We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet, very clean...wished it included breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Springs Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Springs Manor
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Need2LearnSpanish
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very quiet, very clean...wished it included breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

The White Springs Manor is owned and operated by Belhurst Castle. To check in, you must first go to the castle and then proceed 2 miles to the inn. What a beautiful place!! Nice brick building with a great porch and a wonderful view of the lake and vineyard. My husband and I stayed in the living room. It had a great big, comfortable bed, wonderful gas fireplace and jacuzzi for two. The bathroom was downstairs in the basement, which was somewhat awkward, but probably done to preserve the integrity of the architecture. We had a great view of the lake from our room, however we wished we had some blackout blinds, as the house faces east, and we were woken very early when the sun came up and brightened the whole room. There were nice bath and body works toiletries, robes, slippers and other things you might need like a sewing kit, toothbrushes and razor. A few downfalls - there was no desk or staff at all at the inn, so if you needed anything you would have to call Belhurst and hope they sent someone up. Also, for the price of the room, I would have hoped that there would be a breakfast - even continental - included. You'd might be better off staying at a bed and breakfast if you need an early morning meal. All in all, the room was very clean (even smelled clean when you walked inn), very quiet, very comfortable - great place for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Need2LearnSpanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
7
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

The only really good thing about this place was the view over vineyards to Seneca Lake. The room appeared cute at first, but ultimately disappointed. Only two pillows on the bed, so no good way for two people to prop up and read. Plus, needed another lamp in case the person on right side of bed wanted to read. Lights on overhead fixture probably put out 3 foot-candles of light.

Odd bathroom, with the toilet up five steps and around the corner. Considering its location, they could have easily closed it in, allowing two people to use the bathroom at once.

The worst thing was the overall condition of the building's exterior--peelilng paint, weeds and dead plants. Plus, cigarette butts on the terrace overlooking the lake. We stayed two nights and the butts never got picked up. A sign was up in tne dreary lobby, something to the effect of "Pardon the mess while we fix the place up". But NO worked occurred while we were there, and this was on weekdays.

On checkout I registered some of these complaints and was told that they were working on the building. Not to my eyes! Paintng should have been done before the high season, and cig butts should not be there at all. (Granted, some of the blame for that rests with the slobs who put them there in the first place. There were butt receptacles.)

I would hope that rooms in the main Belhurst castle were better, but can't really say.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

We enjoyed staying at the White Springs Manor. It is very private and relaxing. The property is located about 3 minutes away from the Belhurst Castle. My parents were staying right at the castle at the Venifer Inn but we decided to stay at the White Springs as the rates were within our budget. We stayed in the Music Room which was awesome. Although the Manor caters to romantic getaways we had our 12 year old daughter with us we had a family party at Edgars the following day. The music room fit us perfectly especially since you have a winding staircase to the bathroom were the jacuzzi and bathroom and it was separate from the sleeping room. In the lower level you had the honor bar, coffee maker, mirred closet and bathroom.. PERFECT...
The exterior of the premises needed a little work... for example we took a walk to the pond and it had a boardwalk leading to a gazebo located in the middle of the pond. There were a few weeds around it.. and some peeling paint... but it in no way would stop us from coming back again. We had dinner at Stonecutters which is at the Belhurst Castle, which features tavern food- mostly sandwiches and reasonable prices.
We enjoyed our time there and will make plans to go again. There is also a gift shop, winary, and The Fingerlakes Outlet Mall very near the Castle.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinetreeluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfield, NY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

This was our second trip to the Manor. We enjoyed it more this year than last. Last year we stayed in the "Living Room" which was wonderful for our first trip, the jazzuci and the fireplace plus the full length original mirror made us want more. We stayed on Mother's Day weekend last year and were the only ones there. What a HUGE house to have all to yourselves. We stayed April 21st and 22nd this year and again were the only ones in the manor. What a steel of a price for the Lewis Suite in celebration of our 20th wedding anniversary. The room was so comfortable and private with its seperate room with a tv that we both we able to enjoy ourselves to the fullest. We are looking to go back next year again with friends this time. I hope that Belhurst will spend the extra money that is needed to repair some much needed items on the exterior of the buidling so that it does not lose its charm. This is a piece of history that everyone should enjoy at some point. Plus you are in the heart of wine country. What more could anyone ask for? In addition, The Stonecutters Tavern at the Castle is a must. The food quality for the dollar is fantastic.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank weezydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2007

After reading the reviews for bellhurst(castle property) and white springs manor, we decided on White Springs. The room we chose and the one available at the time was the Living Room (we wanted teh Lewis Suite but it was booked, maybe next time and there WILL BE a next time!). We have to say the website view of the room does not do it justice, we was beautiful with the perfect lighting for romance. The jacuzzi was awesome with plenty of room for two. The fireplace was great, since it was December.
The staff was extremely helpful/friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent, we did not eat dinner at the castle, we ate at the Cobblestone (just a two minute drive from White Springs, was superb). Highly recommended, also the wine tasting/vineyards were better than expected, great fun, Will plan on going back.

  • Liked — Romance
  • Disliked — None
  • Tips/Secrets — Book Early! Wine tasting around Seneca and Cayuga Lakes. STay at both.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamandJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe County, N.Y.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2006

We stayed for an overnight in the Nicholas room, clean, private, very nice. Jacuzzi, gas fireplace, huge bed, ice machine in hallway a short walk away. Comfortable but a bit pricey but then we really enjoy staying in victorian styled rooms. You have to check in at Belhurst first, then drive a couple miles to the Manor house. Bedroom, bathroom, and a sitting room. We figure we'll go again and try other rooms soon

  • Liked — Surroundings and the well kept architecture
  • Disliked — Having to drive to get from the check in to the manor
  • Tips/Secrets — Just take your time and enjoy it
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jedediah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2004

I rented a beautiful room on the first floor or the White Springs Manor for my brother and his wife to spend thier honeymoon night together in.
The bed was large and very attractive. The room included a fireplace and a jacuzzi. They shared thier room with our family after the wedding was over for a small coffee and cake reception after our dinner was served at Bellhurst Castle. It was quiet and lovely at the same time. It was a bit pricey, but well worth it to see the look on thier faces when we got to the room. They are from Florida and have never had such a huge, victorian room before in thier lives.

Helpful?
11 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
1.8 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Springs Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Springs Manor

Property: White Springs Manor
Address: White Springs Lane, Geneva, NY 14456
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Springs Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Springs Manor Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing