We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at The Garrison”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Garrison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garrison - Golf, Restaurant, Events & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garrison
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding at The Garrison”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My wife and I were married last Saturday at the Garrison.
We started looking for venues about 2 years ago and were instantly impressed by the friendliness of Todd who was to become our event coordinator. Right from the start he was able to listen to our ideas and help us realise our dream wedding. When we needed his input and thoughts on some of ideas he was knowledgeable and instrumental in helping us do what we needed.
Between the time of reserving the venue and having the wedding we visited a couple of times to sample the food which was incredible; delicious and varied every time.
By the time the big day rolled around everything was in place. The timings were worked out to military precision and everything ran incredibly smoothly. Todd's attention to detail and vast experience of weddings allowed us to relax and not stress out. Many people had warned that the day of the wedding could be stressful but because of Todd, we were able to not worry about a thing, he took care of it and it was a truly memorable occasion. I have heard nothing but compliments from our guests about the day and I truly believe this was down to him.
Thank you everyone for everything you did for us. We will never forget the best day of the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    4
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
27
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We attended a wedding here & stayed for one evening. The room was very modern and clean, and the fruit, yogurt and granola bars in the room were nice touches. We had a beautiful view of the property which was a pleasure to wake up to. We were surprised that there wasn't a formal breakfast option. Instead, behind the pro-shop is a snack bar where you could get an egg sandwich. It was nice to sit outside on the green, though, and eat a little breakfast.
If you don't have a car, getting here can be cumbersome. Even though it's only a 5-10 minute drive from the train station, it cost $18 for us to get to the inn (from the 265-Taxi #). When we were ready to leave to take the train back, they didn't have any taxis available so we had to call a different number which the inn recommended - and that cost $30 for the 5 minute drive! Pretty frustrating to spend so much on cabs. Perhaps they should have a shuttle service to/from the inn.
PS - The wedding was absolutely lovely!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yohagopelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have just had a most memorable weekend at the Garrison celebrating the wedding of our daughter and son-in-law. The location is charming--indeed, the views out over the Hudson are spectacular. The food was delicious and the attention to detail amazing. Annie, the event manager, worked tirelessly all day and evening to give us a most perfect day.

Room Tip: The front bedroom has a great view of the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bader71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Selecting The Garrison as our wedding venue was the number one best decision we made during our wedding planning process. My fiance and I were convinced that we wanted a city wedding but our minds were completely changed the moment we toured The Garrison. The space is beautiful, elegant, and understated. It is completely designed to showcase the natural beauty of the Hudson Valley. After officially booking with The Garrison, I had pretty high expectations, which I'm happy to say were all met above and beyond. We had the pleasure of working with Todd Smith and he was incredibly helpful, responsive, warm, and professional during our wedding planning process. The actual wedding day went off without a hitch, the entire staff was wonderful to us all day long. I got so many compliments on the gorgeous venue, amazing food, etc. As I said before, I had very high expectations (being a professional event planner myself) and I honestly wouldn't change one thing about The Garrison - it is perfection!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NY2IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We held our wedding here in June 2012. This location sells itself. It has amazing views, beautiful rooms, and great grounds. While the location is beautiful, what really blew us away was the amazing staff. Annie (the event manager) helped us through the entire process, was calm and attentive during the wedding, and genuinely cared about how we were doing. I never felt stressed because I knew that I could count on her. We had a Polish Sri Lankan wedding and the details were really complicated. Annie had a great attitude, was excited for us, and made sure everything went off without a hitch. In addition, the staff were wonderful - they all greeted our guests with smiles and took care of everyone. We're so thankful to The Garrison, Annie, and the staff and would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uvinie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Reading the other reviews written by couples who had their wedding at The Garrison, I am as challenged as they were to find the words that can fully convey the sheer perfection of it as a wedding venue. Although the panoramic beauty of the setting is truly breathtaking, what sold my daughter and her fiance (and me), was the absolute confidence we felt after our initial meeting with Todd Smith. It was immediately clear that overseeing events is not a job to him, but a personal pursuit to give every bride and groom the wedding of their dreams - not his. He listens, he is patient,he is diplomatic, he has fantastic advice, and he is so experienced and knowledgeable that you won't have a moment of doubt that it will be everything you want it to be. I have been searching for a word to sum up my daughter's wedding and I found the perfect one: magical. Thank you Todd, thank you to the Chefs for the delicious food and pastries, and thank you to all the staff who worked tirelessly and cheerfully throughout the evening. Everything was perfection.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 677MFC677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at The Garrison this past weekend and had a fantastic experience. The grounds feature beautiful gardens and a nearby golf course. The facility has a charming bar and fantastic restaurant on the premises. We had dinner at 8pm and were comfortable there until well past 11pm with none of the normal pressures to depart. The Inn has a handful of rooms which were very clean and crisply decorated - none of the normal frou frou lace horrors you often find. Also, the Inn was very quiet despite a wedding there that evening (which ended by 11ish as promised by the staff). We capped our weekend off with a great yoga class on the premises.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garrison
2.3 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
962 reviews
6.6 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
212 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
23.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison - Golf, Restaurant, Events & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison - Golf, Restaurant, Events & Inn

Property: The Garrison - Golf, Restaurant, Events & Inn
Address: 2015 Route 9, P.O. Box 348, Garrison, NY 10524-4031 (Formerly The Garrison - A Riverview Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Garrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Garrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrison is a 300-acre property located one hour north of Manhattan in the spectacular Hudson Highlands, where the Appalachian mountains cross the Hudson River. Amenities include an 18-hole Dick Wilson-designed golf course, critically-acclaimed restaurant "Valley", a four-room inn, party and meeting spaces for up to 230 people, yoga center, day spa and salon and fitness studio. The Garrison grows its own produce in season on-property for its restaurants, following organic practices. Valley Restaurant Hours: Dinner - Thursday-Saturday, 5:00pm-9:00pm. Brunch - Saturday and Sunday, 11:30am-2:30pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garrison -Inn, Golf, Restaurant And Events
The Garrison -Inn, Golf, Restaurant & Events Hotel Garrison
The Garrison Hotel Events

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing