reserved a room for three nights the day before we arrived. Personal business shortened our stay and we were surprised that we were still charged for the other two nights. The inaccurate descriptions of the amenities surely were cause enough to leave early, but we are reasonable people and the cancellation policy stated 7 days notice. Just want to make others aware that this b&b may not be what you expect.

Room Tip: On a heavily traveled road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiGi22311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

A great find in the Ithaca area. The most affordable bed and breakfast available. Chris and Suzanne are wonderful hosts who do a nice job of making anyone who walks through the door welcome. This is a house converted into a bed and breakfast. Quarters are definitely close.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgkane4882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We stayed in this place in Sept 09 for 3 days. we were a group of eight(four couples). Our stay here was quite memorable. The house was clean, beautiful and homely. Every bedroom had different decor. Sitting rooms were nicely decorated. Each and everything in the house was thoughtfully placed.

Chris and Suzanne were amazing hosts! They were helpful in guiding us. They served us delicious breakfast everyday. We had an after dinner get-together with Chris and Suzanne in their backyard, one evening. They decorated gazebo and the surrounding nicely with candles and lamps. Chris took our photos on the 'Ferry Bench' and printed for us next day!

This place is just 10 miles away from Ithaca. If I get chance to visit Finger Lakes region
again, I would definitely stay at this place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvtravel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Older type setting in small town. Welcoming couple. Clean rooms and and house.

We are planning on staying at the Foxglove in the future, if the need arises.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Foxglove. Chris and Suzanne were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed their hospitality and conversation. The place was clean, pleasant and warmly decorated. The
price was right and the food was very good. I recommend Foxglove for weary travelers looking for a "secluded but just close enough place" to Ithaca. The amenities are simple yet satisfying and are carefully chosen to refresh mind and spirit. All in all, a very nice place with
very nice people.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DiogenesNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Foxglove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxglove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 28 Main St, Freeville, NY 13068-9806
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Freeville
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Freeville
Price Range: £52 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing