We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Log Cabin in Wine Country!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We have just returned from a short stay at Cobtree Vacation Homes in upstate New York. We wanted to do the Seneca Lake wine tour, and since we were sharing accomodations with another couple, we opted for a small vacation home instead of an inn or hotel. Cobtree offered brick homes and log cabins which had the option of renting on a per night basis rather than an entire week as other vacation homes in the Finger Lakes. We stayed in the Honeyoe Log Cabin (the only option available when we booked) which had 3 bedrooms, one bath with a shower, one half bath, and a kitchen/living room area. We also had a deck with table and chairs and a gas grill. The cabin even had wireless Internet service and central air! The site is lovely - homes built on local farmland with a view of the western side of Seneca Lake. The kitchen is extremely well-equipped with dishwasher, refrigerator, range, microwave and every appliance and utensil you would ever need. The area is quiet and close to the local wineries, Watkins Glen, and other attractions. We paid the summer clearance rate of only $200 per night with an additional $25 per person cost per night for the other couple. The $200 rate is based on 2 persons, which makes it nice if just a couple wants to stay -comparable cost to the higher end hotels and inns in the area, and you have a whole house! There are restaurants nearby as well as the cafes at the wineries. A local grocery store is only a few minutes away in Geneva. The other Finger Lakes are a short drive, and you are actually not far from Lake Ontario. We only had the opportunity to stay 2 nights because of our schedule and wish we could have had another day or two to explore the surrounding area. We did quite a bit of wine tasting! The wineries are gorgeous, fun, and very accomodating. Robert, the owner of Cobtree, lives right on the premises, so the homes are well-kept, safe, and guests are responsible. He is very friendly and anxious to make your stay memorable, and he went out of his way to help us. Booking online is very easy, and communication with the owner prior to arrival was excellent. We travel quite a bit, and we think that Cobtree is a great value for the money. With the economy being a bit tight these days, grab a couple of friends and head for the New York Wine Country, share the cost of a home or cabin, and you will no doubt have as great of a time as we did!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrsKPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2008

My family rented 3 of the 4 brick bottages for a family reunion in 2006. We had family members from California, Oregon, Washington and Minnesota in attendance. We could have not asked for a better place to meet. The accomodations were amazing, well stocked kitchens., comfortable beds and living rooms. Our tradition is for each individual family to cook one meal for the rest during the week, and it worked out so well. We were able to dine together each night, often outside with the great view of the lake. We were close enough to each other to enjoy the company, but yet retreat when we had enough "togetherness". We were close to amenities to satisfy the needs of children ages 3-17, as well as "shoppers". The guys went on a "camera safari" at Watkins Glen State Park. We were able to hire a local photographer, who arranged an amazing family photo on the campus of the college. We even rented a big screen and projected a "drive in movie" one night on the lawn. This was such a great location, it will be hard for the next reunion to top this!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pep1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

What a wonderful place! The accommodations were immmaculately clean, spacious, comfortable, and homey. The setting is so serene with the woods on one side and the lake on another.

Our hosts were so accomodating, friendly without being overbearing, welcoming, and gracious. We were so happy to be able to bring our beloved dog along as it wouldnt' have been the same without her.

The cottages include a private deck or patio with a BBQ grill and picnic table. The sunsets and sunrises are spectacular and it is just a short distance to get to so many fantastic tourist attractions.

Cobtree is a 'must do' for anyone visiting this area. It is so much more personal than a hotel which makes it more relaxing.

You won't regret it!

3  Thank margief60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
12
Reviewed 30 May 2006

My family has been to Cobtree twice in the last year. The "English" cottages are new - 2 story 3 bedroom brick homes with many amenities inc. linens/towels, well equiped kitchens, and some every day necessities to get you started unitl that first trip to the store. We have been to seven different locations in the past 7 years and by far I would rate Cobtree the highest. The owners have done a terrific job with the cottages and even had the foresight to pick a fabulous location in the Finger Lakes - near many wineries, several golf courses, some excellent restaurants and a State Park.

go to Cobtree for more info.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2005

When searching through the myriad of listings on the internet for vacation rental homes in New York State, it is difficult to know what properties will actually offer what they state on their listings or indeed, whether or not the property is going to offer value for money.

We recently stayed at Seneca Villa which is an English Style brick built cottage located at Cobtree in Geneva in the Finger Lakes of upstate New York. Seneca Cottage is one of 4 cottages that has been built in addition to the exisiting Farmhouse on this 66 acre site which is located on the brow of a hill looking over Seneca Lake and beyond.

Peacefull, tranquill and with breathtaking views over the lake and all around the property is definately its hallmark. We enjoyed waking up in the morning to see deer, wild turkeys, hawks, red cardinals and blue jays around the site and one early morning we walked through the trails in the woods which was full of wildlife.

Seneca Cottage is a very cozy 3 bedroom cottage which has its own deck and gas BBQ. We could not fault our accommodation or the hospitality of the owners of Cobtree who were so helpfull in directing us to the various places in the Finger Lakes which my family and I immensly enjoyed.

Whilst it is true that the property does not have its own lake access, we did not find this a problem as we rented a boat at the nearby Roy's Marina and also took our kids to the Seneca State Park just 4 miles away which has a sandy beach, life guards on duty and a water plume playground.

All in all, we had a great time and will definately return again, perhaps next time, for a family reunion by renting the cottages together!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 22 November 2004

My family and I had such a wonderful holiday staying at Cobtree last summer. There was so much to do around the Finger Lakes that we were never bored! Cobtree is a wonderful place to stay, it is so peaceful and the woods on the property were teaming with wildlife, Deer, Wild Turkey, Blue Jays and Red cardinals and we had many walks through the trails.

It is correct that the property does not have it's own lake access but Roys Marina is just a 15 minute walk or a 3 minute car drive and we hired a boat there and went out onto the lake. Also, Seneca State Park is just 5 miles away and they have an excellent beach with life guards on duty as well as a water park.

I learnt that the owners of Cobtree are now developing the site further by building some very pretty brick built cottages that each overlook Seneca Lake and they are also going to do some landscaping and expand the trails through the woods and build some camp fire areas which I think will be great during the summer months.

We are going back to Cobtree this Christmas and intend to learn to ski at the nearby Bristol Mountain which sounds a lot of fun too. I cannot wait!

The design of the cottages on the owners web site at -------------- are very quaint and like the cottages we have here in England where I now live.

I am certain that they will be furnished and equipped to a very high standard as the Cobtree Farmhouse is and that has everything that you can possibly want for a family holiday, is well equipped and very clean.

Yes, I would not hesitate to recommend Cobtree as a destination to stay at as our own stay there last summer certainly exceeded our family's expectations.

You never know what you will find on arrival at a property after booking off the internet but in this instance, we truly were not disappointed and had a great time. Well done to the owners of Cobtree who lived up to their advertising "The Finger Lakes Experience"

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2004

We loved it! The house is in a rural area with no traffic, surrounded by farmland and barns, with no neighboring houses. There are fields and pretty trees on the property. Yet, it is also very close to the town of Geneva (5 minutes) and very close to grocery stores and Wal Mart. You feel as if you are in the country, but have the conveniences of modern life close by.

The rooms are all very spacious. The dining room could easily accomodate 15 for dinner. The kitchen is entirely upgraded and has every appliance you could imagine, and very nice cookware. The house is spotless, upgraded and attractive. There is a large island in the kitchen, with barstools/seating for 6.

There is one "older" room in the house, but even that room (the family/tv room) is furnished comfortably and cleanly.

The view of the lake is very pretty. Be aware, though, that you cannot walk to the lake or on any nearby trails.

All in all, a very pretty property, wonderfully furnished, large, and well taken care of. Highly recommended, especially for the price! Our group of 2 families with small children loved it.

Also, if you are not from a "farm" area, be sure to check out Abbey Farms. The tour is very hands-on and personal. Our kids loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
642 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#6 of 11 in Geneva
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Resort

Address: 440 - 458 Armstrong Rd, Geneva, NY 14456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: £92 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cobtree Vacation Rental Resort in the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. Cobtree offers ALL year round 3 Diamond AAA rating, air conditioned vacation rental home away from home. ALL ten of our deluxe cabins and cottages are located at the SAME site at Armstrong Road, Geneva, New York, at the north end of Seneca Lake. We are surrounded by farmland and woodlands overlooking the beautiful western shores of Seneca Lake with tranquil and breathtaking views of sunrise and sunset. Cobtree is about 5 miles south of the city of Geneva, with Watkins Glen International race track located just 25 miles south of Cobtree. The nearest marina and golf course is only 3 minutes’ drive down the road. Our homes vary from small /medium rustic cabins or brick built cottages to very large size cabins that can each sleep up to 12 people. All of them have fully equipped kitchen and are ideal for romantic getaway, family reunion, or guests attending weddings, wine tour, Musselman Triathlon, other sporting and events at the nearby Hobart and William Smith Colleges. Together they can accommodate up to 84 people. Four of our log cabins offer finished walk out basement leading out onto the manicured gardens. These basements are ideal for holding non-commercial small seminars and gatherings. On site there is a playground, basketball court, 4 open campfire sites and 20 acres of woodland walking trails accessible all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cobtree Vacation Rental Homes Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing