We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden hide-a-way”
Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minnewaska Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Upon arriving at the quaint Minnewaska Lodge, you immediately feel you are entering a boutique sized, family owned property which takes great pride in appearance, service and friendliness.

We checked into the lodge on January 1st for two evenings and I had pre-booked the "suite" for our stay since there were three adults and one child. The room was perfect size for our family and offered a King bedded bedroom to the right side of the entry hall, and off to the left is a living room with a full dining room table, full size couch, side chair and dorm room sized fridge. I would have liked a microwave but perhaps there's a reason they do not offer that in the suite.

The lodge offers a very nice complimentary breakfast which includes various freshly baked breakfast breads, choice of cereals, yogurt and fresh granola mix. After the breakfast the lodge has a hot tea/coffee/hot chocolate station in the great room and it comes in convenient while you are there in the winter.

Behind the lodge is a beautiful view of the Shawangunk Mountains and also offers a great novice snow sled riding hill, which our son thoroughly enjoyed.

The lodge is about 6 miles from the city of New Paltz, NY which offers a plethora of restaurants, as the lodge does not have an on-site full service restaurant, which did not create any issue for my familly.

I want to thank the staff for making our stay so memorable, especially Sarah who assisted us upon check-in and in suggesting various things to do in the area. I would strongly recommend the Minnewaska Lodge to anyone who wants to experience the mini getaway from the mundane and see the beauty that this section of New York has to offer.

If there was a negative about the lodge it is, they have a beautiful great room but do not have a full sized fireplace, for some reason. They do have a "stove" but they missed the boat by not including a full sized fireplace.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

Everything said before is accurate. It's a great lodge and a perfect location. Just be aware of the extra 10% per night charged for "Guest Room Service Charge". If you think you're paying $179/per night for your room, you'll actually be charged an additionally $17.90/per night over and above NY State and Ulster Cty taxes. I'm not sure why they're charging that since I was always under the impression that your room being serviced was part of the rate and, if you felt a tip was in order, you would choose to leave whatever you wanted. Just a 'heads-up" if you stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We returned to Minneswaska Lodge after enjoying ourselves during a previous stay. There was no availability according to their website, but we telephoned and were able to get a room.

The lodge is located very close to the State Park, about 10 minutes from the Town of New Paltz, and directly across the road from a great German Restaurant. We dined at the Mountain Brauhaus again during this stay, and, again, it was awesome.

The rooms at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable. Nothing fancy, but a really nice place to shower and relax after a day of hiking. The guys at the front desk were very friendly, and helpful. No real complaints about anything. Oh yeah, I really enjoyed the quiche at breakfast.

This place is a little pricey, but its worth paying a little extra for a clean and comfortable lodge in a great location. We'll be back.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MilesMereV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Good lodge, great service, cliff room with balcony was nice. Great advice for activities in the area. Breakfast is good fuel, but nothing more. Not enough seating for all guests. Also, our bed was very soft - not great if you have a bad back. Still come here though.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DW197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just got back from Minnewaska Lodge and I can now comfirm that the other reviews are correct. Breakfast was great and having coffee, tea, and cookies available at all times was a definite plus. We roasted marshmallows over the firepit in the evening and made smores. Staff was great. Other things to note about the location....Mountain store and bistro next door. Across the street from the Mountain Brauhaus with great pumpernickel bread. Half a mile from the Mohonk Preserve visitor center and Trailheads. Overall, an excellent choice.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This lodge is not related to the orginal Minnewaska Lodge that burned down up in the State park. It has the same name but no other connection. We really liked the property. Comfortable beds. Windows that open for fresh air, really nice mission style furniture. The best feature was the outside gas fire pits. Nice to sit around the fire after dinner. We ate at the Mountain Brauhaus which is right across the street from the Lodge. Fantastic German food and beer. They don't take reservations so be patient its worth the wait. Friendly staff and decent continental breakfast. Great choice for folks that are going hiking or bikiing in that area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the mountain side have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Minnewaska lodge is in a picturesque setting, quiet and beautiful. It is nearby to various attractions (and there is a lot to do and see in this general area). The room was comfortable and very clean with a spectacular mountain view in the rear of the lodge. We saw deer roaming in the back yard a couple of times. The breakfasts offered a wide variety of healthy options and delicious homemade breads, and we ate dinner at three fabulous restaurants just minutes away. We found our stay there to be highly enjoyable. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chas575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
10.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
447 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
17.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
4.4 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Address: 3116 Route 44 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525-5031
Region: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range: £138 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing