We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise on the Lake Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Geneva B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were looking for something different when we spent a week traveling N.Y. We found the Paradise website while exploring options and were able to make a reservation easily. The location is "off the beaten path" but was worth finding. Gary greeted us and immediately made us feel at home. He provided good information for finding dinner the night we stayed. After the meal, we came back to sit on the deck, feel the breeze off the lake and watch a wonderful sunset. The room was neat, the bed very comfortable. Another couple was there that evening, but everything was so peaceful, we didn't realize it until the next morning.
Breakfast was great; pancakes, fruit, locally made sausage. We were able to eat on the deck.
Gary was recovering from knee surgery; I'm still recovering from knee replacement. Both of us had to deal with the stairs to the rooms, but again, it was worth the effort.
We only spent one night. A suggestion to anyone spending time in the Seneca Lake area would be to at least spend 2; arrive & spend the night, next day tour the region, return to Paradise for the second night. The more time, the better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tourista50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Paradise on the Lake Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We can only echo the great comments provided in the previous review by OntheLake63 (25 June 2013) - this is a truly wonderful place to stay and we very much enjoyed our visit there. So much to see and do in the area, as well.

We are giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the tiny bathroom for Room 4 - a 2 foot by 2 foot shower without a tub just doesn't cut it for a place like this. Other than that, though, everything was excellent.

Room Tip: If a nice bathroom is not a priority, ask for room 4 to get a little more room with a separate seati...
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KingstonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent four weeknights here and were very comfortable and well cared for. Gary, the owner, is just the nicest guy and while his manager was away, he handled everything on his own just fine. Breakfasts were tasty. We had fruit and peach bread or a muffin each morning, then eggs or stuffed French toast all prepared on the spot. I'm a bit of a coffee snob so I was a bit disappointed to get what I think was Folger's but it was ready early and he kept it coming. Plus, he had a nice selection of teas.

Gary is pretty laid-back -- not one of those B&B proprietors who needs to know precisely when you expect to eat. However, we were the only guests for three of the nights so I suppose that made it easier for him.

The greatest asset of this B&B is its location overlooking Seneca Lake. The views from the deck and yard are fantastic and we enjoyed beautiful sunsets each evening. And don't be dismayed when you cross the railroad tracks right near the B&B. Gary said there are rarely any trains on his side of the lake and that was true while we were there. On the other hand, the sound of train whistles from across the lake was very musical. I wouldn't have minded a train or two on our side.

We stayed in the largest of the guestrooms, which meant we had a "bonus room" on the lakefront side with a couch and table with two chairs. We didn't make much use of either except to spread out a little. There are no closets in any of the guest rooms but a clothes rack is provided.

The one drawback was the bathroom -- it's just too small. The shower stall is the size of a phone booth and it's enclosed by a curtain, which makes it tricky to get into without spraying water outside. But having stayed on a sailboat several times, I've dealt with small showers. Just be forewarned if a spa-like bath is your priority.

As for general location, this B&B is ideal. It's close to Seneca Falls with all its women's history; a bazillion wineries; the Seneca-Cayuga Canal; the artisan cheese trail; Watkins Glen and its beautiful gorge; and many more attractions.

Room Tip: Room #4 is most spacious and has a private bath. However, the shower is tiny and the bathroom itself...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OntheLake63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My fiance and I rarely get away, but we have been to this B&B twice and plan on returning for our next vacation. This is a wonderful place, the host goes out of his way to make sure your stay is everything you could hope for and beyond. Both times we have gone he has given us wonderful restaurant recommendations and suggestions for places to go and what to make sure we see. The deck has an amazing view of the lake and it is so peaceful. The breakfast is amazing. I'm usually a very picky eater, but I have enjoyed everything. The hosts are great to talk to and are also very conscious of keeping the experience private. I have been to some B&Bs where this hasn't been the case. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing weekend. It is right next to Zugibe's and almost across the street from 3 Brothers and a great location for wine tours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This was our second time staying at Paradise on the Lake and we loved it even more than the first time! The location is perfect! You can easily access the town of Geneva, all wineries and breweries on both Seneca and Cayuga Lakes and plenty of parks for hiking or just relaxing.

As if the location wasn't great enough, the view from the b&b is breathtaking enough where you could sit and enjoy it for hours!

The owner, Garey, is such an amazing host! He makes you feel like you're family and treats you so well! We love it here so much and my husband and I are already planning our next trip and can't wait to stay here again! This is the best place to stay if you're in the Finger Lakes area!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. The B & B is in a lovely, quiet location with decks and a balcony for you to enjoy looking at the lake. Our room was quite comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. We had great scones and muffins each day along with a full breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nancdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The location of this B&B is perfect! It has great views of the lake from the garden and both of the huge decks. The decks have plenty of seating to read a book, enjoy a drink or watch the sunset. Gary is a great host and cook! Our breakfasts were very fulling and had a wonderful presentation. Coffee was on very early before breakfast and was very good! We stayed in Room #1 which was quite nice. They provided nice terry cloth robes, wine and juice glasses in the room. This room has a huge bathroom across the hall a bit with a whirlpool tub and shower. The only problem with that was the bathroom did not have air conditioning. This was only a small problem since the weather was not too hot. But on the day we arrived, the bathroom would have been too hot to take a shower and not end up sweating as you dried your hair or would put on makeup afterwards. We saw fox and deer as we approached the B&B two different times. Restaurants and wineries are very close. It would be nice if the B&B had access to the water for swimming. We loved this place and we would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms have access to the top deck. Any of the rooms would be good and have views of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
2.1 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
577 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise on the Lake Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise on the Lake Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4136 High Banks, Geneva, NY 14456-9255
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your fast paced, hectic world and into the serene, peaceful world of Paradise on the Lake Bed and Breakfast. You can enjoy the quiet beauty and restful ambiance of Seneca Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise On The Lake b&b
Paradise On The Lake Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing