We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Based on our experience I couldn't recommend this restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosentino’s Ristorante

Cosentino’s Ristorante
Ranked #11 of 87 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned business since 1996, Serving Classic Italian Cuisine
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Based on our experience I couldn't recommend this restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

With all the recommendations we heard, we were looking forward to a terrific meal. I called ahead, and was told that if we arrived within half an hour no reservations would be needed. Ok, there was an unexpected busload of student athletes that arrived before us, and yes we had a 25 minute wait in an area with limited seating (one love seat and a straight back dining chair), but we were going to have and unforgettable meal or so we thought. We were seated in what I assume was the "B" dining room. The designer must have worked for a state hospital prior to taking this room on - it looked institutional. By now two of us had lost appetite and decided to order an appetizer for an entre along with salads. Salads were crisp and dressings all made in house. Calamari was ordered for an appetizer, it arrived with the salads. While the waitress was friendly, the order was mis-served. The calamari arrived and was a plateful! However the breading was heavy and lacked any crispness. It almost tasted as though it had been fried earlier and reheated. The accompanying sauce while tasty was too thick for dipping. The chicken Parmesan and chicken Ficatta was average neighborhood restaurant fare. The mussels that had been ordered were definitely below average. One order was served with the appetizer, instead of as an entree as requested. The second order was forgotten, and then put in late, so it arrived after other entrees were served. Unfortunately the first person that ordered the mussels was too polite to comment on them. The mussels arrived on a flat plate with a small bowl containing a broth. They were, for the most part, over-cooked. The herbs tasted like someone confused the turkey stuffing herbs with Italian seasoning. Where was the garlic infused flavor of mussels in broth one associates with seaside Italian cuisine? The cup of broth accompanying the mussels had a huge wedge of lemon in it. It looked like it was just dropped into the cup for no apparent reason. Unfortunately, the lemon didn’t mask the taste of the broth. Although the salads and the chicken dishes were fine, based on our experience I couldn’t recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NCTravelprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    82
    43
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clyde
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Recently ate here and had the lunch buffet. There was a good variety of food , all that I had was very good!! Quiet, relaxed atmosphere, attentive waitress. Overall very good experience..will go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaClyde_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“rehearsal dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Called in April from 200 miles away to schedule a September rehearsal dinner for our son and fiancee. Paid the requested $200 deposit, picked and provided the entrees for the meal and promptly never heard from Lou, the owner until I contacted him two weeks before the wedding to assure everything was on. No contract, which wasn't so unusual to a small country girl ,but he kept sending our requests to the wrong email or not responding at all to set up final details. Erin finally took over, and all in all the night did go well. The meals were reasonably priced and the choices of eggplant, chicken, pork chops, and rigatoni were fine but did not have any exceptional flavor. The room provided the privacy we wanted and everyone was relaxed with the service. In retrospect, I know Erin did the best she could with what she had to work with,she worked with me accommodating my final plan. Lou had my nerves a little frazzled in the process. Our children liked the informal atmosphere of the restaurant and it is across the street from the Hampton where we were staying which was very convenient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsc06_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
456 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent food - friendly staff - recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Not many restaurants are open on Mondays (apparently) so we went to Nonna. And we are glad we did we left quite satisfied - the "greens and beans" starter is fantastic (large enough for two)... and the garlic knots are amazing! The chicken Marsala was authentic and made with fresh mushrooms AND artichokes (nice touch). The past was perfectly cooked - the only non-perfect item was the gnocchi - it was hard and chewy. The sauce was terrific! All the staff is helpful and friendly - our water glass was constantly attended to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_a_lot4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fatigued?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The restaurant was full with a 30 minute wait when we arrived but this didn't disappoint as we hadn't booked. The bar area was buzzy so enjoyed drinks while waiting but then matters deteriorated as, once at the table, food eventually arrived cold [steaks had to be returned], nearby tables had breadfights or complained about the bills. One had the feeling it had been a long day for the staff although they were polite and evidently trying hard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cosentino’s Ristorante also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Cosentino’s Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing