We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This review is only about the tavern at Big Tree Inn”
Review of Big Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Tree Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Geneseo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We did not stay there, although we intend to. The property looks magnificent. Since we came after 9pm, we only had time for drinks. The tavern is very old with lots of character. Great bartender and ggreat selection of NY craft beer. Has a great veranda facing the main street to eat or dink. A classy place to get a drink in Geneseo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank g0lfnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

a very welcoming hotel in an ideal position in the centre of town.
Breakfast was disappointing, just fruit and cake.No cereal available. Carpet in our room was filthy although rest of room and bathroom was ok.

Room Tip: We stayed in Treaty 204 and it was quiet at night but could hear people walking around in room above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Was just there week 8/17. Had King room village view. Great Bed, plenty of room. Large bathroom. Jacuzzi tub in room. Really nice staff. Incredible parlor downstairs, that is usually unused. Cost for this incredible room in town was $20 more than the Quality Inn. Spend it!

Room Tip: King. I hear standard rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank googlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I were in Geneseo for our son's wedding, and we took all of the rooms at The Big Tree for the weekend. The Big Tree also was the venue for the reception. We spent 4 nights total and the rest of the clan came for two nights. We could not have been happier. We enjoyed all the common space, especially the front porch - where we had breakfast and lunch and could watch the comings and goings along the historic, tree-lined Main Street. We also enjoyed the sitting room off the main lobby, where you can read about all the local ghost stories while sipping morning coffee. All of our guests raved about their accommodations; each one was different. The Bethia suite is most stunning. All the rooms were quiet - you would never know that there was a party going on downstairs. The food for the wedding reception also was high-quality. I noted that the plates went back to the kitchen empty! The Big Tree also hosted our Sunday morning, post-wedding brunch -- a nicely presented self-service, full breakfast. The Big Tree staff could not have been more accommodating, especially Dan (management) as we expected 60 people, but 80 showed up. They were, in fact, accommodating throughout our stay. We hope to go back to the beautiful Genesse valley for wine tasting and antiquing (in nearby Mt. Morris) in the future. No doubt we will stay at The Big Tree.

Room Tip: The rooms are separated in an interesting way, so there aren't many rooms near each other. The C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jardinpared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in Bethia the night of our wedding (our reception was also at Big Tree and it was amazing) and Village View the night after. Both rooms are decorated with beautiful quality linens, furniture, and decor. Used the fireplace in Village View and it felt so cozy. Bed was definitely comfortable, we had a wonderful night's sleep. Fixtures in both were of good quality, everything felt very top-notch.

Our entire wedding party and parents stayed at the Big Tree the night of our wedding as well, they were all pleasantly surprised at their rooms and we all had a wonderful time all staying at the Inn together! Then coming down to breakfast in the morning to chat!

Plentiful continental breakfast in morning, staff is very attentive if you need anything.

Easy access to shops in quaint Geneseo. Just walk out the door and across the street to the coffee shop, or to the diner less than a block away. Great sub shop down the street (Aunt Cookie's) and nice gift shop on Main street too (Touch of Grayce).

Why stay at a chain hotel when you can stay at this beautiful, historic landmark?

Room Tip: Bethia is conveniently located on 2nd floor. Village view is a larger room, but is on 3rd floor. Eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked the village suite at the big tree since we were visiting my family in the area and wanted somewhere to relax for a couple nights. Overall it was great. We love rooms with hot tubs in them, so I've started looking for that when I book a bnb. The jaccuzi tub was one of the largest we've seen in a room. The room also had a gas fireplace in it and a separate, large, bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Geneseo is a college town, so we were able to grab a burger late at night, and find breakfast right on Main Street, without driving anywhere. If you do want to get to say, Rochester, it's a fairly easy trip. We would definitely come back again. A few caveats, things that didn't earn it five stars for us:
1. Seeing as it's an old (renovated) Victorian house, there are no elevators, and our room was on the third floor. I'm fairly athletic, but hefting luggage up and down was pretty cumbersome. Be aware if you book this room you will get a workout! :)
2. We had an issue with our shower while we were there. I believe they are fixing that though and it was just a flukey thing.
3. The hot tub does a (loud) maintenance type thing about an hour after you use it. The front desk attendant did notify us of this but it was still a little surprising since we got out about 12pm and it went off after I was sound asleep.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MEWooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stay here because its charming and right across the street from my daughter's apartment in the heart of the pretty little Village of Geneso. Our most recent stay was in the Lily of the Valley room. It's beautifully decorated, but pretty tight for two people. There is nowhere to stand your suitcase in the room and only a very small three drawer piece of furniture that doesn't really qualify as a dresser. Otherwise it's very comfortable. The room is clean. We've stayed before and the room we had at that time was much more spacious. This is an old inn, so tightness in some rooms is to be expected. There is no elevator so anyone who finds stairs a challenge should stay elsewhere. The local chain hotels outside of the village are more expensive and not as nice.

Room Tip: Get specifics on the rooms so you'll get something that works well for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akhdubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneseo hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneseo
Hampton Inn Geneseo
#1 of 2 in Geneseo
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Geneseo
Quality Inn Geneseo
#2 of 2 in Geneseo
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
OAK VALLEY INN & SUITES
Show Prices

Been to Big Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tree Inn

Address: 46 Main St, Geneseo, NY 14454-1216
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneseo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Geneseo
Price Range: £104 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Tree Inn is one of the most familiar landmarks on Main Street in Geneseo, NY - a historic community listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Come and experience its 175 years of hospitality and history. Featuring 8 guest rooms, 4 of which are luxury suites with fireplace and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Big Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Tree Hotel Geneseo
Big Tree Inn Geneseo, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing