We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and peaceful retreat!”
Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minnewaska Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and peaceful retreat!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Lovely place in an ideal location --near New Paltz and near great hiking. Room was very clean and well furnished with a comfortable bed and a beautiful view. Breakfast was excellent -- lots of choices.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina1234755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    75
    33
    14
    14
See reviews for
68
143
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I spent three nights at the lodge and had a great stay. My girlfriend and I went hiking in the Minnewaska State Park and the Mohonk Preserve which are only minutes from the lodge. The breakfast was exactly what we needed to get us going for the hikes. They were very acommidating and the place was very clean. We would go back to the lodge if we are ever down in that area again.

Room Tip: The rooms of the cliffs are nice and have their own balcony. We were not in the room much so it did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosotn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our first visit to the area. I came across the lodge looking for something and always wanted to stay here. It was well worth the wait. Came with our daughter, grandson and son in law. They had a good time hiking while my wife and I sat by Lake Minnewaska with the grandkid. The room was comfy with a view of the Gunks. Get a room with a balcony. The great room and deck were wonderful. Plenty of room for the grand son to run around. Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Look forward to our next vist. A pool would have been nice.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This was our second stay & we stayed 2 nights/ midweek. Very nice, clean room & pleasant Great Room/ breakfast lounge. Very accomodating staff. Quick trip to Mohonk Mountain Preserve. Great views of The Gunks & rear area for our children (ages 8 & 5) to explore. And yes, the granola & jar of cookies are notable! We will definitely be back for our next annual trip to the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montague, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were only at the lodge from 9:00pm to 9:00am, but it was as restful a twelve hours as one could hope for. The lodge is warm, clean, inviting and serene. There are freshly baked cookies and fruits in the lobby, Hudson bay blankets on the beds, stunning views of the nearby cliffs and copious amounts of homemade granola, coffee cakes and coffee at breakfast.

We will be back for a longer stay in the near future.

Room Tip: I don't think you can select a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This past weekend was our second visit to Minnewaska Lodge and it was every bit as good as our first visit! The charming ambience (with stunning views of the Gunks cliffs), delicious breakfasts (including quiche, crumb cake, fruit bowl, homemade granola, and many, many other choices), very friendly and helpful staff, superb cleanliness, "Kiss My Face" toiletries, comfortable beds, and convenient location unquestionably made this a PERFECT spot for us!!! Our daughter was getting married locally and, with our many preparations, etc, it was a pleasure to come back to the Lodge at the end of each day to relax in such perfect, peaceful surroundings! The cookie jar filled with fresh baked chocolate chip cookies every evening, centrally located in the lobby as you enter, definitely was the frosting on the cake!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed for one Saturday night at the Minnewaska Lodge and experienced a wonderful quick getaway.The lodge was clean with an extemely helpful and pleasant staff. We had a delicious German meal across the street at the Mountain Brauhaus restaurant. We also had two great lunches several miles away at the Cafe Mio. Both eateries highly recommended. The Lodge grounds were well manicured and surrounded by a beautiful area. Only complaint we had was the breakfast on Sunday morning could have been better but it would certainly not stop us from going back.

Room Tip: Had a balcony but you really do not need one since the lodge deck was spacious to relax on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emantk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
108 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
10.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
4.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
13.1 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Property: Minnewaska Lodge
Address: 3116 Route 44 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525-5031
Region: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing