We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value on Long Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Value on Long Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

In a great location, convenient to all, this is my number one choice when staying in Nassau County. Extremely well-kept, always immaculately clean, staff is friendly and responsive to any questions or concerns. Happened to be staying at this location during Hurricane Sandy and miraculously, the property never lost power. I witnessed how management and staff went over and above helping those who had been evacuated/lost their homes. It just reaffirmed for me how great his hotel is. Can you tell? I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    89
    51
    19
    18
See reviews for
112
29
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My wife and I along with our 17 year old daughter were attending a Sunday open house at Hofstra U. on April 28th. I chose La Quinta because of the on-line reviews. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were easily and quickly checked in by the young woman at the desk. Went up to our room on the fifth floor. Basic room, very clean and neat. Decided to head into Manhattan for the evening. Went back to the front desk to inquire how best to get into the city. Another young woman at the desk was incredibly helpful with getting us a shuttle van to the LIRR station nearby along with train times into Penn Station and the trains back that evening. We had a great time and returned about 10pm. The taxi back to the hotel cost us $20 including tip. So far so good, right?
Hotel lobby was quiet. Looked like there might have been a small bar set up, but no one was there. Went up to our room and decided to get some snacks and soda from the machines we noticed on every floor. My daughter and I headed out. First stop (fifth floor) neither snack nor soda working. Fourth floor snack yes, soda no. Third floor soda no. Now we're laughing. Skip second floor go to ground floor. Soda no. Go back up to second floor, soda yes!
Get back to our room and my wife asks why we left hotel to get snacks and soda. Explain the system.
The room was a little warm so we turn on ac unit. Sounds like a dump truck idling out side the window. Seems to be cooling, but LOUD. Watch tv until midnight then turn in. Impossible to sleep with AC on. Shut off and open window (yes, the windows open!) with large hole in screen. Not really cool enough. I'm still awake at 3:30am.
Breakfast was plentiful. Belgian waffles smelled delicious. Hard boiled eggs. Store bought pastry. Other items I can't recall. Coffee maker was broken, which is all I wanted.
Check out was quick, but no inquiry about our stay.
If not for the AC unit I would have given La Quinta four stars for location, staff and price.

Room Tip: Check the AC unit first thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

No real complaints, just an average hotel. Except for breakfast, which was totally lame and not good at all. On my second trip here, only ate the hard-boiled eggs, and went down the street for bagels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank civilengr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

My son and I traveled to Long Island to hear our niece sing at Adelphi University and the La Quinta Inn was not far from the University. All the staff I talked to was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean with flat screen TV and comfy beds. We enjoyed the free breakfast which had a good selection of fruits, yogurts, sweet rolls, bagel, waffles, juices and hot coffee. Free internet and good parking. I would definitely stay there again when I go back to Long Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Somewhat clean and simple, no amenities in the bathroom other than soap and shampoo.
Staff not that friendly or accommodating .
No cheese for breakfast which is weird. Overall expected more for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is in such a great location to everything. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and the price was perfect! I would definitely return to a La Quinta hotel based on the stay I had at this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Shei301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#1 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
1.1 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
Address: 821 Stewart Ave, Garden City, NY 11530-4810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City Hotel Garden City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Garden City
La Quinta Garden City
Garden City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing