We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt View Retreat with Patricia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Germantown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Mountain View Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Germantown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My trip to New York to attend a special event at the Omega Institute was fantastic because of being able to come back and stay at Patricia's B & B. I took a walk in the woods, relaxed in the hammock and a couple of days later experienced a magnificent lightning show from the big comfy bed in the deluxe suite. Patricia is highly entertaining and I enjoyed her company very much. She's also a great cook and knows all the great places to eat in the area! Like one other guest suggests - Patricia is reason enough to stay at A Mountain View Retreat!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Hi! Miss you! Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for A Mountain View Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

When I emailed to ask if there was room for three of us during on a Bard family weekend, the reply I received was "are you lucky!" Patricia Heller meant we were lucky that she had the rooms but actually we were just plain lucky.

The house does not look especially large or interesting (like Dr Who's Tardis) but once you step inside it's another story. This is a very comfortable place with a large sitting room, cozy corners and both a fireplace and wood burning stove. The bedrooms are spacious and decorated in old world opulence. The facilities are immaculate. Stressed and jetlagged from a London flight, I spent an afternoon reading on a rocking, leather comfy chair. We had our 16 year old son with us and were in a kind of family suite arrangement with two bedrooms and a shared bath in splendid isolation. Ideal!

Just as delightful was Patricia herself. She couldn't do enough for us yet never intruded. When we wanted to work or read by the fire she was invisible yet her warm welcome and interesting conversation made the place feel like home. She is an outstanding cook. Every breakfast was different and delicious and even our son had plenty to eat. She gave us tea and pastries when we arrived and sent us on our way with succulent pears. Dinner reservations were made for us and our pillows fluffed. She also saved us from potentially missing our flight back to London by alerting us to a coming snow storm. In short, Patricia Heller is an incredible host. She is justifiably proud of this wonderful retreat. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: They are all lovely and different.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49CarolG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Hello to my dear people from England. So enjoyed your visit! Thanks for the lovely reference. Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Patricia is amazing amazing amazing and her cozy impeccably furnished cottage overlooking the catskills is an incredible find.

My wife and I are city slickers from NY. We went to the Hudson Valley for a romantic weekend to celebrate our anniversary and to our delight, we were treated like royalty by the bed and breakfast's proprietor Patricia.

When we arrived Patricia had a bottle of champaign waiting for us. She was so incredibly thoughtful, constantly recommending restaurants, booking reservations for us and following through on every detail. She even told the restaurant about our anniversary and had them surprise us with a dessert.

The breakfasts were delicious. French toast with scones to die for (and I don't generally like sweets) and the best scramble eggs I've had in a long time.

But above all else, Paticia's warm, welcoming, infectious personality made our anniversary weekend unforgettable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avrilcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I was taking a conference at the Omega Center and the beautiful environment, delicious breakfast, impeccably decorated and clean and quiet room was such an amazing retreat to come back to. PLUS, Patricia, whose home it is, is simply one of the warmest, kindest, most fun and magically charming woman you could hope to meet. SHE is reason alone to stay. And the sunsets are fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

All that you have read in other reviews is true. The point is that over and above having a lovely place to stay with great breakfasts and comfortable beds, you will meet a lovely person who will treat you like family. I don't know what you will do if you want the distant treatment you would get at a chain motel - but you won't' get it here. We think you should come for several days, eat warm nutritious breakfasts, journey out into the incredibly abundant Hudson River Valley, eat at the Culinary Institute and Le Petit Bistro and Luna6 and have a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We agree with the other reviewers, Patricia's house is wonderful, clean, and a welcome getaway from the city for a weekend. We will definitely go back to Mountain View Retreat. The walking paths and secret gardens are delightful as is the hammock between two giant pine trees. Breakfasts were too big and too delicious, and the host of the house is a lovely and special person.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duffymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We were pampered and enterained by Patricia from the moment we arrived. Beautiful, comfortable room with extremely comfortable bed. Very quiet and peaceful. I was there with my daughter for an open house at Bard, so just stayed one night. I would definitely go back and hope to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlpklw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germantown
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
165 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
891 reviews
4.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
10.6 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
161 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Mountain View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Mountain View Retreat

Address: Address will be given upon reservation, Germantown, NY
Region: United States > New York > Germantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Germantown
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the serenity of the Catskill Mountains, the Hudson River and the magnificent Hudson Valley! A Mountain View Retreat is a lovely respite from daily life. Come enjoy 20 private wooded acres with views of the Catskill Mountainsat this former small hunting lodge renovated into an exclusive, posh retreat for the discriminating guest. (Bring good walking shoes to enjoy the many paths.)Definition of a B&B: A type of lodging that is smaller than a hotel and may be in a private residence licensed for guests. Bed & Breakfasts generally appeal to guests who desire a more personal interaction with their destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing