We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated for the holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Cove
Connecticut
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated for the holidays”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I was a little skeptical after reading the reviews but we are pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is a little old, but the rooms are fine. This place has fireplaces and a cozy feeling. Paul is a great bartender at Pub 1910. The band on Friday night is very good.Racquetball court,fitness center,pool,and pool tables...ping pong. There are some buildings not attached and I wouldn't want to be there as it is snowing! We had booked and then a groupon came up...we got champagne, free breakfast,free drinks,chocolate covered strawberries...but all in all it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovecheeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    272
    178
    95
    63
See reviews for
360
267
28
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place as the main staff person i dealt with was outstanding in terms of customer service as was most of the staff - they were very personable and accommodating (with the exception of the room service staff he seemed very miffed when he forgot to bring a fork and knife when I had requested a setting to be brought to me room so I could eat my dinner). All of that said ....I sadly have to agree with the others who have commented about the rundown quality of the property - the front of the hotel and dining area are quite lovely but the other sections of the hotel are circa 1980 and need a real overhaul. Felt a little like something out of a Scooby Doo Murder Mystery. Now that said - I was there for a conference and in that regard the service was excellent - very conducive to getting work done - they excel in this area. So for me...a mixed bag - if they invested some money in a renovation it would go a long way!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Not recommended at all for "casual" visitors (like we were) looking for an alternative NYC base i.e. outside of city, but within easy travelling distance. I would say it's suitable only for functions i.e. business seminars & possibly as a wedding venue. Absolutely NOT what I would consider a 'spa' hotel by any means & no services available during the day - other than those provided for 'business' customers.

The rail station is a minimum 40 minute walk from the hotel - even though front desk advised us 20 minutes maximum - although the train ticket is really cheap (compared with UK prices).

Our pre-booked(!) ride from the airport was completely messed up. Not entirely sure if this was the hotel or the transport company's fault, but it made for a very stressful journey. Cock-up notwithstanding, I was surprised & annoyed that the hotel had casually passed on my credit card details to a cab company without my express permission.

Room was reasonable, as was the breakfasts that we had. The Pub, food & service, was actually pretty good - when it finally opened.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Recently attended a family wedding at the Glen Cove Mansion. The front desk was completely overmatched while checking us in. Despite a reservation for a king bed we were told the hotel was competely sold out. After 10 minutes of starring at her computer screen and consulting with a colleague she figured out her mistake. The property has not been updated in years. The property and grounds as you enter appear impressive but that's where it ends. Carpet in many places throughout is filthy and worn. What once were probably charming appointments in some of the banquet rooms now look like garage sale finds. Scratched wood and dingey paint everywhere along with mismatched and dated furniture. Rooms are nothing special and also seemed dated and worn. Parking for certain room locations is inconvenient.

When we returned to our room after the wedding we discovered that our room had been broken into. Hotel security and the police arrived promptly. They were concerned and sympathetic. We also found out that another guest of the wedding had their room broken into as well. However, since the incident the hotel management specifically the Comptroller, has been completely unresponsive, even implying that prehaps we left the room deliberately unlocked so that we could be robbed. They have refused to take any responsibility and have offered no reimbursement for the property that was stolen or any attempt to make amends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
While we have already responded to your husband's review below, we can certainly respond once again in this matter. I'm sorry that you feel that we have been unresponsive, however, our Controller did contact you less that 48 hours ago, once again. Because this is an active and ongoing investigation, we are unable to offer any reimbursement as you mentioned since the cause of this isolated incident has yet to be determined. We are here to offer whatever assistance we can and have been in contact with you several times so I am sorry that you feel that this type of response qualifies as unresponsive. We will continue to assist in the investigation in any capacity as needed and we look to an expeditious resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked our stay at the Glen Cove Mansion because it was where the wedding of my cousin's son was taking place. We arrived Friday evening and were checking out on Sunday. Upon check in we were told the room we had reserved with a king bed was not available as the hotel was sold out of king bed rooms for Saturday. I politely reminded the women that today was Friday and we had a confirmation number for the king bed room for two nights. After tinkering with the computer, or continuing her game of solitare, she told us she found our reservation and confirmed the accommodation as booked.

As we proceeded to our room it was clear that the property has not been updated since its 2004 renovation. Carpets were faded, furniture badly worn, doors and walls in disrepair. Much to our disappointment, the guest rooms decor matched the rest of the hotel.

After spending Saturday enjoying time with family, we left our room at 5:15 PM to attend the wedding and returned at 11:35 PM. Minutes after returning I realized that my ipad was missing and then discovered so were my iphone, chargers, Bose head phones, leather license case and $200 in cash which was missing from my wallet. Fortunately my license, credit cards and rental car keys were not taken. We had secured other valuables in the room safe (whcih was on the floor of the closet making it very difficult to opeate) but I forget to lock up my wallet. We immediately called the front desk and to their credit, within 10 minutes there were representatives from the hotel and local police officers in our room. We filled a police report and while doing so learned that another guest of the wedding party had their room broken into as well. I noticed that the window was slightly ajar and the hotel representative indicated that this had happened before and items must have been dropped to someone waiting outside of the room.

Upon my return home I followed up with the CFO of the hotel, who oversees losses. He said he had spent the entire day looking at computer reports of the key card access system and that, other than housekeeping at 8:36 on Saturaday morning, the only activity in the room was from our key cards. He went on to infer that I must have left the door open.

I have tried without success to speak further with the hotel regarding our loss and inconvenience. .They have not offererd any assistance to either reimburse us for the stolen items or credit the room nights.

There are plenty of hotels on the north shore of Long Island. If you are invited to a function at this property, stay elsewhere. You will be better serviced and your valuables far more secure.

Room Tip: For the best room, stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The first priority of the Glen Cove Mansion staff is the safety and security of our guests. We certainly are extremely disappointed to have heard of this incident that, as you are aware, is currently being actively investigated. All of our guestrooms are equipped with a guest operated in room safe. In addition, all guestroom locks with key card access can be tracked in order to assure our guests that only they have access to their room along with authorized hotel personnel in order to clean and maintain their accommodations. The deadbolt lock and latch ensure our guest’s safety at all times when they are in their room. Please be assured that the procedures that we have in place are executed when necessary and to the best of our ability. The follow up and investigation are of paramount importance to us as well. We value each and every one of our guests and pride ourselves and providing the best possible experience within our control and have fortunately been able to exceed our customers’ expectations many, many times. We are understanding of the disappointment in your experience and would do whatever possible to exceed your expectations if given the opportunity, once again, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
253 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The facade of the building is very beautiful. The rooms are just average and could have been bit cleaner. Food in the pub is typical bar fare. Nothing special. We had to be in the area the next day which made it convenient but would not see real reason to return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. If you do return to the area, we would certainly enjoy having you stay with us while visiting family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights on a working trip - couldn't fault it. Great food, friendly helpful staff and a beautiful setting. The only issues I would raise are that a) the website needs updating to reflect the character and elegance of the hotel and b) smokers should be banished from the front entrance to a location where the rest of the world doesn't have to walk through the smoke! A great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCMHotel, Manager at Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be passing along your website feedback to our marketing team as well as the feedback regarding the smokers to our Bellmen in order for everyone to have a pleasant experience. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Cove
8.4 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
The Roslyn Hotel
The Roslyn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roslyn
321 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
East Norwich Inn
East Norwich Inn
#1 of 1 in East Norwich
94 reviews
11.2 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
517 reviews
10.2 mi away
Oheka Castle
Oheka Castle
#1 of 3 in Huntington
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center

Property: Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
Address: 200 Dosoris Ln, Glen Cove, NY 11542-1217 (Formerly Harrison Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Glen Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Cove Mansion Hotel Glen Cove
Mansion Glen Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing