We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, Romantic, and Quiet (which is Rare)”
Review of Belhurst Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belhurst Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Binghamton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rustic, Romantic, and Quiet (which is Rare)”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First, stop off in the Wine Tasting Room for a lovely experience of Finger Lakes Riesling, which is extraordinary in this region. (Don't forget to take a bottle back to your room.) Treat yourselves to a visit at the spa; my husband loved the neck and shoulder massage; I preferred a foot massage and pedicure. Afterwards, dress up and have dinner at Edgar's and experience a step back in time. Pick up a copy of the castle’s history (you’ll be surprised at how naughty it was). The Cuisine is superb and the staff accommodating. The filet mignon was buttery and cooked to perfection. We strolled along the waterfront after dinner and sat on the patio watching the lighted boats troll across the lake. Before bed, we sunk into the in-room whirlpool, drank that bottle of wine, and nibbled on the chocolate castles that were left on our pillows. The morning coffee in-room was sublime. Magnificent if quiet relaxation is what you're after.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is an absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    143
    79
    66
    102
See reviews for
63
420
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and were to have a romantic getaway, but it ended up being a stay full of regrets. We stayed in the "Bronze Room", which I had been assured was one of the nicest rooms in the original Castle portion of the hotel. When we walked into the room and looked around, disappointment began. The condition of furniture, which was "period" for the most part, was shabby. Even the bronze fireplace, had a mirror that my husband noticed needed cleaning (it was all streaked where someone may have just wiped a cloth across. Windex would have made all of the difference!). The windows were so dirty inside and out that it really affected what should have been a beautiful view of Seneca Lake. The other furniture in the room was also in need of cleaning and/or repair, with broken or poorly repaired areas very visible. One of the biggest concerns even involved health issues, when what appeared to be black mold was noticed in the air conditioner vents where the cool air blew into our room. Also, the air conditioner was so loud, even ear plugs couldn't drown out the noise. We attempted to decrease the fan speed in the hope of decreasing the noise, but you could not adjust the fan speed, it did not respond to our attempts to adjust with the controls. What should have been a beautiful romantic getaway, became a night of apologizing to my husband. If we return to the Geneva area, we will choose another hotel. I did leave a comment card mentioning a couple of these concerns. The lodging manager did call me around 4:30 pm, and after she checked the Bronze Room, she said she was already addressing the issues she found (mentioning the air conditioner had been replace by the time of her call, and telling me the windows were already scheduled to be cleaned on the outside). She also did offer some compensation for our very unsatisfactory stay. Although she did apologize, and I believe she did feel bad that so many problems were found in 1 room, even Things that should have been a part of regular routine cleaning, I would still choose another hotel in the future.

Room Tip: View the room before making a reservation. Don't rely on their web site pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Peaceful location at the north of Seneca Lake, with expansive views and light. Rooms are large and well furnished, with small refrigerator to chill purchases from local wineries. Great dining options on site with extensive Finger Lakes wines.

Room Tip: Best to stay in the new section. all of which have views over Seneca Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nepean
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our 3 rd stay. Everything was wonderful as always. The experience is enhanced by wonderful, helpful staff. After the visit, we had left a book behind. Phoned when we arrived home and were told nothing had turned up. A week later book had been found. We asked if they could mail it to us. No problem they answered. Arrived a week later. They had mailed it tut us first class with international postage affixed. How wonderful. See you soon

Room Tip: Book early get a room facing lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacrebleu48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great lunch and very reasonably priced. Right by Seneca Lake and offers amazing views. Beautiful homes around the area. Excellent service at the restaurant and great food, highly recommend their salads. Worth the drive!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Dover, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

As we arrived, we were met with great hospitality from staff. In fact the staff really made our 2 night stay in the "carriage house" memorable. The Castle is a marvel..... Really well maintained and the grounds spectacular. The wine "spigot" on the second floor is a nice touch but each room should be supplied with a 1/2 bottle carafe for there guests use.
The dinner we had in Edgers dinning room was less that expected. No presentation on the plate and just so-so taste. Good have been much better. The other restaurant, Stonecutters, is more casual and has a good menu of mostly sandwich style mains. One must try is the "Tenderloin Tip Fondue". It is billed as an appetizer but can easily make due for a main. Fantastic and reasonable cost. All in all a great time spent at this fine establishment. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Any room will be nice. The Ice House and the Carriage house are away from the main castle, very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dusty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautiful grounds and pleasantly surprised by the rooms in the castle. Loved the old castle feel and yet still having modern luxuries. Staff was attentive and helpful. We attended a wedding and what a romantic gorgeous setting on the lake. This a great getaway for any couple, just relaxing, enjoying the wine tasting or do absolutely nothing and enjoy.

Room Tip: Castle or cottage rooms were great. Cottages feel like you have your own home on the grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobellybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
553 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
1.8 mi away
White Springs Manor
White Springs Manor
#10 of 11 in Geneva
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst Castle

Property: Belhurst Castle
Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belhurst Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Belhurst Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing