We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Inn Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Geneva
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a 10 minute walk from Lake Seneca. Just that alone, makes it great. We stayed overnight and were just passing through. I didn't realize it was so close to the water. We had a few walks along the path that circles the lake. It's a beautiful place.
Our hotel room was clean and quiet. The staff was pleasant. The breakfast was standard Hampton Inn fare - it's not the Ritz but it came with the price of the room and was fine for us. The staff was quick to respond when the breakfast buffet ran out of something.
For a gorgeous, scenic drive, get on Route 14 S and just keep driving. SO beautiful. If you're an early bird, do it at sunrise, it will amaze you!
Recommended!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank STL_Teacher_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    184
    85
    20
    8
See reviews for
154
216
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were overly pleased with our stay. The hotel is in walking distance to almost everything in Geneva proper. The suite felt like home. It was quiet and bright. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and attentive to our needs. There is a terrific little wine store and cocktail place right in front. It's a converted gas station and very nice for sitting outside with a cocktail or purchasing a bottle of wine. Seneca Lake is right across the street and it has beautiful walking areas. We will definitely stay at this Hampton again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the beautiful Finger Lakes Region. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Lovely hotel with super friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast was plentiful, great coffee kiosk. Rooms were clean and large, but a tad dated. Would definitely stay again if we go back to this area. Central location to get around to various areas in the Finger Lakes district. Lovely lake view behind hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I have shared your comments with our entire team. Be sure to visit with us again when in the Finger Lakes Region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for two nights. Our room (318) was clean and spacious, with views of Seneca Lake (across the train tracks from the hotel). The queen bed was not comfortable, however; it sagged in the center, making it difficult for my husband and I to share it comfortably. My daughter slept on the sofa bed, which had an equally poor mattress, but this one had springs that protruded. The hotel should definitely invest in better mattresses. We also found the Internet connection in our room to be very poor.

The staff member at the main desk, when we checked in, was abrupt and not well trained. A little more polish and professionalism would have been appreciated. Breakfast was adequate, but the "hot" items - scrambled eggs, omelets, sausages - were a bit questionable. Still, it was helpful to have breakfast items available as we began our day's activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Geneva hotel deleted the reservation I had made one month in advance. So instead of staying there for three nights, I could only be there for 2 and had to check out the morning of my sister's wedding. As a result, I had to pay $200 for one night at a nearby hotel. To top things off, the night we arrived, we arrived to a bathroom that stunk of mildew. We arrived at 9 pm after a 10 hour car drive, and I had to bathe my kids so they could sleep, so I made them stand while I bathed them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Overall, a clean and decent hotel. There as a bit a construction in the lobby, but it was not a big deal. The location is good, but i did notice some train tracks very close to the hotel. I will say that I stayed there for two days and did not hear a train. The breakfast was also good. My only criticism is the poor mattresses.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Location is fine, near lake Senaca. But for the rest.... Beds in the double queen were not that comfortable. There was a weird smell in the room, like lots a humidity and mold. We ask to be transfer. They agreeded but the next one was not much better. Trains are passing right behind the hotel at night, so it becomes very noisy. The bathroom was not that clean. And the breakfast is ordinary and breakfast area is very small. For the price they are asking, it's way too expensive. And on top, renovations were going on, so it was not that pleasant. Would not go back

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room with a lake view because the noise in on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Geneva, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were not comfortable during your stay. We will use your comments as we constantly evolve our property and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Geneva

Property: Hampton Inn Geneva
Address: 43 Lake St, Geneva, NY 14456-2414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Geneva
#5 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Geneva's newest hotel. Located in the heart of the newly rejuvinated City of Geneva on Seneca Lake. Enjoy 55 clean and comfortable guestrooms with excellent service. Closely located to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, wineries, museums and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Geneva Hotel Geneva
Geneva Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing