We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful relaxing time , great food , beautiful scenery ,great getaway !”
Review of Geneva on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Geneva on the Lake
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We drove up from Buffalo along Route 20 with the top down admiring the rolling countyside and beautiful farms. It was a weekend getaway which we shared with another couple . The Inn had a package special which include dinner , brunch the following morning and a continental breakfast the morning of departure . The Inn looks out over Geneva Lake (absolutely beautiful ) .You can take a pontoon boat ride out and get some good info on the area from the captain who happens to be the general manager. Lots of things to fill a weekend, (wine tours , Watkins Glen , numerous festivals all summer long etc.) The food was very good for all meals as was the staff. We stayed in a townhouse which we shared with another couple , all the comforts of home are provided . If you're from Ontario and don't want to fight traffic on the 400's , I suggest you check this place out for at least a two night getaway . We felt it was very good value for the price . Great staff , good food , comfortable accommodations !

Room Tip: We stayed in a townhouse and never got to see any of the hotel rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Redvet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Geneva on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. At first when I saw my room I was disappointed, 1st floor right near the lobby but my fears quickly disappeared when I entered my room. It was perfect, a small apartment for the two of us. The furnishings were beautiful and the high ceilings gave it an even more spacious feel. The kitchen was a bit dated but I wasn't expecting to cook. The setting is romantic and the grounds are drop dead gorgeous. We were offered a complimentary boat ride and it was just what we needed after a long drive. Dinner was excellent- from the asparagus soup to their famous cheesecake. We had a great stay and would absolutely return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Geneva on the Lake is a luxury hotel which provides a great base for taking in New York's premier wine region. However, if you going to stay at any luxury hotel—and at this hotel in particular-- you should take advantage of its offerings. On the grounds there are places to read, sip wine, and watch Lake Seneca. There are numerous statues spread across its ten acres; a grouping of an angel, the Virgin Mary, Christ on the Cross, Mary Magdalene, and the Pieta is particularly moving

Visiting the resort is similar to taking a short trip to Europe—without the jet lag. The original structure is a copy of an elegant Italian villa. Formal English Gardens stretch from the main building towards Lake Seneca. A covered pergola on the patio provides an ideal setting for gentrified outdoor dining The individual rooms are decorated with first class Stickley furniture (manufactured in New York.) Our room, E3C, had a full kitchen, living area, bedroom, bath with a Jacuzzi and a loft. Its space and the views of the gardens made us feel regal during the three days of our visit.

The hotel has courteous, friendly and helpful staff who take pride in serving you well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHelenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a cycling group. We had a townhouse which was dirty, shabby and the bedrooms were so tiny the double bed barely fit. We had to pile things in the closet to move around. The culinary dinner was a joke....$75.00 for terrible food...prayers before we could eat, and a bunch of inane speeches about the food. Then to top it off we had to sit through an auction to benefit them! For half the price we went to a fabulous restaurant down the road three miles the next night. The breakfast took 50 minutes to prepare and the only good thing about the place is the friendly young kids working there. The view is nice but the bricks and mortar are dated, ugly and not close to being worth the price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. The lake is huge.... Must be something better.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a 2 night holiday we took to Geneva on the Lake. The place is nice, well kept. The first thing I did notice when walking up the stairs to the 3rd floor was that the carpet was dirty...stained. This wasn't a great first impression! Our unit, a 2 bedroom suite, was very roomy and clean. The sheets were pretty thin, kind of threadbare actually! I was surprised at that. We ate there the first night and meal was excellent and we were able to eat outside which was a bonus! Breakfasts both days were good. We were able to sit at the very large pool but it was too cool to swim. I noticed they did have lots of towels there and a cooler with water bottles. We took the pontoon boat ride but it started to rain and we had to come back....John, who took us, was an awesome guy....likely my favourite person we met there! The grounds are well kept around here...we saw the bikes but didn't use them....I think this was an awesome idea. If you like old....antique this is a great place.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 3rd floor.....better like climbing stairs cause there are lots! Our rooms wer...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Esther F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch on a very rainy day so I didn't have the opportunity to walk the grounds. Food was excellent .Service was good but not what I would expect.Am definitely going to return for dinner on a better day!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank franksatthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were in Geneva, NY, for a family wedding, and we splurged to get a room at a decent small inn on the banks of Seneca Lake. The Ramada might have more rooms and a newer physical plant, but this place has gone through a few iterations on the way towards becoming a hotel -- the fingerprints of its former life as a monastery are evident, even though the theming is more Tuscan at the moment. The room was compact, enough for two people comfortably, with a recessed murphy bed in the wall, a nice throwback to a bygone age. The water pressure was great, as was the kitchenette and full refrigerator. But seriously, who's going to stay in the room with the mighty Seneca Lake as a backdrop? Walk over the outdoor dining patio for breakfast or dinner, or tour the grounds for little sporting stations (i.e. badminton, horse shoes, etc.). There's a comped 4 p.m. pontoon boat ride on the lake, which we didn't take advantage of, but we did spend some time on the dock watching the ripples made by landing waterfowl. This was a special place.

Room Tip: Parking is at a premium, so plan for that.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BillScurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva on the Lake

Address: 1001 Lochland Rd, Geneva, NY 14456-3297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £147 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Geneva on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Geneva on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva On The Lake Hotel Geneva
On The Lake Geneva
On The Lake Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing