We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best winery in the area”

Whitecliff Vineyard & Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$185.09*
and up
Hudson Valley Winery and Distillery Bike Tour
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best winery in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Really not a fan of NY wine, however this place is a gem. The location is spectacular, the people lovely, and wine is all really delicious. I was pleasantly surprised, and would recommend this place to any wine lover, or just meandering tourists. GO!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rusty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“terrific wines and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was the first of three Shawangunk Trail wineries I visited with my bf on a winter weekend. Overall our experience was excellent. The tasting room is small, as is the deck, which has a gorgeous view. The young man who conducted our tasting could not have been more knowledgeable or enthusiastic. The wines were of very high quality, and there were unlimited crackers, water to rinse your glass, and water for sipping. (No, this setup is not a given, though it should be.) We purchased several bottles and look forward to returning the next time we visit the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great wine, beautiful view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stop by Whitecliff's tasting room pretty much any time we are in the Hudson Valley. The wine selection is great and excellent quality (try the Awosting White or the Gamay Noir), the staff are super friendly and informative, and the view from the deck--up towards the Shawangunk Ridge--is superb. A great spot to stop for an afternoon drink after hiking!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Setting, Informative Tastings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Not the most easy place to find, but we spent 1-2 hours at Whitecliff Vineyard on a casual Monday afternoon and enjoyed every minute of it. Outside are picture-perfect places to snap cellphone-camera shots, with the mountainous backdrop. Inside, it was a treat that while you're doing an inexpensive tasting (for about $8, cheaper if you buy a bottle), you can browse around the shop and be entertained by the many offerings (art, trinkets, jewelry, books, etc.). The first red we tasted was the bottle we wound up buying -- we're going to save it for a special occasion. Staff was overly friendly, informative, and taught us a few good-things-to-know about wine. Thanks for a pleasant experience!

We're talking about coming back during the holidays for one of the area wine trail's excursions, which Whitecliff is part of, so you can hit this and other wineries nearby with a group that includes food as well as vino.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good selection of wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I toured around the vineyards and it seemed there was a shortage of red wines, so I was pleasantly surprised to find so many. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. And more importantly, they are open daily in case you are trying to wine taste during the week.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank als1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitecliff Vineyard & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Whitecliff Vineyard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing