We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful - one of our all time favorites!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Geneseo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful - one of our all time favorites!”
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We frequently stay in B&B's and this is one of the best we've ever stayed in. Our room was very large and super clean. Gail gave us great recommendations for restaurants and what to see in the area. The pool was wonderful and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. When we left, Gail gave us fresh muffins and suggestions for our next destination in the Finger Lakes. We hated to leave and hope to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highdune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay. Our room was spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The Innkeepers were so welcoming and they made us very much at home. The house was impeccably well kept and beautifully decorated. We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast is the perfect place to stay in Geneseo. The historic home is spacious and beautifully maintained. We had the rose room which had great windows, beautiful decor, and a spacious bathroom. The hospitality was very warm; Gail, the owner, was incredibly helpful and friendly; the breakfast was so elegant and sumptuous. They have wireless ;and have a DVD library plus cable. There are grounds and a pool. We would love to come back again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a well-cared for and comfortable stay,.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLadyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Just returned from an overnight stay. Had the pleasure of initially meeting Gail, John & Wila, last March. My daughter was an accepted student @ SUNY Geneseo and her & I went to see the school. We arrived on Easter Sunday, Gail greeted us with open arms. From that experience, I knew that if my daughter decided to attend school there, Temple Hill will be by #1 choice for my stay. After a quick 1st year, I was there with my mom and her dad to pack her up and bring her back home. We had 2 rooms- Genesee (my fave) & OakGrove. Beds are absolutely comfortable and rooms are so quaint! Met Mary for the 1st time, she greeted us with "open" arms and I felt like I knew her for so long. She offered a tour to my mom & Jill's dad (it was their 1st time). Since the day was so beautiful, I went to garden in back, saw pool, & sat in sun for a while. How relaxing. Air was so clean, fresh.....we then went off to the college, to pack and see our daughter. The following morning, we were served a "phenomenal" breakfast. Everything fresh & home cooked, even down to the maple syrup. Gail told me it was from her trees. It is always a real pleasure to talk to Gail. Her home is so beautiful. I am already looking forward to my return in August, when Jill returns to start off her 2nd year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Our nephew teaches at SUNY so we visit Geneseo approximately twice a year. Until our most recent visit, however, we had never stayed at the Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast and, boy oh boy, are we sorry!

From the moment we walked in the door of the Temple Hill, Mary greeted us as if we were regulars. She gave us a tour of the Inn and also told us about the refrigerator which is always stocked with free water and soda for guests. Our room was spacious and charming but the bathroom was very up to date.

The first morning's breakfast was French toast with REAL maple syrup, which had recently been collected and processed by the innkeepers themselves. YUM!

For the second morning, we had asked Gail, the owner, if we could invite our nephew, his wife and their 3-year-old daughter to breakfast. She graciously said yes and made them feel welcome even though she had many other guests who were staying at the Inn that night. Again, the food was amazing. Gail served warm, home-made pumpkin bread and muffins; two types of egg strata - one with cheese and the other with sausage; fresh fruit salad and, of course, lots of coffee. When the 3-year-old became bored, Gail took her for a tour of the house while the adults finished their breakfast. Talk about above and beyond the call of duty! Believe it or not, our guests weren't charged for their breakfast even though they were not guests of the Inn!

We had a really wonderful experience and I would never stay anywhere else in Geneseo again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The historic home has been nicely restored. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. Extra touches included historic books about the area and a guest fridge.

We stayed two nights and breakfast was excellent both mornings. One was in the large dining room and the other on the back veranda.

Grounds were large and included a garden and pool area.

Host Gail White was very helpful and friendly. She provided interesting details about the house and the surrounding area.

  • Liked — Beautiful home, property and room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBarrett99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

My husband and I visited the inn for a weekend getaway to celebrate the beginning of summer. We visit B&B's often as it has become a hobby for us. We were delighted by the beauty of the inn and the room (the valley rose) was quite romantic and was the room recommended by Gail when I called to make a reservation. We had such a nice, relaxing time and breakfast was hearty and delicious. On Saturday night of our stay we walked into town for dinner and Gail gave us an umbrella and told us that if we did not want to walk back to just call her and she would come and get us...what hospitaliy! When we returned from dinner we joined Gail and her husband on the back veranda for some wine and much enjoyable conversation, it was the highlight of our weekend as Mary also joined us and we watched a summer thunderstorm roll in. I would definitely suggest this inn to anyone looking for relaxation and comfort, it was an absolute pleasure.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — location, not alot too do in Geneseo itself
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneseo
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneseo
Hampton Inn Geneseo
#1 of 2 in Geneseo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Geneseo
Quality Inn Geneseo
#2 of 2 in Geneseo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
19.2 mi away
RIT Inn & Conference Center
RIT Inn & Conference Center
#13 of 16 in Henrietta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oak Valley Inn
Oak Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Geneseo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 Temple Hill St, Geneseo, NY 14454-1318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneseo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Geneseo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple Hill B&B is located in the heart of National Historic Landmark village of Geneseo, NY. A 3 story brick mansion built in 1826 as a school of higher education for young men; we offer 4 elegant guest rooms on the second floor, all with private baths. Our 3 acre property features gardens and swimming pool for guests (in season). Full breakfast served daily. We are located 4 blocks from Main Street & SUNY Geneseo; nearby shopping, antiques, Finger Lakes wine country; 30 minutes to Rochester & airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Expedia so you can book your Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Hill Bed & Breakfast Geneseo, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing