We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst and Most expensive La Quinta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worst and Most expensive La Quinta”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Usually I like La Quinta hotels, but I was very disappointed with my visit to this one. I booked a non-smoking room and they gave me a smoking room. When I went to the front desk to ask for another room, there were 4 other people complaining about the same thing and the staff was rude to all of us and not very helpful (it took a lot of arguing for them to give us non-smoking rooms). The TV in the room only had 4 working channels (it said the others were unavailable). The room was clean and it was spacious, but the bed was not very comfortable. The bathroom was clean as well, but the pressure in the shower was not good enough and the water did not drain properly (by the end of my shower I was standing in water up to my ankles).

I was not expecting a fancy stay with great amenities (after all it is a La Quinta), but I have stayed in hotels at this price range that are much better (e.g., more comfortable rooms, better bathrooms, nicer facilities and more friendly/helpful staff). Overall, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumserdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    90
    52
    20
    19
See reviews for
113
30
32
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed at another hotel and I guess this location may be having financial issues but the manager from the previous hotel I was staying at put in a bad guest comment about me. When I began looking for the laundry facilities it was about 12:30 I went back to the front desk where the manager refused to extend my stay. While he's allowed to do this he wouldn't give me an reason and proceeded to shout and yell than run down a list of bad guests he has. I called customer service about the manager and obviously that's a waste of time. This was my first time ever being in a la quinta hotel and it will for sure be the last time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked this hotel for its proximity to Hofstra University, as well as the city of New York. Breakfast is appalling where there is not choice but use styrofoam all the way, it really felt like a student's hostel and even those I have seen better in my time. No healthy choices either. No mini fridge in the room or even a proper glass in the bathroom. Complimentary coach service is only "when available" and has to be booked in advance, so we were stuck using horrible taxi services, broken down taxis that one has to share. I will not be returning here ever. stay at the Hilton suites instead, closer to the university but much better value for your money.
My compliments to all the staff however, they were extremely courteous and helped out as much as they could.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lous N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Boylston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Checked in after 9pm with no other customers around, and the check in process took much longer than it should have. Walked into the room, and it was clean, but very dated. It is also obviously a handicapped room, since the hanger rack is halfway down the wall, and there is no tub or shower enclosure and a shower seat in the bathroom. The walls are also paper thin. I can hear EVERY word my neighbor says.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmc1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've stayed at the LaQuinta before and were extremely satisfied being that I am a germaphobe and very hard to please at hotels..... This stay was very last minute, on Memorial Day weekend and, it was the first time we traveled with our new puppy. Although I thought the rate was a little high, I had to realize it was Memorial Day weekend and compared to other hotels, it was the cheapest for that weekend. The room and bathroom was extremely clean and the bed was comfortable. Our new puppy was also comfortable as well. We are planning to do some traveling this summer and will alway choose the Laquinta because of the cleanliness and they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Otis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced, near JFK airport and LaGuardia as well as Manhattan. The Long Island Railroad is nearby for a train to New York City. The staff is friendly and helpful and will recommend restaurants and places to visit and shop. An excellent Deli is next door. We have stayed there for family and friends events since moving from the area two years ago.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, central to shopping, the south shore beaches and the quaint north shore towns. Very clean room. Could not have asked for more. Stay on the upper floors if you can to avoid the smoking rooms on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank samdieselphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#1 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
1.1 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
Address: 821 Stewart Ave, Garden City, NY 11530-4810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City Hotel Garden City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Garden City
La Quinta Garden City
Garden City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing