We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 stars for ingenuity 1star for quality 3 stars average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Brothers Wineries and Estates

Three Brothers Wineries and Estates
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Looking for something different in your wine tasting experience? Join us at Three Brothers Wineries and Estates, where 35 acres of passion, pleasure, and adventure awaits you! Maximize your escape from the grind with one stop- three unique wineries and one fabulous microbrew tasting room on the property, all within walking distance of each other. From fine estate Rieslings to our fun, blended sweet wines, you are sure to find something to please!
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5 stars for ingenuity 1star for quality 3 stars average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Hmmmmm. This one is a tough one to rate. There is no question that Three Brothers is fun place where a lot went into the creation. I especially liked the Swamp area in the back and the band that was playing on the day we went. BUT-I feel obligated to forewarn those of you who visit this place unaware of what it's like ahead of time like we were. Two of the tasting rooms have wine so sweet that I felt like I needed to stop at the next drugstore for a glucose monitor! The third one that serves the more traditional wines was better, but my palate was so heavily coated with sugar, I had a hard time discerning what was what. The tastings are pre-fab....everyone gets the same 5 or six wines , in the same order going from sweet to less sweet (again two of the three have no dry). We also felt like we were being cycled through as quickly as possible. In one tasting, the wine pourer was literally hovering over our glasses with the next bottle. Lots of pressure to gulp.
The atmosphere is very festive, if that is what you are into. Just don't expect to enjoy a relaxing tasting experience while soaking in the gorgeous Seneca Lake views.
The reason I said in the beginning that it was tough to rate is that these three brothers are certainly on to something with their unique venue. It's just that they are catering to a very different customer than we seem to be.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kgauthier42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica P, Owner at Three Brothers Wineries and Estates, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thanks for your thoughtful review! The next time you visit, I would suggest sampling only at Stony Lonesome Wine Cellars where you're certain to find something you like- most of the wines in this building are dry wines which have been awarded in numerous wine competitions for outstanding quality. At Three Brothers, we believe that there should be something for everyone, hence the semi-dry and semi-sweet sparkling wines in Passion Feet, the sweeter blended wines at Bagg Dare and of course the beer at the microbrewery! Like our neighbors all around Seneca Lake, we are very busy on the weekend, if relaxing on the patio and enjoying a glass of wine and the beautiful view is what you're looking for, we'd suggest visiting after 1pm (when we stop taking limos and buses) and things slow down a bit or come during the week, when you're bound to get more attention that you'd ever want!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    87
    43
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be sure to confirm ALL information prior to your arrival!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I had called 2 months in advance to schedule a tasting for a bus trip. The woman who took the reservation told me there would be sandwiches for purchase through a stand run by the Seneca Smokehouse. Upon our arrival on September 28th, I was told that we had no reservation. Luckily, they took us anyway. Several from our group headed back to the Bagg Dare Winery, since I had been told that was where the food stand would be.Upon asking, I was informed that they had stopped coming a few weeks before. OK. No food. Thanks.
I will say this: this music and atmosphere were fun. The wine at Stony Lonesome was very good. (The others were much too sweet for me.) And the beer was quite good at Warhorse Brewing, particularly the Black Lager & IPA.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rbs360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cato, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“3 visits, good times, Great Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Been here 3 times with family and friends and everyone enjoys it. Going again just the wife and I for a little us time and sure of a good time. This winery is a must stop if in the neighborhood.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skbx312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for sweet wine drinkers and the younger crowd”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you are a serious wine drinker, don't waste your time. Wine is like kool aid. Atmosphere like a theme park. But definitely appealing to bachelor and bachelorette parties.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Queenofdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Public Relations Manager at Three Brothers Wineries and Estates, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We're very sorry that you were unable to also experience our many award-winning dry, vinefera wines during your visit and that the atmosphere you experienced was more rambunctious than you prefer. While nearly all our wineries do craft a spectrum of wine types, in their attempts to have at least one product capable of appealing to all palates, but nearly all of them have at least a handful of dry wines available for sampling. And please rest assured, while we do want our patrons to have a fun visit, we are continually working very hard to make sure that more gregarious groups don't interfere with others' enjoyment of our region and wineries. We hope that you might choose to visit our Trail again one day, perhaps during a quieter time of the year, and will permit our office to help steer you towards wineries with a greater focus on drier wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three Brothers Wineries Fun and Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This place doesn't only have some of the best wines and beers, but it is just a fun place. With a friendly staff and a very unique setting this estate is a must visit for the people who want more than a wine and beer tasting room. Me and my wife have visited 3 Brothers for 3 years now and we never get tired of the place and make it part of our fall trips. For those who not into wine and beer you have to try thier Root Beer!!! It is the best. Please keep up the good work.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Brothers Wineries and Estates also viewed

 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Three Brothers Wineries and Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing