We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Owner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I rented all of the cabins on this property for friends and family for my daughter's wedding weekend. We had been in contact with the owner many times by emails as well as in person regarding a BQ that we were having. I asked him if there were going to be any additional charges. He said no since it was not going to be large and we rented all the cabins. Two days prior he informed me of a site charge that he now wanted. I moved my event to another location. Every contact was rude, unpleasant and unprofessional. The morning after the wedding at 9:30 am I received a very nasty call because one car was parked in front of the wrong cabin .One guest came home after the wedding at 1:00 am and was unable to sleep in their rooms due to bees when they turned the lights on. OK it happens so they slept in another cabin instead of making a fuss. The yelling regarding that was unreal we had violated a code. Guess they should have woken them up at 1:00 am instead! We had to wake up the bride and groom to move a car. He had trivial complaints but most of all spoke over me on every call and just hung up the phone after his very nasty monolog. We would never return or deal with them again. Any large events beware.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
8  Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

The reviewer is quite correct, if I were rude in any way then it goes without saying that I should not be rude to any guest even if they did refuse to pay for the use of our site to hold a very large bbq which would have involved the parking of many cars. We already experienced these guests consisistantly parking on the grass lawn despite our request that you do not do so.

Then there is the cost of trash removal, clean up and from a guest demanding that we provide all of this for no additional payment as well as allowing additional guests to stay in our properties that had not been included in the origibnal occupancy or paid for. My apologies once again if I was rude in asking you not to do so!

I am sorry that you did not bring to my attention that there was a bees nest at one of the properties you were staying in. Of course, had you done so, I would have been able to take care of that simple problem for you but regretabbly I do not have a crystal ball.

You are quiote correct of of course that I did earlier inform you that you were welcome to use the walk out meeting rooms located under Conesus and Otisco log cabin which you were renting from us for up to 35 guests in each cabin FREE OF CHARGE during your stay with us and to hold a bbq at the property for this number of people. However, you subsequently wanted to hold a bbq here for over 100 people, erect a tent with table and chairs out on the lawn but then expected to be able to do so free of charge.

In this case, I am so pleased that you subsequently decided to hold your party elesewhere as we are running a business here at Cobtree and not I am afraid to say, a free for all.

As any reader of your review can see, there are two sides to every story! Moreover, the group involved here left all of the properties rented from us in a terrible mess which required exensive cleaning afterwards.

Fortunately we have so few guests from hell stay with us and once again I am truly sorry if my bluntness was construed as being rude to you in any shape or form.

We welcome large groups here at Cobtree providing they keep within the rules we set and that have to be agreed to. However, we do not accept that guests try to cheat us or to otherwise cause damage to our property, drive or park on our landscaped lawns or to otherwise take advantage of our kindeness and good nature..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We head north to the Finger Lakes region every winter for a girls getaway. Usually, we stay in a hotel near the lake. I stumbled across Cobtree when looking for somewhere to stay on Seneca Lake. What an amazing find! It was a surprise for my mother who was COMPLETELY stunned at how beautiful Hemlock Cabin was! We all were! The cabin itself was breathtaking. The view of the lake was beautiful, even in winter. Having a kitchen and not having to travel and spend money to eat out for every meal was priceless. The cabin is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need during your stay. Bring clothes and food and you're all set. A cabin set away from the busy world with all the amenities of home! We will definitely return SOON, tell our friends about it, and bring our four-legged friends next time! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We try our best to make sure that all of our accommodations are maintained in the best possible condition and cleanliness. We strive hard to take good care of our guests whilst staying with us here at Cobtree and look forward to welcoming you once again on a future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Just back from another great stay at Cobtree. We stayed in the Keuka Cottage. I can't say enough about these beautiful accommodations in the Finger Lakes! Spotlessly clean! Quiet! Extra comfortable beds! And dog friendly! Homes are well-equipped for cooking. Sooooooo relaxing without a care in the world. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This resort is perfectly situated for those who are interested in doing a Finger Lakes wine tour. We stayed for two nights and it was wonderful. Close to many wineries, and the owners were very friendly and helpful!

Excellent pricing in comparison to the hotels/motels in the region.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Enjoyed a beautiful weekend in the Fingar Lakes at Cobtree. We were seven women and the accomodations were perfect. Our hosts met our every need and gave us information as to "what to do". The cabin was very clean and we loved sitting on the front porch. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We are so happy that we chose to stay at Cobtree during our visit to Geneva and the finger lakes region. We travel with our dog so it was important for us to stay somewhere that she would be welcome. Our hosts Robert and Jane were absolutely wonderful, Robert gave us excellent tips on where to dine, hike and wine taste. The location was perfect, the house was very clean and the deck had a great grill which we used every night. We stayed in the Seneca house which has 3 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. It is a two story with the master bedroom downstairs and the other two bedrooms and bath upstairs which was perfect for our nephew since it provided privacy and the ability to stay up later than his "old" aunt and uncle without worrying about keeping us awake. The view was beautiful! There is a Wegman's grocery store a few miles away that was reasonably priced and had fresh produce and meat/seafood. There is also a bakery inside Wegman's where one morning after walking our dog along the waterfront, we picked up fresh pecan rolls and chocolate croissants. Our dog couldn't have been happier as there are walking trails right on the property for long dog walks as well as a perfect place in the backyard of the house to play frisbee. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsazsaDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

We too love having to stay with us guests that appreciate all the hard work that Jane and I do to try to make Cobtree the destination of choice and especially, to our canine loving guests many of whom over the years become our good friends just like Joanne and Jack from Delaware have!

We cannot always get it exactly right and we are after all only human when it comes to guest interaction as there is always a certain chemistry involved. Especially with those guests who from time to time do treat Jane and I so very badly. I am so happy that the interaction between us was a happy one and that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to being your hosts once again on your next visit to this beautiful region of the country.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our company rented 3 of the homes to lodge our sales and marketing team, who flew in to attend meetings at our Geneva facility. Everyone loved staying in the homes, and the opportunity to really kick back after a full day of meetings. We had the added bonus of all (local team members as well) being able to gather for an extended dinner and gab session on the porch of one of the homes, which provided a panoramic overlook of Seneca Lake and surrounding landscape.

Compared to hotel accommodations and dinners out, we saved some serious dollars, and sent our visitors home with a memory of a Finger Lakes getaway, rather than just one more business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobtree, Owner at Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

It was really great to have you and your group stay with us once again and to rent the three properties together. Having so many executives from so many States come to stay with us was a real treat and, we are very grateful that you decided to stay with us for a second time around too.

Jane and I work tirelessly to try to maintain our properties to a standard that lives up to our motto of "Home Away from Home" and it is not any easy thing to do with 64 acres of manicured lake view lands to take care of and which includes the 18 acres of woodlands with their woodland trails as well.

Well behaved guests such as your large group that not only respect our properties and take care of not causing any damage, who follow the few rules that we have and who treat Jane and with the due respect of business owners and fellow human beings, is always a pleasure to host and we sincerely thank you for this.

We look forward to your third visit to stay with us and don't forget, we do offer returning guest discounts as well as a free welcome gift as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
2.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
681 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Aurora Inn
The Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Yale Manor at Copper Beeches
3.3 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#6 of 11 in Geneva
277 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort

Address: 440 Armstrong Rd # 458, Geneva, NY 14456-9705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: £93 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cobtree Vacation Rental Resort in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. Cobtree offers ALL year round 3 Diamond AAA rating, air conditioned vacation rental home away from home. ALL ten of our deluxe cabins and cottages are located at the SAME site at Armstrong Road, Geneva, New York, at the north end of Seneca Lake. We are surrounded by farmland and woodlands overlooking the beautiful western shores of Seneca Lake with tranquil and breathtaking views of sunrise and sunset. Cobtree is about 5 miles south of the city of Geneva, with Watkins Glen International race track located just 25 miles south of Cobtree. The nearest marina and golf course is only 3 minutes’ drive down the road. Our homes vary from small /medium rustic cabins or brick built cottages to very large size cabins that can each sleep up to 12 people. All of them have fully equipped kitchen and are ideal for romantic getaway, family reunion, or guests attending weddings, wine tour, Musselman Triathlon, other sporting and events at the nearby Hobart and William Smith Colleges. Together they can accommodate up to 84 people. Four of our log cabins offer finished walk out basement leading out onto the manicured gardens. These basements are ideal for holding non-commercial small seminars and gatherings. On site there is a playground, basketball court, 4 open campfire sites and 20 acres of woodland walking trails accessible all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing