We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Gold Fox Restaurant - CLOSED

Gold Fox Restaurant
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Cuisines: American
Description: The Gold Fox Restaurant offers an array of delicious American Cuisine prepared daily by our Chef with options for everyone. The dinning area is a historic, quiet home-style setting. Completely separate from the dinning room is our popular pub, offering our full menu, live entertainment and 7 tv's showing the latest sports events. We also cater parties up to 130 people in our spacious banquet room with private bar and dance floor.
Restaurant details
Description: The Gold Fox Restaurant offers an array of delicious American Cuisine prepared daily by our Chef with options for everyone. The dinning area is a historic, quiet home-style setting. Completely separate from the dinning room is our popular pub, offering our full menu, live entertainment and 7 tv's showing the latest sports events. We also cater parties up to 130 people in our spacious banquet room with private bar and dance floor.
Lewes, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have been to this restaurant three times in the last three years. Once with about 20 people for mother's day. We were given our own private room and the food and waitress were excellent. We have been back twice to celebrate my Sister and Brother-in-law's birthdays and were given a small alcove which was very quiet and we had a lovely time. It is true that the building is old and inside there are several rooms, but that just adds to the atmosphere. We have always had great service and meals. We have only gone for evening meals. I am not sure why the negative reviews. I say try it and judge for yourselves.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Quite a Surprise”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This restaurant is quite deceiving. The first impression is that it looks nice from the outside. Then you go inside and it's a bit of a let down. A bit old and in need of updating. We had a drink at the bar in the back of the building (great prices on the drinks by the way!!). Servers and bartender were extremely nice, though they were a little confused by drink orders (7&7...you don't have Seagrams 7?? Iced tea vodka & lemonade...you don't have lemonade??) We left the bar area to head to our table. Have to say we were expecting our dinner order to be as confusing to the restaurant as our drink orders were. The food and the service were exceptional!! Very varied and extensive menu and everything we ordered was delicious. The pierogies in carbonara sauce were to die for. The pizza was HUGE and had a thin, delicious, crispy crust. Coconut shimp? Wonderful! Walnut crusted chicken accompanied with cheddar cheese/potato croquettes...delicious. Don't be wary of your first impression. Great food found here as well as great service and decent prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emptynesters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sorry to say...”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The lunches here are tolerable, but the dinners lack consistency.
Sometimes you hit it lucky, other times you don't.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank UpbeatinGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quite a wide selection of dishes for lunch. I had a roast beef sandwich, which really hit the spot. The place itself...”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Quite a wide selection of dishes for lunch. I had a roast beef sandwich, which really hit the spot.
The place itself reminded my of a danish "kro".

Helpful?
Thank R_Danielsson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, Ny
1 review
“WOW! EXCELLENT FOOD! GREAT MENU WITH LOT OF VARIETY”
Reviewed 13 November 2009

The Gold Fox has a very open menu, offering an array of American dishes with culinary taste and presentation. The portions are big and the prices are very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatout23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gold Fox Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing