We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to Get Organized”
Review of Geneva on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Geneva on the Lake
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Time to Get Organized”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a pricey place but it was a special trip. While the accomodations were fine, the organization leaves a bit to be desired. Our rooms were not ready when we went to check in; they were most apologetic and offered us full breakfasts as an apology. The cleaning was a bit rushed, I found hair on my bathroom door not MY color. The rooms are nice, although my parents' "laveview" was tiny glimpses through gthe trees. Breakfast, however, was again incredibly unorganized and we had to rush to get to our next stop.

However, the grounds are gorgeous, a lovely swimming pool and the food was quite good. Still for the price one would hope for better organization.

Room Tip: Lakeside is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 756Annie756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    74
    26
    20
    17
See reviews for
35
154
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family recently stayed here and it was wonderful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, but the grounds and the activities are what sets this resort apart. The pool secluded pool is huge and overlooks the lake. They have bocce ball courts, croquet, badminton, paddle boats, canoes, kayaks, pontoon rides, bicycles, etc. They also provided a wonderful wine and cheese sampling on Friday evening. We will be back again when we need a nice retreat. The only partial knock I can give is that it is pricey, but as they say, " you get what you pay for."

Can't wait to go back. Maybe next time without the kids. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in historical resort earlier in the summer in another part of NYS. We LOVE NY! ;0) So we decided we needed one more escape for the long winter which will come upon us sooner than later...THIS place checked off all the requirements on our list, although it was a bit expensive for us in less "executive incomes", which we believe many of the other guests were...

We wanted the least expensive studio with murphy bed, but alas, 'someone else' lol, already scored THAT one! So we got the next least expensive room...or should I say ROOMS! We had a marvelous suite of rooms, good sized living room, galley kitchen, and decent sized bedroom. Everything was clean, clean, clean. For the price (and maybe it was all worth it in the end with many of the amenities that you pay for elsewhere), we received a bottle of Finger Lakes wine (a new vineyard we weren't familiar with to try), flowers on the coffee table (not a massive arrangement, but real!), a t.v. that actually worked...with many choices of cable (50 channels?), as well as a dvd which we could use. Of course, who wants to remain in their room, no matter how lovely, when you have this glorious yard to 'experience?' My husband enjoys the sun, so he read in the partial shade by the pool, while I got the glories of the water (mid-week, almost no exuberant families).

The pool appears to be vintage to the golden-age estate (1910?), with lovely Italianate pillars that the artist Maxfield Parrish 'captured' in many of his illustrations in the same era. So if you are familiar with that artist, you can actually EXPERIENCE first-hand what he painted. In the setting sun, those historic accoutrements were lovely and surrounded the pool.
Although the pool didn't appear to be heated (it very well may be the original owner's structure), it retained much of the daytime sun's warmth, and was pleasant at 5 - 7 pm while we waited to dine in the hotel's restaurant. This intimate restaurant must surely have been the home's formal rooms (back in the day when this was a private home). Guests could also enjoy the summer night on the outside portico (patio?). Both came with elegant linen table cloths and silver place settings.

So much of the hotel is to praise, beginning with the management. Kind, efficient, and PLEASANT desk staff made registration not just efficient, but comfortable. Later, they were kind when we asked questions about the town, and local attractions. There was a 'pretty (as in tastefully decorated!),' small gift shoppe, well-stocked with local artwork, the requisite local post cards and books, and even an elegant grape seed oil to take home (after all this IS the center of the Finger Lakes Wine Country!).

Of interest in the lobby were the photos of past patrons such as (my favorite) Paul Newman...and future: Roseanne Cash (to arrive in a weeks' time). LOL, this SHOULD validate that you are getting the best Geneva has to offer!

Are there recommendations we'd make? Of course, we all have our personal preferences from other places we've stayed over the years. But Geneva on the Lake fills the bill in all the important ways: Clean, well-appointed, lovely well-maintained grounds (better than just mowed!), and mostly, provides an above expectation vacation experience for most people, we'd guess with the BEST sleeping experience we've had in a hotel anywhere (quiet, no doors slamming, no voices intruding (it IS a suite, smile), and clean fresh sheets on a very comfortable "at home" quality" bedroom suite.

Room Tip: IF you can't walk, don't ask for the third floor with view (this is a vintage home, and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Booklady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We drove up from Buffalo along Route 20 with the top down admiring the rolling countyside and beautiful farms. It was a weekend getaway which we shared with another couple . The Inn had a package special which include dinner , brunch the following morning and a continental breakfast the morning of departure . The Inn looks out over Geneva Lake (absolutely beautiful ) .You can take a pontoon boat ride out and get some good info on the area from the captain who happens to be the general manager. Lots of things to fill a weekend, (wine tours , Watkins Glen , numerous festivals all summer long etc.) The food was very good for all meals as was the staff. We stayed in a townhouse which we shared with another couple , all the comforts of home are provided . If you're from Ontario and don't want to fight traffic on the 400's , I suggest you check this place out for at least a two night getaway . We felt it was very good value for the price . Great staff , good food , comfortable accommodations !

Room Tip: We stayed in a townhouse and never got to see any of the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redvet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. At first when I saw my room I was disappointed, 1st floor right near the lobby but my fears quickly disappeared when I entered my room. It was perfect, a small apartment for the two of us. The furnishings were beautiful and the high ceilings gave it an even more spacious feel. The kitchen was a bit dated but I wasn't expecting to cook. The setting is romantic and the grounds are drop dead gorgeous. We were offered a complimentary boat ride and it was just what we needed after a long drive. Dinner was excellent- from the asparagus soup to their famous cheesecake. We had a great stay and would absolutely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Geneva on the Lake is a luxury hotel which provides a great base for taking in New York's premier wine region. However, if you going to stay at any luxury hotel—and at this hotel in particular-- you should take advantage of its offerings. On the grounds there are places to read, sip wine, and watch Lake Seneca. There are numerous statues spread across its ten acres; a grouping of an angel, the Virgin Mary, Christ on the Cross, Mary Magdalene, and the Pieta is particularly moving

Visiting the resort is similar to taking a short trip to Europe—without the jet lag. The original structure is a copy of an elegant Italian villa. Formal English Gardens stretch from the main building towards Lake Seneca. A covered pergola on the patio provides an ideal setting for gentrified outdoor dining The individual rooms are decorated with first class Stickley furniture (manufactured in New York.) Our room, E3C, had a full kitchen, living area, bedroom, bath with a Jacuzzi and a loft. Its space and the views of the gardens made us feel regal during the three days of our visit.

The hotel has courteous, friendly and helpful staff who take pride in serving you well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHelenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a cycling group. We had a townhouse which was dirty, shabby and the bedrooms were so tiny the double bed barely fit. We had to pile things in the closet to move around. The culinary dinner was a joke....$75.00 for terrible food...prayers before we could eat, and a bunch of inane speeches about the food. Then to top it off we had to sit through an auction to benefit them! For half the price we went to a fabulous restaurant down the road three miles the next night. The breakfast took 50 minutes to prepare and the only good thing about the place is the friendly young kids working there. The view is nice but the bricks and mortar are dated, ugly and not close to being worth the price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. The lake is huge.... Must be something better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
0.7 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels Geneva Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Geneva Finger Lakes
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Geneva
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Geneva
Hampton Inn Geneva
#3 of 11 in Geneva
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva on the Lake

Property: Geneva on the Lake
Address: 1001 Lochland Rd, Geneva, NY 14456-3297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Geneva on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Geneva on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva On The Lake Hotel Geneva
On The Lake Geneva
On The Lake Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing