We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Springs Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Springs Manor
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disappointment...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the White Springs Manor (Lewis room) in conjunction with a wedding at Belhurst Castle. The $285/night is the most I have spent for a hotel room, and I've stayed in some similarly priced and much better maintained facilities.

I'll echo the comments on the worn exterior and interior, especially the rugs. These were not heirlooms, they were just overly worn and stained. The tone for the stay was set by the half-eaten castle chocolate sitting on the bookcase.

The clocks were not set to the correct time and the remote to the tv in the bedroom did not work. The shower had very low flow/pressure and the jacuzzi had a broken knob missing. Luckily the jacuzzi filled a lot faster than the shower would have indicated. The mirror over the sink was set at the height of a 4' person.

The bed was huge and comfortable, but the linens were more worn than what I keep on the beds at home.

While our visits to Castle for the event and other dining opportunities were enjoyable, I would NOT recommend staying off the main property.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
7
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in the music room, you do have to check in at the castle then drive to the manor but it's very close and a pleasant drive as well. The manor is dated but it's all part of the charm, it is a very old building so know what to expect as far as the outside of the manor goes it does have some paint chipping but don't let it deter you. The room was adorable, chocolates on the bed, a coffee maker, mini fridge, fireplace, nice tv and DVD player and cable! The stairs to the basement/bathroom are a bit creaky but they're solid and very cool. There is a very nice jacuzzi tub and though the middle jacuzzi button does come off, it's easy to put back on and it works great! They give you robes and slippers and toiletries, the whole experience was very comfortable. The grounds are quiet and peaceful, it was an amazing getaway. Also there are many shops and lake views and restaurants that are less than a 15 minute drive. If you want a simple, relaxing, vacation I would highly recommend this manor!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuickTripQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva on the Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

After reading this, maybe you'll understand why I gave it a POOR review instead of average. After seeing how booked the Castle was for the entire weekend, we decided on The Manor, because of still being able to use the entire property and their amenities. Having to check-in at the main property wasn't bad, because upon seeing the manor in pic.'s and it's privacy made up for it. The manager told us their was no staff at the manor, so we we're prepared, however..we didn't know that our in-room phone wouldn't dial out to anyone, not even the castle. So...we couldn't get anyone to come over there for any needs. The building its self had paint chipping on all of the outside banisters and the back stone patio was covered in pigeon poo. Our room had paint chipping off the wall by the bathroom as well. The carpets to the upstairs was covered in stains, and our fireplace only showed a small blue flame on the actual gas outlet, so we didn't really get to enjoy a fire. The nob to turn up the flame didn't work. The Jacuzzi tub on and off switch fell off in our hands when going to use it. Thank goodness we could stick our fingers in it far enough to push the button to get somewhat use. In the morning when being excited about having coffee watching the sun come up was an extreme disappointment, because the only thing they provided was the creamer and condiments. NO COFFEE...GRRR! Now..because the phone wouldn't call over there, we tried our cell phones, and after being put on hold for almost 10 min's., we decided to drive over to the front desk, and guess what? There was 2 girls standing in the office....but they COULDN'T pick up the PHONE! We explained our complaints, and said that we paid more for that room because of the fireplace and hot tub, but got basically a room with a bed and shower only! She told me that she would refund my c/c 25 dollars to make up for it..WOOHOO! I told her we paid cash, and she then told me she couldn't help me...Seriously? So..credit card value of money is now worth more than cash in this country? Don't they have a petty cash box? She said she didn't have that authority, and I told her the girls had the authority to TAKE my money though. She then offered us a breakfast coupon to try to help a little. Of course breakfast was delicious at Edgars, and dinner there was too the night before. They DO have good food! Upon waiting for breakfast, we took a stroll on the back lawn, where I picked up some broken glass from a wine glass or 2. Thank god my sandals had a thick sole, or that would have been another bloody issue. I took the cup, full of glass pieces, to the front desk to give to the girl that helped us, to confirm our wonderful stay! After a couple of hundred bucks on a room...I don't believe it's a 3 star price..it's a 5 star price where I come from. The Two great things about the Manor was the privacy...and the view!

Room Tip: Make sure you observe the room closely when you check-in, so that there are ways to get help before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lylis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here on a Travelzoo voucher and enjoyed it. People who complain seem to want a 5-star hotel for a 3-star price. This was an excellent value, and the room itself was spacious and charming, really a fun place to spend the night -- a gas fireplace which was fun for the evening, a view across the grape fields to Seneca Lake a couple miles away, a big in-room jacuzzi with plenty of bubbles, an interesting history, and a lovely front verandah to enjoy with your own bottle of wine and brought-from-home hors d'oeuvres (refrigerator in room). We did have to live one-night without wi-fi but that was kind of nice! And wi-fi is available at the sister property, Belhurst Castle, just a couple miles away. The Travelzoo deal included the lunch buffet at Belhurst's Edgar's with three main-course choices and several side dishes and salads. It also included tickets for wine-tasting at two nearly wineries. I enjoyed a morning walk around the very spacious grounds. Yes, the verandah could use a bit of sprucing up but overall the house was clean and interesting, like staying in someone's huge English manor farm home when they were away and left it open for you.

Room Tip: Check the website or ask the reservation agent for suggestions. Some rooms are definitely better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEE718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Historic and interesting. Spotless. Couple of details - there is no check in at property. You have to go to Belhurst Castle which is several miles away. We had multiple issues with our GPS finding the place as well as On-Star. For whatever reason, there are two addresses recorded for On-Star for the Castle. The castle is elegant and regal and scenic - while the Manor is, well, just old. Our room was called Pond View - there was no pond that I could see. The shower was a handheld sprayer deal that needed replacing. Coffee pot was old and cheap looking - a Keurig would have been a nice touch for the cost. And there were no amenities - no cafe - no restaurant. The biggest issue for us was that the cost was a whopping $233 a night. Very pricey considering you have no view, no restaurant, and are away from walking distance to anything. People at the Castle at check in were lovely and the casual dining restaurant there was very nice overlooking the water. If you are looking for a quiet getaway in Downton Abbey-style digs, and price is not an option, then this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: For the cost, Stay at the castle instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbrady76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Has unbelievable potential but is very out dated. There are two faucets, one for hot and one for cold water, an old 19" tube TV, broken stashes.on the windows that won't open. There are no facilities on property. You have to drive about two miles to Belhurst Castle for restaurants and everything else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

nice, low cost vacation, great food, The out side needs work, looks like they have a lazy grounds keeper.a few hours of raking picking up sticks would help a lot.The garden hoze was laying on the side walk. tools laying around.garbage cans too full seting out side in a group of dead weeds. they need to get some hard workers in there. clean up that yard!

I would go back, enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
1.8 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Springs Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Springs Manor

Property: White Springs Manor
Address: White Springs Lane, Geneva, NY 14456
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Springs Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Springs Manor Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing