We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected adventure...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Germantown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Mountain View Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Germantown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Wynnewood, PA
2 reviews
“An unexpected adventure...”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were heading up to Rhinebeck for a professional conference and having difficulty finding a place to stay. When the highly recommended hotel I called told me they had no vacancies, they gave me the good news- that we would be in for a treat if Mountain View Retreat had space. Within five minutes we had a complete change of plans and were headed up to Germantown. Patricia greeted us in the driveway and showed us around her house, which was as charming as it was comfy. She graciously offered us snacks, and made sure we had everything we needed in the way of convenience. She was charming, funny and attentive and made sure we were happy in every way possible. Her breakfasts are wonderful and so is her property - before leaving she took us on a hike, which was very zen. Mountain View is lovely!

Room Tip: I am counting the hike as a fitness center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranGWynnewood_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
You two were a pleasure too! Loved our art talks! So glad you had a great time, thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a fantastic stay. Patricia was the perfect hostess and entertainer. Her breakfasts were a delight to the palate. Knowing it was our anniversary she made two reservations at two of the most amazing dining establishments. One French, "Le Petit Bistro" and one Italian, "Mercado". Both were absolutely wonderful. So tasteful and inviting was her décor along with her capturing personality that it was difficult to depart. We hope to return again and again. Thank you for a relaxing and charming experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
So, I've got it in writing you are coming back again and again! Yay! Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Owner Patricia Heller has created a visual wonderland with her uncanny knack for upscale decorating. She combines elegance and whimsy in the most thoughtful, comfortable, "can't wait to retire" room settings. I challenge anyone not to enjoy their finest, most memorable sleep on her "Fit for a King or Queen" luxurious mattresses. When you awake, the scent of freshly baked lemon-white-chocolate scones will greet you as well as generous bowls of fresh fruit. But wait -- there is more. Depending on the day, you may enjoy thick wedges of challah French toast or fresh blueberry pancakes. All the while, there is cheerful banter around the exquisitely decorated table as Patricia entertains with anecdotes of her extremely fascinating former life. This is an extremely intimate, cozy B&B - book early and book fast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mountain View Resort! Patricia is a gracious hostess who does everything possible to ensure her guests are comfortable and welcome. The house is beautifully decorated and the rooms are very, very comfortable. I had the best sleep in a long time at the B&B and cannot wait to return! The breakfast is amazing: the homemade scones are to die for and the eggs are fantastic! I do not have one single complaint about this resort and that is very rare for me. If you are looking for the most comfortable place to stay in the Rhinebeck area, do yourself a favor and book with Patricia. You will not regret it! Thanks again Patricia for making me feel so at home and for being so much fun to hang out with!!

Room Tip: I loved the green room decor....the outside view of the garden was spectacular...although all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
You're terrific! Thanks for the kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We love A Mountain View Retreat so much that we didn't consider staying anywhere else on a repeat visit to the area. And for our purposes -- a trip to the Bard College campus -- there isn't a closer hotel/motel/inn or B&B. A Mountain View Retreat is only a 15" drive from the Bard campus.
Owner Patricia Heller goes all out to make your stay memorable. Her exquisitely set table makes the scrumptious breakfast of eggs, toast, thick whole wheat toast, bacon and fruit all the more special. Don't want eggs and bacon? No problem; she'll make homemade blueberry pancakes. And homemade scones are always on the menu.
The master suite continues to be a comfortable place to spend the night -- individually controlled climate control, top of the line linens, lots of closet/drawer space.
The common area is inviting with antiques, comfortable couches and lots of indirect lighting. The focal point of the common area is the fireplace. Mrs. Heller lights the fire for an all-day sense of coziness and warmth. Have a snack in front of the fire before you head out for the evening -- it really sets the mood for this magical place.
We love A Mountain View Retreat so much that we've already reserved the entire B&B for a family visit in late October. The folliage should be magnificient by then.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
You all are the best… See you in October! Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We traveled up from NYC to get some fresh air and catch the end of the beautiful colours on the trees in the Hudson Valley. As per other comments from fellow travelers, we could have not experienced a friendlier greeting from the graceful host Pratricia. It is all that we wanted from a retreat - relaxing, clean, and the homecooking was scrumptious - and we look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Happy Holidays! Thank you for thinking of me and sending the lovely review. Looking forward to your next getaway here! The wood stove and fireplace make it a true winter wonderland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at A Mountain View. Patricia is a warm and generous host who made us feel welcome right away. Her inn is a combination of art gallery, antique shop and mountain lodge. Breakfasts were wonderful and our room was comfy and spacious. Be sure to walk the trails leading to her meditation gardens.

Room Tip: The master suite even has a window seat where you can enjoy the mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Hi Lynn, it was great having you for three days. So glad you got to experience the "best" at Le Petit Bistro (booth and food!), your Rip Van Winkle ferry ride up and down the Hudson. Kindest regards, Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germantown
4.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
166 reviews
10.4 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
179 reviews
11.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Mountain View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Mountain View Retreat

Property: A Mountain View Retreat
Address: Address will be given upon reservation, Germantown, NY
Region: United States > New York > Germantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Germantown
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the serenity of the Catskill Mountains, the Hudson River and the magnificent Hudson Valley! A Mountain View Retreat is a lovely respite from daily life. Come enjoy 20 private wooded acres with views of the Catskill Mountainsat this former small hunting lodge renovated into an exclusive, posh retreat for the discriminating guest. (Bring good walking shoes to enjoy the many paths.)Definition of a B&B: A type of lodging that is smaller than a hotel and may be in a private residence licensed for guests. Bed & Breakfasts generally appeal to guests who desire a more personal interaction with their destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing