We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tambo del Caminante - Once in a lifetime experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tambo del Caminante

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huaran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tambo del Caminante
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Tambo del Caminante - Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My experience in Tambo del Caminante met and overexceeded my expectations. The service is personalised and unique, i felt more as a guest in a friends' house than in a hotel. It is located in the middle of the Sacred Valley sourrounded by the majestic mountains and indigenous nature. Peace and tranquility best describes my experience in this wonderful boutique hotel. I've been to several hotels in the valley and without a doubt this has been my most memorable experience, I highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisella d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The perfect bed and breakfast PLUS experience. Pedro and Rossi will tend to your every whim and need. We wanted a 3day private guided trek to the pitusiri. They tailored it for us with. A local agency. In fact they have a whole "menu" of options. Pedro and i went on a 2 hr hike to a lovely ranch/restaurant/museum. On the hike Pedro gave me a sampling of his cast knowledge and love for the culture of this valley. Then i really needed a day off after 2months traveling in peru so I just sat and read on their garden futon. YES GARDEN FUTON!!! plus hammocks and lawn chairs. I the evening I moved into the cozy lounge to read by the fire place
At check in Pedro asked us what we would like for breakfast and accommodated our whims like whole wheat bread ( which is hard to find) and unflavored yogurt
Although they say they only serve breakfast they do have a snack menu from which we sampled the best guacamole I have had and their veggies sandwich. Rossi cooked some wonderful dinners with veggies from her garden. I suggested she start a cookbook!!!
This lodge is only two blocks from main sacred valley road so getting anywhere is easy. So many details made us love this place. Warm rooms, luxurious sheets and ALPACA blankets, evening hot water bottles warming beds, evening chocolate treat, welcoming garden, detailed tasteful decor in every corner of the property and garden yoga/mediation room to keep up our practice but above all Pedro and Rossi warm welcoming hearts make this a home away from home

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babajiguided
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a 6 room (14 people max.) lodge. This traditional architecture lodge is built with local materials, but with all the modern ammenities expected. The decoration is superb. Cared by the owners. My 7 year old son's words were: " Here you are threated like a King!" .
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanChalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Tambo, which is a kechua word, means resting place, and Caminante in spanish means "walker". Perfect name for a perfect place. It is Peaceful and beatiful. Nestled among the Sacred Mountains, this beautifully furnished Lodge was absolutly marvelous. The lodge is located between Pisac And Urubamba, about a 5 minute walk from the river and it has access to different mountains and river treks even biking paths. The accomodations, attention, views, were 5 stars, not only that but the owners, Rosi and Pedro Luis, were extremely helpful and very charming!

I absolutely recommend this place to everybody who would love to be enchanted!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My dad and I recently spent 5 days at the newly inaugurated Tambo del Caminante in Huaran, about 10 minutes by car from Calca, about 20 minutes from Pisac and 15 minutes from Ollantaytambo. We were looking for a personal and meditative experience in contrast to the larger and more commercial hotels of the area to share with fellow travelers and walkers. We also wanted a centrally located place in the valley from which we could bike to the indian market in Pisac, or to the Ollantaytambo fortress and explore the many towns that lie along the valley on both banks of the river. This and more we found at the Tambo del Caminante. Our time at this impeccably furnished and beautifully tendered lodge was absolute bliss. The service by Pedro Luis and Rosi, a charming couple of multicultural Peruvians that own and designed the place, he educated at a German school in Peru, later in Wisconsin, and she a hospitality and gardening fan, was amazing. The lodge sits off the main road between Pisac And Urubamba as if at the foot of the Pitusiray-Sahuasiray mountain pair, about a 5 minute walk from the river and is centrally located for access to a good two dozen different mountain and river treks, walks and bike rides. In the 5 days of our stay we managed to do a daily 1.0-2.0 hour easy bike ride in off-the-main-road paths that tie the many small towns and ancient inca ruins at the verge of the river, and a short (1.5 hour both ways) walk up to the natural waterfall of Salto del Angel from which there is a stunning view of the valley. We also managed to squeeze-in a drive through the town of Urubamba to the surrounding freshwater lagoons and to the amazing multi climatic terraces of Moray. Yucay is only 10 minutes away by bike. The lodge is a 15 minute bike ride from the ruins of Urco and a stone throw away from the path that leads to the much longer trek to the ruins of Huchuy Qosco (a longer and tougher trek that we just could not fit in our schedule). The lodge is easily reachable. If you don't have a vehicle or if you can't arrange a car to the lodge, you can take the local bus from Cusco to Calca and arrange for Pedro Luis to pick you up. We will be coming many times to this magical valley and will make sure that we lodge at this gem of a walkers's inn. Wonderful place !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlozada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

El Tambo features amazing views of the breath-taking mountains and valleys in the area. Everything in this place has been built with a meaning.It has the perfect balance of privacy and activities. I was able to interact with locals as well as meditate and renew spiritually.

I highly recommend the tour to Ollantaytambo. The hotel managers are extremely helpful and able to arrange everything for you.

I look forward to coming back to this magical place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Ollantaytambo is in the sacred valley, about an hour and a half from Cusco. It's really a breathtaking place, and this little hostel is the perfect match! It's rustic, but has all the amenities, and the interior design is spot on. A perfect place to kick up your 'caminante' boots.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matias3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huaran
2.8 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
4.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Yucay Valle Sagrado
4.0 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Yucay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#1 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba
Inkaterra Hacienda Urubamba
#12 of 25 in Urubamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#9 of 25 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Caminante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Caminante

Property: Tambo del Caminante
Address: Urubamba Road | Km 57.400 Pisac, Huaran 084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Huaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Huaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, personalized Boutique Hotel in the heart of the Sacred Valley of the Incas, where the owner is your host -a place to journal your journey! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing