We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!”

Mountain Brauhaus Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had great experience at this lovely German restaurant. We drove for 2 hours from NJ and it was well worth it! The squash appetizer was very tasty, perfectly paired with pine nuts and cranberry. We loved pretzels, home made apple cider with dark rum, beer. Atmosphere was great, everybody seemed to enjoy themselves and our waitress was very nice and helpful. Entree was absolutely delicious and, tender and not too greasy. We also had squash soup and Plum kuchen which was great too! We took some gulash to go, and it was perfectly cooked. 10 star food and service! Danke schon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_and_Maya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    75
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come hungry”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The roasted acorn squash and the lamb shank were fantastic. We ordered that plus one dessert for two people and left FULL. We were surprised to find a wait at 6pm on a Friday because we thought that was early so you may want to expect a wait. Food was fantastic...and most definitely worth the wait. Consider splitting an entree between two people especially if you are from out of town and can't take leftovers home. Food was fantastic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fernpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill
Level Contributor
145 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“My third visit”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This place is in a relatively remote location but has been there for years and is very busy. I have eaten in the main dining room twice and this time we were seated in the bar area which is a much quieter room. The main dining room is wide open and it is hard to hold a conversation over the din of many people trying to have conversations. Our server was both new and young but did have a good knowledge of the menu. The service is relaxed but that may have more to do with the ability of the kitchen to put out quality meals for such a large number of hungry patrons. I had the sauerbraten which, as a signature German dish would have thought to be fabulous) and found it to be rather dry, not like my families recipe. The others in my party were quite happy with their meals. Over all it is a place to which I would return and bring guest but this was not the best experience I have had here. The scenery in the area is beautiful but only be seen from the parking lot. They are closed on Monday and Tuesday but open at 11:30 the rest of the week. On weekends be prepared to wait an hour or more for a table at dinner hours which start shortly after opening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exellent Choice”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great German food at a reasonable price. You will need reservations on week-ends and they have to be for 6 or more. We usually have to wait about 1 and 1/2 hours if our group is small. Yet it's worth it. Have been there over the years and their menu is consistently good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dkommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Burger”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Try the cheeseburger here. It was the best. Also the German style food was excellent. My husband had the veal jaeger. The portions are very generous. Bring your appetite. Dinner service was slow. We waited a long time before we received our drinks. Although it was quite busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raree18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Brauhaus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Brauhaus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing