We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tent Camping-midweek Summer Review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Tent Camping-midweek Summer Review”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The tent camping area was relatively empty. Sites are right next to each other, with no seclusion. Since it was midweek, we had 3 empty sites on each side. We were right on the river which is nice, and they river is named appropriately, definitely lazy. We had the electric hook up and running water ($132 2 nights), worth it.
There are 2 pools, which were crowded when we arrived Sunday, however the one is the back was empty at 11am in the morning Monday. Bathrooms were close, there is only one shower area, maybe 8 showers, which is centrally located. Bathrooms were clean, however of the 2 women's stalls one was broken and the other was clogged up. But for the most part, we were able to find a clean bathroom if we needed one.
There's a game room and a store, which has everything you would need for camping and more. Wood is $7 a bag and Ice maybe $3. The place is kid friendly, although we were a couple, we did enjoy ourselves. Some people had kayak and bikes, and every other person had a golf cart. The majority of the sites, which are on the other side, are rv/trailer friendly. It seems like people set up shop from the summer.
I wouldn't tent camp here on the weekend as a couple, maybe if I had kids.
If you see the attached photo, you can see the different sites marked off (remember tent camping). They are close and there is no barrier. Good times..
If you found this review helpful, please click on the I found this helpful button, thank you!

Room Tip: The sites that were not on the river, were a lot less occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NYGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    117
    55
    26
    26
See reviews for
370
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is our second time visiting this campground. We originally came last year on recommendation from a friend. We were not overly thrilled then and this year was not much different. The sites are a nice size however there are many concerns. My main concern is the student staff that is hired. The enthusiasm is lacking. They look bored and uninterested in trying to engage the children in activities. Some were on the verge of rude. Not all of them, but there shouldn't even be any that fit this description. This a family campground with many children and all the staff should be engaging, helpful and happy. One instance was I asked when the pool opens for the season. The young man had no idea. Nor was he willing to find out. He just answered "no idea". Another instance was during a competition activity the girl running that could not be bothered. She didn't get off her gold cart and was very rude to the children. The children were anxiously waiting for activities and she just dragged on and made them wait and did 3 activities and said all done. The children wanted more, made suggestions and she had an excuse for each one. She was more concerned with her friends that were hanging out than entertaining the kids. Everything shuts down early. The store at 6, the pool at 8, the tiki bar(if your lucky to have it open) shuts down early as well. Pet guidelines are not followed. There are more dogs off leash than on. I watched a dog un leashed go after another who was leashed at a site. I saw another unleashed dog charge a child. Only to hear the owner say to the child to get up slowly so as not to have the dog attack. I truly could continue on but I think I summed up that there are other campgrounds, yogi or otherwise, to spend your time and money at. Unless the above does not bother you, skip lazy river.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauramE3694BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Gardiner, responded to this review, 3 April 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write down your thoughts in your review of our camp-resort, lauramE3694BS. We would like to let you know that Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Lazy River in Gardiner, NY is under new ownership for the 2015 camping season.

Your feedback is very important to us, and we will internally discuss your concerns regarding the campground, including hours, dog policies and staff enthusiasm. New staff training programs are being implemented and new activities schedules are made for the season to ensure all campers have plenty of options for fun at our campground. We apologize that you had a disappointing experience during 2014, but hope you may give us another try in the future.

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Lazy River is undergoing TONS of new upgrades that will roll out during 2015, including a brand new water park, jumping pillows, new cabins, gem mining, lazer tag and much more.

Find us on Facebook to stay up-to-date on the additions to our camp-resort. We appreciate your feedback and welcome any of your further questions. Feel free to email management@lazyriverny.com if you are looking for additional information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlboro
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a holiday weekend at this campground and they cancelled due to flooding on their property. They said we will let you use another weekend since they had all my money for the stay. I called several times to get another date. Nothing and no refund won't go back

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank markat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our stay during the middle of August was so relaxing . Beautiful scenery, beautiful campsites, and friendly campers. We enjoyed the pool and tiki style snack bar! The management/ owners Heidi and John are very accommodating. If you are looking for a wonderful family place, to enjoy nature and so much more, this is the place to go !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im2blame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have camped here a great number of times since 2004 and until now loved to be there. Our most recent trip (10/11/13-10/14/13) involved 7 families staying on various sites in one of area of the camp. Each day/night our group would gather to shoot the bull, have some dinner, and listen to music. Sometimes we sang around the campfire. On the first evening we were asked to turn down our music, which we did, and apologized for our noise. The second evening we had a massive turkey dinner, feeding all our families. During dinner we noticed that the staff of the park kept driving back and forth in their golf carts, watching us closely. In the afternoon of 10/13, the NYS Police came to our sites and started asking us questions regarding noise and rude behavior. We were shocked and embarrassed that the park owner never reached out or spoke with us, instead he contacted the troopers through a Lieutenant who was camping across from us. There were multiple children in our group and our behavior was beyond reproach. For the rest of the evening we were visited multiple times by the troopers and stalked by a mob of young men on golf carts. The golf cart mob stayed at the site right above us, and again drove back and forth. We complied with all the Trooper's requests and asked what appears to be the problem. They could not offer us any explanation other than they were asked to keep and eye on us by management. If you have a large family or plan on having any sort of gathering this is not the place for you. We will be calling LSI management regarding this event.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fjs217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I just came back from a 4 day weekend with our motorhome and grandkids. It was an interesting time! At first impression on a Thursday as we drove in we loved it, we loved our site, it was big and not on top of our neighbors. Beautiful grounds, 2 pools and snack bar, looks like lots of activity for my 5yr grandson and 12yr granddaughter to do! Then that night it rained, all night long and hard till the next morning. Then we realized we were surrounded by water all around with high raising water. As the campground isn't responsible for the weather but no one came to see if we were ok. So we managed to all get into our jeep to go to the office and inquire about our situation. We were told we were going to be ok and we were offered a different site, which both made us feel better and decided to stay as we were all hooked up and we would have to be in deep water to unplug from the electric outlet. 20 mins it stopped raining then the pool of deep waters receded! Then next day was beautiful weather but that's when we heard low flying planes were taking off near the campground and flying directly overhead every 20 mins with para gliders jumping out! One even landed in our campground by accident! The planes were very loud and started early morning until evening the whole
weekend! We were very disappointed as our relaxing weekend was ruined by this! This would have been a repeat place to go back if it wasn't for the small engine planes. I hope they can somehow change the path of these planes, it's a shame.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Radiantcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I recently returned to this campground after camping here more than 15 years ago with my parents. This time around, my parents have their own trailer and I now brought my husband and three year old son. Very nostalgic being back and the campground is as great as I remember. The owners are very visible and clearly work extremely hard to make this a great destination. A few things have changed since I camped there in that more full hook up sites have been added, a newer pool and a Tiki Bar, all of which were a hit. My son LOVES "the bears" so having them so visible during our four day trip was fabulous.

The campground is very clean, well kept and minimal seasonal sites. We have found over the last year that the number of seasonal sites really defines a campground, so we found this a plus. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCL0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
3.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
114 reviews
10.8 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
19.9 mi away
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Birchwood Acres
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at B...
#1 of 2 in Greenfield Park
91 reviews
6.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Gardiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Gardiner

Property: Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Gardiner
Address: 50 Bevier Rd., Gardiner, NY 12525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yogi Bear™ and his team are looking forward to welcoming you to Jellystone Park™ in Gardiner! Along with providing the great facilities that Jellystone Park™ is known for, Yogi Bear™ and the staff have put together a special season of planned activities and themed weekends that will truly make this a memorable year. Our park is set on 90 lush acres overlooking the meandering Wallkill River and boasting a majestic view of the Shawangunk Ridge, the ideal place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Just a short drive from hiking at Minnewaska State Park and local history in New Paltz, Jellystone Park™ is a perfect spot filled with family atmosphere and the memories that vacations are made of. Come stay with us and make family camping memories with Yogi Bear™ and friends that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park At Lazy River Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing