We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lodging and dinning”
Review of Belhurst Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belhurst Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have eaten here on 3 occasions and have never been disappointed with Edgar's. The Sunday Brunch is wonderful and priced well.

Finally had a chance to stay in the hotel and reserved room #110 in the castle. The rooms was fantastic, huge space with huge bathroom, sitting areas with couch, TV and a cheesy boom box. We even had a private balcony with great views! My only complaints are...there is a wonderful turret that's part of the suit yet it was kind of dusty, tape on the windows, no AC made it hotter than hell! Very disappointing. When the sun came up in the morning it shines directly into the room...not a shade or curtain on any of the windows made it impossible to sleep in late...with such a wonderful room and at a hefty price one would think they could figure out how to prevent the sun from entering while preserving the wonderful wood work around the windows.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Let me start off by saying that we approached our stay here with high expectations. This was an anniversary visit and we had lunch in the lounge a couple years ago (which was great, and which will be covered in another review). But the room? The WORST! We would have taken a "better" room (bigger, lake view, etc) but due to circumstances we only called about 10 days in advance. We wanted to stay in the main old part of the property because it is really cool with lots of character and ambience. We also wanted a tub. So we ended up in the "Butler's Room". Because this was a classy place we expected a classy room and got...something more akin to a third-rate airport hotel a mile or so from the airport. You'll see from the pictures what I'll describe here: A rat's nest of wires connecting the tv, dvd, light and ac unit, a 20-year-old cathay tube tv, duct tape sealing the both ac's from the exterior, one ac that clattered and rattled all night (but we couldn't turn it off because it was HOT outside, SHOULD have turned it off because it didn't cool the room (we slept without covers or even the sheet), the bathroom fan rattled and banged and sounded like a badly minted Model T Ford, the tub (an OLD fiberglass enclosure tub in the small mode) boasted badly applied caulking that was peeling out and looked as though an 8-year-old had installed it, the drain was broken and the chain for the rubber plug was broken, there was caked soap residue in the soap dish, the cleaning folks had scoured the wallpapers to white where it met the tile, there were white spots where splatter had bleached the wallpaper, the wallpaper was peeling, the bathroom's tile was badly cracked and the lighting in all rooms was dim, the windows looked out over a spider web of power lines and when we stepped out of our room in the morning we found a filthy hall and cleaning stuff scattered everywhere. Oh..and we spotted two cockroaches.There's more, but you get the drift. If you're not a butler this is NOT a room you will be happy with. I doubt the butler would be, either. I suspect the bigger and more expensive rooms are better, else people would not keep coming back. However, I told the front desk in the morning that management needed to understand that the Butler Room should NOT be rented until it is renovated...and sprayed. I'll give the desk gal credit - she was appalled by the pictures we showed her and comped our breakfast and drinks from the lounge the prior evening. Kudos to her. When all was said and done, this was not the anniversary we anticipated. Ours are always special and we go to fun upscale places every year. This anniversary was kind of a downer.

Room Tip: Choose a lakefront room OR choose a room in one of the buildings other than the main "castle&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 922PaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Lewis suite at White Springs Manor. It was very big and loved the king size bed. The past visits we've stayed in Pond view and Lee both of which were great. Had another great stay and dinner at Edgars was delicious. The negatives-shower did not have much pressure and woke up at 4 to hear something in the fireplace. It was a bat! It ended up getting out and flying around the room. Needless to say it was very comical, my boyfriend trying to swat with a hanger and me hiding 8 1/2 months pregnant. Finally ended up flying back into the fireplace where he tried to block in. Slept with light on or should say tried to sleep the rest of time left before checkout. Other then that we will be back again!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank rae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband booked this 2 night stay at Belhurst Castle, he had visited this property about 10 years ago & was excited for me to see it. We stayed in room 306. The views of Lake Senaca from our room were Amazing, only marred by the disgusting dirty windows, with cobwebs, dead bugs. The room was a great space, furniture chairs need to be redone, updated. Our air conditioner died the 1st morning, they placed a portable one & it was SOOO loud we did not sleep the 2nd night. Also do not be fooled by the brochure, the beautiful pond w/ fountain does bot exist, it actually is a dried up space filled with cat'o nine tails. Overall, this must have been a great property in it's day, sad to see it seems to be relying on it's past greatness. The Potential for Greatness is there, now if only the owners would listen and invest. NO Wi-Fi in rooms!! Not available, only on 1st floor community spaces.

Room Tip: Hold off on booking here until it is updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aderoche04046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the castle portion. While it was beautiful and a fun experience, and I do not regret it, not sure I would recommend it. We only stayed one night - would not have wanted to stay more. The room air conditioners are very noisy. We needed a pullout sofa and it was horrible. It kept folding up on the person trying to sleep on it. The bed was comfortable. The wine spigot was broken, but we were able to get our wine at the restaurant bar - just had to walk downstairs. The shower faucet was broken - it would just keep turning and was difficult to turn off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LuvSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We love it here!, We stayed in the newer Vinefera Inn this time. The room was spacious with a beautiful lake view, refrigerator, jacuzzi, loveseat, etc. The only con was that our bed was not too comfortable but it was ok. We ate dinner in Stonecutters and my Beef Wek sandwich was amazing!,,,, After dinner we took our drinks outside and sat by the fire pit, talking to another couple, that we just met, for hours. I left my camera out there and didnt discover that it was missing til morning. Someone turned it in and they had it for me! Breakfast was wonderful out on the porch. The staff was great.Love it there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First, stop off in the Wine Tasting Room for a lovely experience of Finger Lakes Riesling, which is extraordinary in this region. (Don't forget to take a bottle back to your room.) Treat yourselves to a visit at the spa; my husband loved the neck and shoulder massage; I preferred a foot massage and pedicure. Afterwards, dress up and have dinner at Edgar's and experience a step back in time. Pick up a copy of the castle’s history (you’ll be surprised at how naughty it was). The Cuisine is superb and the staff accommodating. The filet mignon was buttery and cooked to perfection. We strolled along the waterfront after dinner and sat on the patio watching the lighted boats troll across the lake. Before bed, we sunk into the in-room whirlpool, drank that bottle of wine, and nibbled on the chocolate castles that were left on our pillows. The morning coffee in-room was sublime. Magnificent if quiet relaxation is what you're after.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is an absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
586 reviews
1.6 mi away
White Springs Manor
White Springs Manor
#10 of 11 in Geneva
78 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belhurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belhurst Castle

Address: 4069 Route 14 South, Geneva, NY 14456
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £138 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belhurst Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes Wine Region, Belhurst takes you away to a place filled with history, beauty and breathtaking views. Visit our newest addition ~ Isabella Spa, open to the public and perfect for bridal parties. Belhurst also offers a winery and gift shop, 2 restaurants, 2 large ballrooms accommodating 250 people for weddings and 8 breakout rooms for corporate and business meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Belhurst Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belhurst - Chambers In The Castle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing