We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little place”

The Red Dove Tavern
Ranked #6 of 89 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent little place”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

On a Saturday afternoon, around 1:30pm, we walked into the Red Dove Tavern - and there was one table with 4 people. Trip Advisor had rated this the #2 in the area (#1 is only open for dinner), so we thought we'd give it a try. With the tin ceiling, it had a bit of charm - but the menu was unique. We ordered the bagel with avocado, brie and smoked salmon - yummy combination, a vegetarian quesad. which was filled with veggies, a portabella mushroom sandwich, and the arugala salad - delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. The staff was terrific!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank aspir4more8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    83
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
99 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Eh....just ok”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My daughter and I ate the other night and just had mains and a dessert. She had the duck which she liked very much. I had the sockeye salmon which I had asked to have cooked medium. The "waitress", who was really the hostess, acted like she had never heard anyone ask for medium salmon, but was very nice and said she would make sure and tell the chef. When it came it was well done and not that great. Sides were interesting. Summer squash puree and we both had fresh greens that were a little oily. For dessert my daughter got the Pot de Creme which was very nice.

I'll agree with another reviewer that the place is very dated. My chair cushion sunk in the middle and was hard to sit in, walls are horrendous. I won't go back as there are other places nearby that are better.

The hostess/waitress was VERY nice. They were totally understaffed in the front of the house that night and could have used another server.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbrownhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful food in a comfortable cool setting.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A nice find in the finger lakes. Great lamb chops. Interesting sides of garlicky kale and a delicious spinach and bean puree. The only fly in the ointment was cold coffee. Very nice and different cocktails. The waitress had graduated from culinary school, but it was one of her first nights waiting tables. She did a good job and was very personable. I would recommend this for an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccamerondesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amherst, ny
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stopped in not expecting much, but ended up having a great night out. Lively and friendly, just sat at the bar for a drink. Great professional bar tender, he made a great margarita from scratch. Interesting beers on tap. Decided to try an assortment of oysters, really fresh and well presented. We then had some very innovated main dishes. All the food was prepared perfectly, great service, a real surpass in an unassuming setting. Great rock songs as a background.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmherstNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went Twice in Two Days”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place has a nice eclectic beer selection, interesting food choices (including $1 oysters on some nights), and really hard working staff that hustle and are attentive. This place is well run and has a nice buzz. Locals obviously love this place. We "went local" by going there both nights of our two day visit it was so good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Dove Tavern also viewed

Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Red Dove Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing