We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret!”
Review of Clark's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clark's Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best kept secret!”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We spent two nights at Clark's Motel in Geneva on a shopping trip to the Waterloo outlets in New York State. We we prepared for a simple room, which is what we got. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night. The room was really clean, very large (much bigger than the room we had the previous night at the Quality Inn in Syracuse) and the beds were very comfortable. It is a good 15 minute drive from the Waterloo Outlets, but if you are looking to save money, this is the place. All that was needed was a fridge to make it the perfect room. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottawaheather35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motown 'burbs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I would agree with the previous reviews.

I booked 2 rooms at Clark's via phone about 3 weeks before arriving. We got Rooms 8 (2 doubles) and 9 (1 king).

Room 9 was quite large. Yes, it had shag carpet, older but well-maintained furniture, and a small separate sitting area with an older console TV and small sofa ... but, the room smelled frest and was SPOTLESS (notwithstanding a few plaster patches on the ceiling) , and the king bed was VERY comfortable.

Room 8 was smaller, but with indoor-outdoor carpet instead of shag. It had a smaller TV on the dresser. My sis remarked that the fixtures in the bathroom weren't just clean, they were polished. No complaints from Mom or Sis about Room 8.

You'll find a large Tops supermarket diagonally across the intersection from Clark's; we grabbed breakfast goodies there and ate in our rooms before we hit the road.

Proprietors are personable, and didn't squawk when we checked-in around 10:45 PM after a long day's drive.

The facility is obviously old, but the owners go out of their way to maintain it well.

Bottom line: Clark's was just what we needed ... a clean, comfortable, and reasonably-priced room for our stop between Cape Cod and Detroit. If I don't have enough HHonors points saved up by next fall to get a free night at the Hampton Inn, I'd gladly return to Clark's.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We had just one night here en route to Niagara, but could happily have stayed longer. The room was a good size (2 adults, 2 teenagers), clean, comfy and had everything we needed. There's no restaurant attached, but several close by. For breakfast they recommened Friendly's, a mile down the road, which was great - Brits beware the out-sized pancakes though!!
If you're trying to book in advance, be advised that they are closed throughout the winter months.

  • Liked — easy to find
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrysgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Stayed during a finger lakes getaway. TripAdvisor recommended. Reviews were spot on. Great price, clean, comfortable, and conveniently located.

  • Liked — cleanliness, price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAfamily66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2007

I recently attended a wedding in Geneva and was looking for a place to crash before returning to Albany next am. Clark's caught my attention on-line because of the very positive reviews on this website - and those views turned out to be spot on. So thanks to those of you who wrote a review. I was pleased that the room had no aroma of smokers, and that it was clean. No amenities, but I was not hanging out in Geneva, just needed a decent, clean, economical place to sleep. Centrally located and convenient to the broader area.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank phyloalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Nice plain clean motel on the main road. Unfortunately, no swimming pool and no walkable coffee shop or food because it's on a fastfood/chain store strip. Whatever you do, do NOT go to the Tim Horton's up the road. What a nightmare - it's staffed with obese weebles who are plugged into a system and can't get anything done right nor fast.

Anyway, one plus to the motel is that there is a liquor store just in the parking lot (not a sleazy scary one or anything) . Minus - they don't carry water or soft drinks (which may be a legal issue).

  • Liked — Independent motel.
  • Disliked — Location on the stripmall road.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Olive_Twist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinking Spring, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Hotel has 10 rooms and looks like the owners house is connected to the office. The rooms/beds/bathroom were very clean. There is a gazebo with chairs and table outside the motel that you can sit at. The motel is very quiet and shaded. There is no internet or phone in the room like at the chain hotels but the price was great so that made up for it. There is a grocery store across the street and many fast food restaurants and a Wegmans within 2 minutes drive.

  • Liked — great price
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasPeteTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#2 of 11 in Geneva
542 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clark's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark's Motel

Property: Clark's Motel
Address: 824 Canandaigua Rd, Geneva, NY 14456-2016
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Clark`s Hotel Geneva
Clarks Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing