We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get what you paid for :(”
Review of Garden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You don't get what you paid for :(”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

You pay for the hotel more than what u get.
No business center, and no swimming pool because it is under renovation, so at least they could provide us free wifi instead.
The first night there was a wedding, so we couldn't sleep because of the loud music and u can hear ur room door vibrate because of the wedding music :(

We supposed to stay for 4 nights but we checked out after 2 nights

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hnoda77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review. I do hope that you experienced all else our hotel has to offer, especially Saturday Afternoon Tea or Sunday Brunch or the Patio Bar during these summer evenings. We are in the final phase of our $30 million revitalization, the first phase was completed which was the beautiful new guest rooms and suites! Our final phase does include a brand new indoor pool, fitness center and world class spa, I hope you will return to experience them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    124
    48
    18
    26
See reviews for
131
111
17
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Garden City Hotel came to the rescue when the hotel that was supposed to house my wedding block had a minor catastrophe. With 6 weeks notice, they allowed all 30-something of my rooms to book at the wedding rate and were incredibly kind and accommodating with two very stressed-out families. Our guests were thrilled to be staying at this popular hotel, which they considered an upgrade over our previous choice. We received many compliments on how beautiful and clean it was, how accommodating the staff was, and how great both the Friday night dinner and Sunday brunch were. Even though this hotel is on the expensive side, the staff and hotel are professional, easy to work with, and gorgeous. We can't wait to see what it's like when the pool, spa, and fitness center are open.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WantToRelaxPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your wedding block and congratulations! I am glad to read that you and your guests could celebrate stress free, I will be sure to extend your accolades to our sales team and staff. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay, to experience our brand new spa and indoor pool this winter.
I am thrilled that your special day was book-ended with a fabulous Friday night dinner and Sunday Brunch! Congratulations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is much improved since it's recent renovation. Great decor and comfortable beds. Gym still being built though. One downside is the dreadfully expensive hotel shop. All in all a nice hotel though.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehayes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you Dave for your recent stay and review! I am glad to read that the brand new accommodations and revitalization is to your liking! We are in the final phase, building out a world class spa, indoor pool and new fitness center. Thank you for your feedback on the hotel emporium, we will bring your notes to the attention of the shop owner. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Garden City Hotel with our adult kids and grandchildren to attend a wedding. The two rooms we had were both recently renovated and were spacious and comfortable. The grounds and location of this hotel are perfect, right near the train station (which our children and grandchildren took from NYC), and also close to the St. Paul's playground where our grandchildren had a great time playing on the play structures. There are also a number of nearby restaurants on 7th Street where one can sit out and have dinner though, as a Californian, I was shocked at the number of cigarette smokers (whose smoke we were constantly subjected to as the outside tables are for the smokers). Our only disappointment with the Hotel was that the pool was closed, resulting in our moving to another hotel for our second night so that our grandchildren could play in a pool.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our 7th floor room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you Ricardo for your recent stay and review! As I am sure you understood during your stay, the pool and atrium level is currently in the final phase of construction, as we are building a brand new spa, indoor pool and fitness area to be completed shortly. I am glad to read that our location, proximity to NYC and our beautiful village and our revitalization were all to your liking. We look forward to seeing you on a future stay, as you must return to enjoy the new pool and spa when they are complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed two nights,8/4 and 8/5/14,and very happy to hear we were the first guests to stay in our designated room on the 7 the floor. The king size bed was very comfy,and the bathroom was very nice. It had a walk in tile shower,brand new! The staff was very friendly,and helpful as well. Lack of beverages was a disappointment. What I mean is,the only way to get a soda,was to order room service! Another positive was that the train station was directly across the street from the hotel. Very convenient for taking a 45 minute trip into NYC!! We would visit this hotel again! Air conditioning is only able to be set at 68, it should have been able to be set lower,in our opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room,7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobstone59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your recent stay and review! I am pleased to share that all of our 272 guest rooms have been renovated after a $30 million revitalization this year! I am glad to read that the new rooms impressed you and will extend your accolades to our staff. As far as beverages, we do not have minibars in the room, but do have a mini fridge to accommodate a guests personal items that require refrigeration. Additionally, the Polo Lounge, Patio Bar and the Emporium in the lobby all offer refreshments. We did also add a Keurig machine to every room with a choice of tea or coffe K-cups.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herford, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stylisch and well presented rooms, harmonisch and tasteful bathrooms, powerful shower...oh .. and a bed. to die for!
A fantastic breakfast with Chosen High quality products and to top it all ...Service with a smile. Nottingham was too much to ask from These guys. I cannot remember the Last time I was made to feel soooooo special. A phenominal experience!!, I GENUINELY HOPE THAT I GET TO COME BACK.

Room Tip: Just Trust the Duty Manager...your in excellent hands
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you David for your recent stay and glowing review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all our hotel has to offer, especially the enhancements from our 2014 renovation of the entire hotel. Including the brand new Luxe Dreams bed. I will extend your accolades to our staff and we look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Husband and I wanted to get out of the city and stumbled upon this hotel in Garden City. We were quite surprised how luxurious the rooms felt with their recent renovation. Nice design with attention to detail (like carrera marble-like tile in the bathrooms, crown moulding), spacious rooms and friendly staff. Reasonable pricing too. We only wished we could have spent another night to enjoy their outdoor patio and lounge.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamessinaH, Guest Relations Manager at Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Mare, thank you for stumbling upon our hotel and for your recent review! I am glad to read you enjoyed your respite from the city as well as our brand new guest rooms! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you on a future stay to experience all our property has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
543 reviews
5.6 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
637 reviews
2.8 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
602 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Carle Place Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden City Hotel

Property: Garden City Hotel
Address: 45 7th St, Garden City, NY 11530-2890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Rated Garden City Hotel boasts 269 brand new guest rooms and suites, redesigned as a luxurious retreat for overnight guests by Italian designer Marcello Pozzi.The Garden City Hotel has welcomed guests with gracious hospitality, spacious guest rooms and luxurious suites. Our historic Long Island hotel has been a preferred destination for dignitaries and celebrities as well as business travelers, New York locals and visitors from around the globe. The recently opened Red Door Spa located in the hotel's lower lobby offers signature spa treatments, specialty spa services, full-service hair salon and extensive retail boutique. Boasting 30,000 square feet of recently restored and enhanced banquet space, The Garden City Hotel offers the ambiance to impress and the ability to deliver the gold standard of business meetings and corporate events. Our legendary Grand Ballroom is the ideal setting for a conference, gala event or a dream wedding. The acclaimed Polo Steakhouse, a classic American steakhouse with a twist of modern luxury, serves 28-dry aged Prime USDA grade steaks, chops and signature entrees, while the Polo Lounge offers an upscale bar menu, scratch-made cocktails and an extensive wine list. The Wine Room offers a private dining space for events, meetings and celebrations. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate all The Garden City Hotel has to offer, including indoor pool, fitness center, seasonal outdoor dining and close proximity to New York City and major airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden City Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing