We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!!!”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience a taste of life on a 19th-century estate when you visit this National Historic Landmark. Once a working farm, the house and surrounding grounds are now open seasonally for guided tours. Built in 1839, the elegant Greek Revival house was the center of a busy and productive farm by mid-century. Much of the tour focuses on the Swan family, in residence from 1850 to 1890. Through family letters, photographs, and diaries, explore the family's joys and sorrows and their interactions with neighbors and the many workers required to keep the large house and farm in working order. Trained as a merchant, discover how Robert Swan combined business methods of organization with scientific innovations like drain tile to make his farm more productive and profitable. See twenty rooms restored and furnished in the Empire style, popular from the 1820s to 1850s. Enjoy the magnificent view of Seneca Lake from the front porch and the vista of nearby farmlands.Rose Hill Mansion Gift Shop features a selection of locally produced food products, historically themed gifts and hand crafted items. Be sure to visit the tasting room Billsboro Winery operates on site.Open May 1 to October 31. Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-4pm; Sunday, 1-5pm. Closed Mondays.
Endicott, New York
1 review
“Great tour!!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were surprised to discover Rose Hill Mansion to be much more than we had imagined. What a bargain, for only $6 (senior) we had a docent - guided one hour tour. Our guide was Carole...she was highly informative and had so many interesting facts about the abundance of authentic artifacts in the home. The mansion has multiple rooms, with twists and turns and each room is furnished with pieces from the family and of the times (mid-1800s). This is a MUST stop if you are in or near Geneva.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseHillGeneva, Public Relations Manager at Rose Hill Mansion, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit! Thanks so much for your review.
Anne Dealy
Director of Education and Public Information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    27
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

An interesting place to stop by if you're in the area and gives a nice glimpse of life in the late 19th Century in Upstate New York

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glubetrutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great historical spot”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our tour guide, John, really brought us back to what it would be like to live in that time. Very informative. Great wine for sale

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Historic & Informative”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have driven past this place many times over the years and finally decided to take advantage of the free 'Museum Day' sponsored by the Smithsonian held in late September. Wonderful folks are there who love what they do sharing the history of this mansion built in 1837. Excellent tour guide. Great gift shop. The tour will be enjoyed by adults more than children but everyone who lives in the Geneva area should go and hear the story of one of their National Historic Sites. Too much to describe but one of my favorite parts is the huge front windows that can completely lift in order to walk through and/or feel the breeze off Seneca Lake! Interesting Greek Revival architecture, decorating and landscaping. We were able to take some photos (without flash, of course) to help us remember our visit. Afterwards, one can take a Billsboro wine tasting where a proceed of all sales at this location (verses their winery on the west side of the lake) goes to support the Geneva Historical Society.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very informative and pleasant”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stopped in on our way to Senneca lake, The guide, John, was very informative and pleasant.
He made us feel that we were back in the 19th century. We toured the house including the original cabin which is a visitors center and houses a Model T and carriage used by the family.
The Billsboro winery tasting room is next door and we enjoyed and bought some local wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 711NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing