We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not what I thought” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Main Street

Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok but not what I thought”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

South Main St. was lovely but not what I thought. It's fine for a drive but that takes minutes. Do it when you have nothing better to do.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 2014Travelinghappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vinton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“such a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I went back to Geneva after being away for 5 decades. The stroll down South Main Street brought back memories of a simpler time but the view was equally spectacular as before. A French magazine, in the 50's, voted South Main Street in Geneva N.Y as one of the 7 prettiest streets in the world. In my view, for good reason.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank vthokie2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“walking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

sunny day for a walk down Main Street to see what was happening and what new in the areas because there been added store and improvement on the businesses that already in the areas and few place eating areas outside to enjoy the weather.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DarlaMae_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I love Geneva, New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I'll be honest, I love Geneva, New York. It's big enough to be a complete city, with tourist attractions, manufacturing facilities, and a bar on every corner. It sits at the "top" of Lake Seneca, a lake similar in size and depth to Loch Ness, although, alas, it has no "Nessie." You can stroll along South Main Street and during the summer hear people playing at the state park on the shore of the lake, and you can shop in an eclectic array of shops.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank DrFloyd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice area on the rise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We felt the downtown area in Geneva had great potential for continued revitalization. It was not quite as busy as the more travelled Canandagua downtown area and had a "nicer feel". I hope that there continues to be revitalization with more upscale shops and restaurants to come.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NurseJudy0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Main Street also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to South Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing