We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get-away weekend at the William Smith Inn Geneva New York”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The William Smith Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Geneva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sanborn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get-away weekend at the William Smith Inn Geneva New York”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

OMG! Teresa is amazing! The minute you meet her, she is a friend forever. Our stay was perfect because she is the perfect hostess! She is so willing to make your stay enjoyable by either providing information about the area or purchasing a specific tea for breakfast! She is a good cook as our breakfasts were freshly made, ample, and delicious. The inn is a gorgeous, period home that has been tastefully converted. It is in a residential area and is clean, comfortable, quiet, safe, and relaxing. There is a huge veranda for breakfast, cocktails, reading a book, or a quiet talk. The neighborhood is very quiet and great for jogging or a stroll around the block. Before we booked, we read everyone's reviews and thought they couldn't possibly be true, but they are. The William Smith Inn is a very special place that we didn't want to leave. We are coming back for a late summer or fall visit. If you like B & Bs, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the William Smith Suite. It is on the second floor and there was plenty of room. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxingontheroadnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
75
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a honeymoon in the Finger Lakes and we stayed at the William Smith Inn for three nights. Our hosts David and Theresa Gage could not have been more hospitable. Theresa gave us the scoop on good wineries to visit and David took us to see the nearby historic observatory. The house itself has amazing history, having been the home to the founder of William Smith College (now merged with Hobart). Our room on the main floor was amazing, 15 foot ceilings, dramatic colour scheme, great cable TV/wifi access and lots of lovely antique touches. Breakfast during the week was fruit, yogurt, freshly made scones, organic local juice and lots of coffee. On weekends Theresa goes all out with the hot egg dishes. Loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you like historic, go with the first floor. If you want lots of room, try the Stateman on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinsomeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa600, Owner at The William Smith Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
As always, I have fantastic guests! Thank you for the wonderful review and it was great getting to know you both. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a beautiful Inn with beautiful accommodations, and a convenient location. The owners Theresa and David are wonderful, they are full of information about the area and really know how to make guests feel right at home, they are also very accommodating. Last but not least, the breakfast was fantastic. Highly recommended. We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MI USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is our second visit to The William Smith Inn. We thought our stay was perfect on our first visit, but this visit was even better because our room was *even larger* than our first stay three years ago. The home is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, located ideally, and owned by an absolutely wonderful innkeeper and her husband. Theresa is the *perfect* host and after just one visit she already felt like a friend. After *two* visits she feels like an old friend!

Great breakfasts are served using local products (some from their lovely backyard) in a beautiful dining room. Don't miss the opportunity to have a wonderful start to your day as well as to take the time to discuss your plans with Theresa. She is a wealth of knowledge about the area and goes over the top to make sure you have all the tips, suggestions and directions you need to make your day perfect. She is a lovely host with an infectious smile and laugh!

You can't go wrong when you decide to stay at The William Smith Inn. Trust me on this one. Great place to stay in Geneva!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwzemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa600, Owner at The William Smith Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Repeat guests are the best compliment! So happy to have you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have stayed at this Inn three times. It is beautiful. Theresa is an excellent innkeeper. The room, amenities and breakfast are fabulous! Our daughter is a student at HWS and Theresa invited her for breakfast....a special treat for a college student! Everything about our stay was perfect! <3

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Gorgeously restored historic home with a "wow" factor in every room. Theresa is an outstanding host -- very attentive, a great source of info on local sites and activities, an excellent cook, and hilariously funny! The rooms are huge and beautifully appointed. We felt completely relaxed and at home. Theresa recommended a couple of restaurants which were truly outstanding. Geneva itself is an interesting spot and there is so much to do and see nearby. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LZB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Theresa is terrific and always works to provide a fantastic overall experience. Breakfast is homemade and delicious and there is nothing better than sitting on the front porch with a bottle of wine. Love everything about it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
2.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Smith Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Smith Inn

Property: The William Smith Inn
Address: 600 Castle St, Geneva, NY 14456-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Smith Inn opened its doors in June 2009. William Smith was a philanthropist, astronomer, spiritualist and nurseryman. Your hosts, David & Theresa Gage, have restored this home to its former glory for your comfort and pleasure. This Italianate home, built in 1873, features quarter-cut white oak floors with black walnut inlay, monstrous chestnut doors, floor-to-ceiling windows and incredibly detailed molding. The home is situated on 3.2 acres in the heart of the Finger Lakes region of New York. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing