We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid place to stay in Garden City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid place to stay in Garden City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The La Quinta Inn Garden City is a solid place to stay. The rooms show a little wear and tear, such as dark area in the mirrors where the silvering is gone, for example. But the rooms are clean, the bedding is clean, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

I had two issues. One, the tub wasn't draining well. They fixed that promptly, promptly meaning the next day. Then the through wall heater wasn't heating. Yes I realize it was summer but nights can be cool. This they never fixed. Since it wasn't winter I am not complaining too much.

They brought a mini fridge right away when I asked. It didn't get all that cold but it did the trick. When I asked for a microwave later they came right away. Also if I asked the staff for extra coffee pods or whatever they promptly and cheerfully gave me what I wanted.

The location is just a five minute drive from a Target, Walmart, and other stores. Very convenient actually. I also used the treadmill and the workout room is quite adequate. I did not eat breakfast there but it looked ok.

The wireless internet was quite good. I was able to transfer an episode of 24 from my home computer to the hotel pretty quickly, AND I was able to stream an episode of True Blood. I once stayed at a WAY expensive Sheraton and they wanted $20 a day for internet. Sheraton should should be ashamed compared to this La Quinta.

I also appreciated the fact that there was no porn on the TV, just family friendly channels. Would be nice if they had Discovery or History channel though.

I paid about $155/night. This is about par for the area. If you need to stay in this area, I would not hesitate to recommend this La Quinta.

Room Tip: Choose a room as high up as you can. This is good advice in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avisonenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    89
    51
    19
    18
See reviews for
112
29
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Upon checking in I was told that there were no rooms ready (it was 4PM) and that they were waiting for towels and sheets to come back washed and dried from another hotel. Finally they found me a room on the first floor. I didn't mind and finished checking in. The hotel happened to be very noisy that evening and the room was not quiet at all. I was up and checked out at 6:30 the next morning. The young man at the front counter said the computer was down and couldn't print my receipt. He took my email address and of course I have not received a receipt. I definitely will be looking elsewhere when I need to stay in the area next time.

Room Tip: Far away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob22281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, NY, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I thought the stay was good but should have included more for the price. They should have had a map of the area and venues in the immediate area. They ran out of items in the breakfast which was somewhat limited as well. The hotel was clean and well kept, but could have offered more for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Usually I like La Quinta hotels, but I was very disappointed with my visit to this one. I booked a non-smoking room and they gave me a smoking room. When I went to the front desk to ask for another room, there were 4 other people complaining about the same thing and the staff was rude to all of us and not very helpful (it took a lot of arguing for them to give us non-smoking rooms). The TV in the room only had 4 working channels (it said the others were unavailable). The room was clean and it was spacious, but the bed was not very comfortable. The bathroom was clean as well, but the pressure in the shower was not good enough and the water did not drain properly (by the end of my shower I was standing in water up to my ankles).

I was not expecting a fancy stay with great amenities (after all it is a La Quinta), but I have stayed in hotels at this price range that are much better (e.g., more comfortable rooms, better bathrooms, nicer facilities and more friendly/helpful staff). Overall, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumserdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed at another hotel and I guess this location may be having financial issues but the manager from the previous hotel I was staying at put in a bad guest comment about me. When I began looking for the laundry facilities it was about 12:30 I went back to the front desk where the manager refused to extend my stay. While he's allowed to do this he wouldn't give me an reason and proceeded to shout and yell than run down a list of bad guests he has. I called customer service about the manager and obviously that's a waste of time. This was my first time ever being in a la quinta hotel and it will for sure be the last time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked this hotel for its proximity to Hofstra University, as well as the city of New York. Breakfast is appalling where there is not choice but use styrofoam all the way, it really felt like a student's hostel and even those I have seen better in my time. No healthy choices either. No mini fridge in the room or even a proper glass in the bathroom. Complimentary coach service is only "when available" and has to be booked in advance, so we were stuck using horrible taxi services, broken down taxis that one has to share. I will not be returning here ever. stay at the Hilton suites instead, closer to the university but much better value for your money.
My compliments to all the staff however, they were extremely courteous and helped out as much as they could.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lous N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Boylston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Checked in after 9pm with no other customers around, and the check in process took much longer than it should have. Walked into the room, and it was clean, but very dated. It is also obviously a handicapped room, since the hanger rack is halfway down the wall, and there is no tub or shower enclosure and a shower seat in the bathroom. The walls are also paper thin. I can hear EVERY word my neighbor says.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmc1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#1 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
1.1 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City
Address: 821 Stewart Ave, Garden City, NY 11530-4810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City Hotel Garden City
La Quinta Inn And Suites Garden City
La Quinta Garden City
Garden City La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garden City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing