We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was a fantastic vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Flycatcher's Lodge
Reviewed 17 July 2011

the rooms are very spacious and we got all the privacy we wanted the staffs are execelent the rooms reflects purely La digue and wat all will hope for by getting the real exotic feelings of the island , cant wait to go back thr next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank etheljl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

We know La Digue island fairly well from our previous visits to the Seychelles, but had never stayed at the Paradise Flycatcher Lodge before. Ahead of our trip we decided to speak directly to the staff about their hotel’s suitability for a family of four and decided to book what we thought was a 2-bedroom self-catering bungalow for four nights.

Despite a superb location, charming architecture and boasting rather spacious rooms, the bungalow had a rather odd configuration and the whole building looked dated: the two bedrooms, with a mini-fridge, a small TV and a safe each, were at either ends of the building - separated by a rather large lounge with a kitchenette – which made us feel uncomfortable about our two young children sleeping so far away from us. It subsequently emerged that such a configuration enabled the two bedrooms to be rented out separately and, on that basis, the sharing of the lounge/kitchenette!

Despite its pleasant and courteous staff, Paradise Flycatcher Lodge is an exceptionally poor value-for-money offer and unfortunate reflection on Seychelles tourism: the bungalow was badly-equipped and in desperate need of renovation and innovation; the kitchenette had only one electric hob and not suitable for a genuine self-catering stay; the bathroom tiles needed re-grouting and the tap heads were loose; the windows wouldn’t close properly and the air-conditioning, while modern, were noisy.

La Digue, particularly during its Quinze Août (The Assumption of Mary) celebrations, is a vibrant, colourful and yet relaxing place. The owners of Paradise Flycatcher Lodge would do well to modernise and upgrade their establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vacanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We spend 4 nights at the Paradise Flycatcher Lodge based also on the comments on this site. La Digue is just paradise and if you need a place to switch of then it most be one of the best places to visit.

The Bungalows are divided into 2 rooms with a kitchen area that can be shared. As we where a family of 4 we rented a full bungalow and I would not be to sure about the sharing aspect.

The staff was very nice and helpful and we felt that the Bungalows fitted the image of the island. However the price value ratio is questionable. The bungalows need some renovation works as does the whole complex. The kitchen was not fully equipped and it would not have been suitable for a real self catering holiday. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable but everything is just a little old. The bathroom and shower would need quite a bit of work and the water pressure was close to non existent.

We liked it there but we are not sure if there aren't other places with better value for money on La Digue.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bscyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Well, if you are looking for a backpackers to a hilarious price, this could be the one for you! Sure, it's spacious, but it must have been built in the 1980's and nothing much done after.

Shower cabin was in terrible state. At least most of the windows did close shut.

No reception on TV at all, but who does need it, when the most beautiful beach is 1km away?

Breakfast was OK, but the restrooms next to the restaurant were almost the worst in all Seychelles i've seen.

Much too expensive for me!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lando2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: deconseille
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcdLagnieu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Antonina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: tutte spaziose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 696walter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Ocean
Hotel L'Ocean
#7 of 7 in La Digue Island
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalets d'Anse Reunion
Chalets d'Anse Reunion
#11 of 24 in La Digue Island
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#4 of 47 in La Digue Island
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Surmer Self-Catering Chalets
Le Surmer Self-Catering Chalets
#4 of 24 in La Digue Island
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Relax Beach House
Le Relax Beach House
#29 of 47 in La Digue Island
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Authentique
Villa Authentique
#8 of 9 in La Passe
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Flycatcher's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Flycatcher's Lodge

Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island sez, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Speciality Lodging in La Digue Island
Price Range: £87 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Flycatcher's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is unique; opposite a nice and relaxing beach where the beautiful sunset can be captured with a few minutes away from Anse source D'argent. The environment is large and spacious. We have one of the best lodges where one can relax and explore the beautiful and memorable island of La Digue. Whilst the bungalows and furniture are more or less traditional a high level of services and cleanliness is maintained and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Self-catering services as well as breakfast/dinner is available to our guests. We are located only 5 mins walk to one of the world most beautiful beach Anse Source D"argent ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Paradise Flycatcher's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Flycatcher`s Hotel La Digue Island
Paradise Flycatchers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing