We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Motel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a budget motel and you get what you pay for. The motel is aged and the property is somewhat maintained. We stayed 2 nights in July 2014. The room was clean but there were some tiny pesky flies in the bathroom. The King bed had a lumpy mattress. The hotel was not overly busy but in a good location. The breakfast was complimentary and I did enjoy the waffle machine to make my own waffles. The orange juice was good but the coffee was weak. The motel was within 1 block of Tim Hortons and Dunkin Donuts. I thought it was quite nice that they did offer a breakfast since other hotels were more expensive and didn't offer one. For travellers on a budget this motel may appeal to you but it's just ok and not memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    13
    20
    12
    77
See reviews for
32
37
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were in town from out of state for a relatives wedding. Hotels were booked everywhere, so we were limited to what was available. We saw the other reviews, but decided to give this hotel a shot. This hotel was VERY outdated and in need of repairs/upgrades. Our room was musty and almost had a pool smell to it. The carpet looked clean. The bathroom was awful. The tub leaked and forced us to close the bathroom door at night so we could not hear it. There was no outlet plug in the bathroom for our hairdryer. The windowsill in the bathroom also looked like it had not been wiped clean in many months as it was covered in dirt and dead bugs. The whole complex is in need of a professional paint job. They did have some outdoor picnic tables and swing to sit on, but the grass around it was VERY long and full of clover which meant lots of bees were around making it impossible to enjoy those features. (We tried) We also passed on the very limited breakfast option. I understand this is not a well-known chain, but we were disappointed in the offerings. We did find a wonderful breakfast joint very close in the downtown area that had a GREAT breakfast at a great price. It was downtown a few blocks away. I will say however that this hotel was very quite at night which was nice, and the staff that greeted us was nice and helpful. However, we probably would not stay here again, or recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fourboys66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I should have paid heed to the many bad reviews. I paid more than $100 for a room at "Americas Best" that felt like a $59 flophouse. The room - stocked with cheap furniture- smelled moldy. The wooden railings to leading to the second floor had jagged edges that looked ready to break. The bathroom had been recently cleaned and the bed sheets made -but there was a lingering dinginess that urged me to get out of the room as soon as possible. The view from the room, beyond the cheap resin balcony chair, was a weed-covered hill. My son and I left early to the roaring sound of other guests revving up their motorcycles. The only redeeming factor was that the staff tried to be welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Drive to another town if necessary. Avoid this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to save money by going here but it was completely NOT worth it. The first room stank of old cigarette smoke, we asked to move, they did allow to us to move but the second room was only marginly better but still pretty much horrible. The room was dirty, the floor damp, and the sheets dirty and hairy. Do not ignore the bad ratings, just avoid!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Elspeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

As motels go in the USA this is quiet ok considering the price. It is clean and quiet and a good deal compared to what the prices in the Geneva area are. Close to shopping and many fast-food restuarants. 5 minutes drive to the lake.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor even if you have to carry suitcases. Avoid rooms in the building closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryBarry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had a reservation for one room one night in June 2014. When we arrived, there was no record of our reservation in the hotel's computer. I showed the desk employee my confirmation email, and was told that some reservations had been lost in a computer glitch, but they thought all of them had been recovered (apparently not). The room we had reserved was unavailable, but the hotel manager took us over to the "apartment", which had three bedrooms (2 queen, 1 king), and a bathroom. The place was cooking at about 85 degrees (the manager ran around turning on all of the 1970s-era wall-unit air conditioners), the finishes were not in good shape (broken moulding, missing grout and caulk in the shower, ugly spray foam around the air conditioners, etc.). Most importantly, in two of the three beds the sheets had stains and there were bugs in the bed - not bed bugs, but bigger bugs, some with wings, that you might expect to see while camping or taking a hike in the woods, not in a hotel bed. There was also a cigarette burn hole in one of the comforters and candy wrappers under one of the beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked at the last minute and this was the only place we could find a room. Our reservation stated we had a balcony....there are no balconys. The couple who greeted us were not very friendly....this should have been an inclination of what to expect. The hallways have a horrible odor....the rooms have a slight more pleasant smell. The continental breakfast is never refreshed once put out. There is warm milk for the cereal and the cream cheese for the one bagel there looked well used. Not a pleasant stay at all. The bed is made everyday but that is as far as the cleaning went.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sp04rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
12.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 473 Hamilton St, Routes 5 and 20, Geneva, NY 14456-3049 (Formerly Chanticleer Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Geneva
Americas Best Value Inn Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing