We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery”
Review of Belhurst Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belhurst Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
2 reviews
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautiful grounds and pleasantly surprised by the rooms in the castle. Loved the old castle feel and yet still having modern luxuries. Staff was attentive and helpful. We attended a wedding and what a romantic gorgeous setting on the lake. This a great getaway for any couple, just relaxing, enjoying the wine tasting or do absolutely nothing and enjoy.

Room Tip: Castle or cottage rooms were great. Cottages feel like you have your own home on the grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobellybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    143
    79
    66
    102
See reviews for
63
420
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

There are 11 unique rooms to pick from in this castle which was built in the 1880's. Throughout the building are antique furnishings, oriental rugs, stained glass and very ornate woodwork. Beautiful. The restaurant, "Edgars" is wonderful, offering terrific food and superb service.
If your taste is for something more modern, the attached Vinifera Inn is also a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms have only one queen-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wonderful romantic location! Tower suite was spectacular as expected. The detailed woodwork, spacious rooms - yes rooms plural, high ceilings, balcony, modern bathroom was wonderful to have for a night to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. Had free wine tasting, and the free wine spigot too on the floor below. We ate at both the restaurants with a great food selection and tasty food. Take time to walk the grounds overlooking the lake. This was a special occasion for us and a real treat. The only thing we didn't like was the pillows - many to choose from but all to high for our necks. The room had many toiletries in case you forgot something, even a toothbrush, paste, bathrobe and a razor. The tub was extra large made for 2 people and is a Jacuzzi. My husband is over 6' and was able to fit in it comfortably enough. The walk in tile shower has a nice layout. The room was clean and staff was friendly. Would consider any of the other rooms or off sight cottages to stay in the future. Maybe a girls weekend including the Spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed two nights in the newer section of the castle. Room was large, welcoming with a Jacuzzi tub and a lovely fireplace. Dinner at Stonecutters restaurant was delicious with a beautiful view of the lake. Ate breakfast at Edgar's.
The service was excellent. Staff could not have been more accommodating and welcoming. We love the are....will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had reservations for the Belhurst Mansion. When we arrived we were surprised to find there was no elevation and had to drag luggage to the second floor. Would not recommend this Mansion to seniors. Ammenities were ok. I did not use their soap as it was Glycerin and I am not fond of it. We were in the Lee room which was ok nothing special unless you like the quaint look. Some peeling, wood on outside was rotting. We wanted to stay in the main lodge but all rooms were booked due to a wedding. Food there was not bad. The rooms were clean but definitely dated.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived to find our reservation for two nights was improperly made by the reservation clerk. Although the room manager said all the right things, he did nothing to fix the error. Instead we had to fend for ourselves on a holiday weekend. He offered to cancel our reservation completely and sarcastically added that they would not have any problems filling the room.

After securing a room for the night nearly an hour away, we returned the next afternoon to check in and found the room below standards. Hair in the sink and shower. The romance package upgrades were not worth the money. The roses were not fresh. Brown petals that were falling off the stem, the chocolates and wine selections I paid to upgrade were nothing more than standard items that you could find on the gift shop.

A beautiful property, the in-house restaurant and bar did an exceptional job. Food was good quality and well prepared. Enjoyed the spa, but again, the reservation for our visit was incorrect.

In all, I wouldn't return. Although the location is perfect, the Belhurst Castle has seen better days.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed in the old part of Belhurst Castle and enjoyed every minute of it. There was dark wood everywhere, large windows, ornate tiled fireplace and a great feeling of history. The bathroom was quite modern. Best of all there was wine available to Castle guests in the form of a spigot behind a locked grate. The grounds at Belhurst are lovely and the view of the lake is awesome. There are several patios and a fire pit. There are benches by the lake too. We ate dinner at Edgar's (the signature restaurant), but the Stonecutter's bar/grill looked inviting too. We had a buffet breakfast there complete with an omelet station. The food was wonderful and the staff efficient and friendly. The only negative was an old through the wall, noisy air conditioner and the small non-flat TV. We definitely would go back--maybe to a more modern room to please my husband. We noticed they offered wine tasting also which we never got to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
553 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
1.8 mi away
White Springs Manor
White Springs Manor
#10 of 11 in Geneva
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst Castle

Property: Belhurst Castle
Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belhurst Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Belhurst Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing