We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming cozy experience”
Review of Geneva on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Geneva on the Lake
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A charming cozy experience”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This Inn is a reminder of days gone by. The rooms were comfortable and clean.The candlelight dinners were prepared and presented beautifully it was a nice touch with piano music in the background The full breakfast in the morning was outstanding The well manicured grounds at this property along with the view of Seneca lake was worth the stay.The only negative is the Inn is very pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    75
    26
    20
    17
See reviews for
35
157
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The end is a reminder of days gone bye The candlelit dinners each The candlelight dinner we had was prepared and presented beautifully it was a nice touch with piano music in the background The full breakfast in the morning were outstanding The well manicured grounds at this property along with the view of Seneca lake we're very pretty

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place was dreamy. We had a studio room on the 3rd floor overlooking the beautiful gardens and pool. I quickly settled in my room and poured myself a glass of wine that was in the refrigerator already chilled for our arrival. I then walked the grounds with my wine in hand and wished it were warm enough to sit by the enormous pool. The dining room had a pianist nightly and a scrumptious breakfast was served in the morning. This was the perfect ending to our vacation in the Finger Lakes region.

Room Tip: Any room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7wonderstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our third trip to New York's Finger Lake region and "Geneva-on-the-Lake. Entering the property we felt transported back in time to Renaissance Italy. The layout of the gardens, though smaller in size, with Seneca Lake in the background, is also reminiscent of the gardens at Middleton Plantation in South Carolina. It's a sight well worth waking up to though not all rooms have this superb view.

Dinner is a real treat. Filet Mignon and lobster tails are standard fare. Service is friendly and attentive. The Renaissance atmosphere is tempered (modified or supplemented depending on your point of view) by American classics performed on the piano and/or harp.

A word of advice, especially if you are past your prime. Go for an early dinner. It takes time to digest that four course meal

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeSuperior72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massena, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is an amazing beautiful property on Seneca Lake. The outdoor huge pool is wonderful and the landscapping is perfect. The room I stayed in, however had something to be desired in the effectiveness of the air conditioning. A bit overpriced, but I stayed off-season....end of May and felt I got a good deal.

Room Tip: Want a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianefranciamajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful grounds, even better under the moon light. Be sure to walk down to the lake, as you will find a lovely woods. Train tracks.......really let's the mind wander of what the history is....the stories the property would tell if it could talk! Even though there was a wedding on Saturday night, you never feel crowded or cramped. We will go back~oh, and the restaurant is also great! The week-end was pricey, but special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Geneva on the Lake's grounds are amazing when you are out on the terrace and overlook the pool and Seneca Lake. Its absolutely beautiful! The check in staff was very friendly and accomodating. They let us do an early check in which was very helpful. The bell hop was supper nice and very pleasant. The townhouse was really small but we made it work. I was a little suprised that is wasn't updated and fresh. It was kind of outdated, the fridge was quite old. Im just giving you the details, not trying to be picky here. It had a private patio that had a table and 4 chairs, nothing special but we did enjoy having it. We had a party of 9 of us for dinner at 8pm on a saturday that I do need to complain a little about. The service was VERY SLOW, thank god we were not in a hurry. It probably took about 30 minutes to get our drinks of wine and water. It took 60 minutes to get our appetizers! The food and dessert were slow coming as well. On a good note, the food was very good. Over all we had a great time, good experience and would go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmtyler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
613 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva on the Lake

Property: Geneva on the Lake
Address: 1001 Lochland Rd, Geneva, NY 14456-3297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Geneva on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Geneva on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva On The Lake Hotel Geneva
On The Lake Geneva
On The Lake Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing