We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy, comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Germantown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Mountain View Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Germantown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Although it's a little tricky to find, the journey is well worth the effort. A Mountain View Retreat is a cozy B&B -- just 3 bedrooms arranged around a comfortable great room and kitchen/dining area. Our room -- the master -- was large, warm, very tastefully decorated. The attached BR was very well lit and, thankfully, had it's own temp control (important on a chilly morning). The bed was very, very comfortable and the linens were first-rate. But all that aside, the real gem of this place is the owner, Patricia Heller. She is extremely gracious, warm, friendly and an excellent cook! PH was eager to help with information about the surrounding area and very helpful with securing last minute dinner reservations on a very busy fall weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for the master suite.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Hi Texas! Wish you were still here...you are missed, it was a fun, special time. Thanks for the great review! Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for A Mountain View Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Patricia Heller was a wonderful host during the 4 days I stayed at her bed and breakfast. She was warm, cheerful, very helpful, informative and extremely accommodating. She happily made restaurant reservations on my behalf, suggestions regarding antique stores and provided me with interesting facts on the area. The breakfast she made was excellent and included fruit, eggs, toast, warm scones and coffee (she also offered to make me pancakes). The accommodations were also warm, spacious and comfortable, I really loved the house. (The water pressure was fantastic!)
But, the grounds (her B & B sits on 22 acres) were amazing..with beautiful pathways through the woods and secret resting/meditation spots that she created. I highly recommend her special home, the Mountain View Retreat.

Room Tip: Only 3 to choose from. I stayed in the king suite which is off the kitchen but set away from the oth...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marnim8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you M, I loved having you here...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My family were met at the front door by Patricia Heller, a host who brings charm and knowledge to her inn. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the Inn blended with the environment. There are places to walk while contemplating the beautiful environment and views of the mountains from restful areas she has created for her guests. Breakfast was creative and delicious. The attention to detail is clear.

After dinner, while our kids engaged in their electronics, my wife and I enjoyed wine and delightful conversation with Patricia Heller both inside and out.

Room Tip: Talk with the Inn keeper by phone prior to the trip so she might recommend
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks! I really enjoyed your visit, you have a beautiful family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My friend and I spent 2 nights -- I loved the decor! Now on a home and garden decorating spree . . . . Great hostess, great breakfast, especially the scones, and a warm and welcoming atmosphere throughout. This is recommended for anyone looking for something luxurious, different, artistic, and spiritually renewing. Our visit included playing with Patricia's karaoke machine, so our 2 night retreat provided belly-laughs to go with the relaxation!

Room Tip: I liked the back room, with in-room access to the bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thanks! We did have a great time and new singing stars are born!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Mountain View Retreat. Patricia, our hostess, was fantastic. We felt very much at home. The B&B is very secluded with walking trails, and a view of the Catskills. The breakfasts were excellent. Our room was roomy and very comfortable. We had a wonderful time. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroll D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thanks you lovely people you. Looking forward to you staying another 10 days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our family atttended our daughter's graduation weekend activities at Bard College and we stayed at a fabulous nearby B&B, Patiicia Heller's Mountain View Retreat. Everything about the b&b; sleeping accommodations, room appointments, common area for relaxation, sumptuous breakfasts with organic foods, delicious coffee and tea, inexhaustible orange juice, choice of french toast, sunflower seed bread, specialty herbed eggs, fresh fruit, you name it!

Patricia is a terrific hostess, capable of engaging in just about any conversational topic with interesting anecdotes from of her own personal experience. She is a woman of numerous talents including a published author on healing, a wonderful singer (she accompanied a guitar playing friend of ours. If you'd like time to yourself in the outdoors, the b&b has many well maintained scenic walking trails covering dozens of acres.

For meals other than breakfast (and fridge raiding) there are some very good nearby restaurants (a japanese one was a particular favorite for us). Patricia has an excellent housekeeper who keeps the b&b very clean and tidy. I have no hesitation in recommending Patricia's b&b as an excellent and relaxing place to stay in a beautiful semi rustic setting. If your plan on staying in Germantown, Rheinbeck, Redhook and the surronding environ, make the Mountain View Retreat your first choice!

David Jacobson

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Hi my new darling Alaska friends,

Thank you for the lovely reviews. You shouldn't have told about raiding the refrigerator, only you have ever been allowed! Hope all is going well and you are refreshed from the long trip home.

Love, Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Not only is this B&B beautifully furnished inside w/ art & elegant furniture, the extensive acreage provides hours of peaceful walking on wooded paths. This B&B is luxurious with comfortable beds and marvelous food served on formal settings designed to please the eye as well as the palate. The serenity of the B&B and its surrounding land make this a true retreat and the sense of being "at home" which Patricia Heller graciously extends make this a rejuvenating stay. Patricia is an entertaining & interesting host, not to mention a wonderful singer. If you happen to have a musical instrument with you see if you can persuade her to join in singing. We did and had a marvelous time of it!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Dena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germantown
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
165 reviews
4.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
168 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
10.6 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
160 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Mountain View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Mountain View Retreat

Address: Address will be given upon reservation, Germantown, NY
Region: United States > New York > Germantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Germantown
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the serenity of the Catskill Mountains, the Hudson River and the magnificent Hudson Valley! A Mountain View Retreat is a lovely respite from daily life. Come enjoy 20 private wooded acres with views of the Catskill Mountainsat this former small hunting lodge renovated into an exclusive, posh retreat for the discriminating guest. (Bring good walking shoes to enjoy the many paths.)Definition of a B&B: A type of lodging that is smaller than a hotel and may be in a private residence licensed for guests. Bed & Breakfasts generally appeal to guests who desire a more personal interaction with their destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing