We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Romantic Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Mountain View Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Germantown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Mountain View Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Germantown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super Romantic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just got back from a romantic weekend at MVT. The house is a mini - museum but extremely user-friendly and comfortable. The room - master suite - was huge, well-decorated and well-furnished. Patricia is a terrific and interesting (eclectic) host who is engaging and immensely helpful. Her breakfasts are plentiful and delicious and the grounds offer many lovely spots for short walks, sitting, lying in a hammock under the morning sun, contemplating, reading or just hanging out.

The Retreat is within 20 minutes of Rhinebeck, Tivoli, Bard College, Germantown. We visited all those places on Saturday and ate both nights in unusually good restaurants in Tivoli. It's a fabulous area for sightseeing, shopping and mellowing out. On Sunday, just 10 minutes up 9G is Olana, the incredible estate of Frederic Church the famous 19th century painter and ten minutes from there we were in Hudson, NY with its astounding number of antique stores and restaurants.

This is a great getaway for city folks. We would definitely return.

Chuck H., New York City

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you -- it was great having you two here…do hope you return soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Staying at A Mountain View Retreat was truly perfection! The grounds were gorgeous, the room was very clean and spacious, and Patricia was lovely! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Perfection back at you! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were heading up to Rhinebeck for a professional conference and having difficulty finding a place to stay. When the highly recommended hotel I called told me they had no vacancies, they gave me the good news- that we would be in for a treat if Mountain View Retreat had space. Within five minutes we had a complete change of plans and were headed up to Germantown. Patricia greeted us in the driveway and showed us around her house, which was as charming as it was comfy. She graciously offered us snacks, and made sure we had everything we needed in the way of convenience. She was charming, funny and attentive and made sure we were happy in every way possible. Her breakfasts are wonderful and so is her property - before leaving she took us on a hike, which was very zen. Mountain View is lovely!

Room Tip: I am counting the hike as a fitness center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranGWynnewood_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
You two were a pleasure too! Loved our art talks! So glad you had a great time, thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a fantastic stay. Patricia was the perfect hostess and entertainer. Her breakfasts were a delight to the palate. Knowing it was our anniversary she made two reservations at two of the most amazing dining establishments. One French, "Le Petit Bistro" and one Italian, "Mercado". Both were absolutely wonderful. So tasteful and inviting was her décor along with her capturing personality that it was difficult to depart. We hope to return again and again. Thank you for a relaxing and charming experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
So, I've got it in writing you are coming back again and again! Yay! Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Owner Patricia Heller has created a visual wonderland with her uncanny knack for upscale decorating. She combines elegance and whimsy in the most thoughtful, comfortable, "can't wait to retire" room settings. I challenge anyone not to enjoy their finest, most memorable sleep on her "Fit for a King or Queen" luxurious mattresses. When you awake, the scent of freshly baked lemon-white-chocolate scones will greet you as well as generous bowls of fresh fruit. But wait -- there is more. Depending on the day, you may enjoy thick wedges of challah French toast or fresh blueberry pancakes. All the while, there is cheerful banter around the exquisitely decorated table as Patricia entertains with anecdotes of her extremely fascinating former life. This is an extremely intimate, cozy B&B - book early and book fast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mountain View Resort! Patricia is a gracious hostess who does everything possible to ensure her guests are comfortable and welcome. The house is beautifully decorated and the rooms are very, very comfortable. I had the best sleep in a long time at the B&B and cannot wait to return! The breakfast is amazing: the homemade scones are to die for and the eggs are fantastic! I do not have one single complaint about this resort and that is very rare for me. If you are looking for the most comfortable place to stay in the Rhinebeck area, do yourself a favor and book with Patricia. You will not regret it! Thanks again Patricia for making me feel so at home and for being so much fun to hang out with!!

Room Tip: I loved the green room decor....the outside view of the garden was spectacular...although all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
You're terrific! Thanks for the kudos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We love A Mountain View Retreat so much that we didn't consider staying anywhere else on a repeat visit to the area. And for our purposes -- a trip to the Bard College campus -- there isn't a closer hotel/motel/inn or B&B. A Mountain View Retreat is only a 15" drive from the Bard campus.
Owner Patricia Heller goes all out to make your stay memorable. Her exquisitely set table makes the scrumptious breakfast of eggs, toast, thick whole wheat toast, bacon and fruit all the more special. Don't want eggs and bacon? No problem; she'll make homemade blueberry pancakes. And homemade scones are always on the menu.
The master suite continues to be a comfortable place to spend the night -- individually controlled climate control, top of the line linens, lots of closet/drawer space.
The common area is inviting with antiques, comfortable couches and lots of indirect lighting. The focal point of the common area is the fireplace. Mrs. Heller lights the fire for an all-day sense of coziness and warmth. Have a snack in front of the fire before you head out for the evening -- it really sets the mood for this magical place.
We love A Mountain View Retreat so much that we've already reserved the entire B&B for a family visit in late October. The folliage should be magnificient by then.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVR444, Owner at A Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
You all are the best… See you in October! Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germantown
4.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
6.8 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Red Hook Country  Inn
6.3 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Mountain View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Mountain View Retreat

Property: A Mountain View Retreat
Address: Address will be given upon reservation, Germantown, NY
Region: United States > New York > Germantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Germantown
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the serenity of the Catskill Mountains, the Hudson River and the magnificent Hudson Valley! A Mountain View Retreat is a lovely respite from daily life. Come enjoy 20 private wooded acres with views of the Catskill Mountainsat this former small hunting lodge renovated into an exclusive, posh retreat for the discriminating guest. (Bring good walking shoes to enjoy the many paths.)Definition of a B&B: A type of lodging that is smaller than a hotel and may be in a private residence licensed for guests. Bed & Breakfasts generally appeal to guests who desire a more personal interaction with their destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing