We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They have a great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa De Leela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De Leela
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“They have a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

There are very few places to stay on La Digue that are directly on the beach, so the location of Casa de Leela is as good as any. Although it's inland, you can get to the beach by bike in just a few minutes. Definitely hire bikes! We walked our first day and although walking is relaxing it is so fast to get around by bike! We chose the bed and breakfast option and the breakfasts were large and very good... eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, and tea and coffee. Our bungalow was large and very nice! We had the one closest to reception and never felt bothered by the location. In fact, we could get some wifi signal and therefore could use wifi in our room, which is impossible for any other location on the property. You will have a cozy sitting area, porch, and kitchen, although the kitchen could have used some regular sized glasses other than just the tea cups. Although it is "self catering" we only stayed 5 nights and could not justify spending so much money to stock up on cooking items that we would not be able to use up during our stay. It would have been nice to have a few "essentials" in the fridge, maybe some butter, spices, cooking oil, mayonnaise, ketchup, etc, things that can stay there from guest to guest. Needless to say, we never used the kitchen for cooking meals. It was nice to have the fridge and microwave for our leftover pizza from the really good pizza place just down the road! Great leftovers for lunch. Over all, we loved our stay. We especially liked that added touch of pick up/drop off from the ferry so we weren't left wandering around looking for the guest house.
Make SURE that you have the owners cook for you at least one night! Some of the best food we ate anywhere in the Seychelles. We had them cook for us on our last night and were kicking ourselves for not doing it sooner. So good!

Room Tip: Bungalow Anse Coco (closest to reception) gets a wifi signal in the room. No other rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audjie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    48
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights during our 8 days stay on La Digue .Casa de leela is located about 800 m from La Passe, just by the road leading to Grand Anse. This Hotel is settled in a very nice garden .
The main manager Lorna is very helpful and kind for all of the guests . They have arranged our transfer 4 times , and we were happy about that because not every hotel have its own taxi .
They are known from having a big Toyota Land Cruiser that belongs to the Robert, who is an owner . We stayed on the ground floor of a new building that contains 4 apartments . Apartments are really spacious - about 60 square meters . They are divided into: kitchen annex, bedroom and a bathroom . Interior design is simple and we felt that it is a little dark inside. We didn’t use option with a breakfast so we do not know how it taste.
Moreover, we have to say that owner of this place is very charming. Open minded, friendly and resourceful and definitely knowlegeable. We really enjoyed conversation with him.
Overall it's a very nice place that we recommend for a budget holidays .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g1zmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had read good reviews about this place so wanted to book here for our one night in la digue. We booked through an external agent online the night before, after calling them to find out a bit about the place. We arrived in the evening before and informed them when booking for a later than normal check out as we only had one day on the island. We were told over the phone that transfers would be included. When we arrived on the island they stated that it would be chargeable when we arrived at the hotel. We were told if we booked directly through them instead we would have had free transfers but as we did not they would charge us. Then we asked about an early afternoon checkout (i.e. 1pm)...they again stated as we booked through external agent they could not afford to allow late check out, but if we had booked directly through them they would have allowed it. They were completely unreasonable in trying to help us and found that we were generally given poor service throughout simply because we booked through an external agent over the internet (which was the same price as their's) rather than directly through them, which frustrated and disappointed. Whilst the rooms are nice the service on this occasion was not.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank zchacn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algine, Guest Relations Manager at Casa De Leela, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for submitting a review about Casa de Leela and for the opportunity offered to us to welcome you in our property on La Digue.

Due to the fact, that you booked Casa de Leela through an agent, the transfer has to be paid for. This is common practice and the free transfer is reserved for clients as an incentive to encourage direct bookings.

In regards to the day room: We offered you the room at cost as it is common policy for all establishments.



Kind regards,
The Guest relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Casa de Leela for about 5 nights when visiting La Digue during a vacation to the Seychelles. We got a newly built nice looking apartment with all necessities. The bedroom was spacious with a good size double bed. The kitchen/livingroom was of a good size and the porch was wonderful to sit on. But when sitting on the porch you need some sort of mosquito repellant. If you have breakfast included it's typical Seychelles standard, you get fruit, some toast with marmalade, egg (boiled/fried/omelette) and tea/coffee. Around the compound there is a nice litlle garden with flowers and a small pool. You can rent bikes from Casa de Leela, a bit more expensive than renting them from the village, but they seemed a better quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

This is our second stay at Casa de Leela and we enjoyed our stay both times. We travelled with our 5 year old son. It is an ideal place to stay with a family, lovely clean rooms and a small but nice pool, sunbeds etc. We stayed this time in the new guesthouse and had larger room than last time when we were in the bungalows. Nice breakfast, efficient service etc. We enjoyed swimming in the pool late afternoon, evening watching the fruitbats and sun go down. We would definitely stay here if we ever returned.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We spent 8 nights in the 2 bed bungalow at Casa De Leela. The accomodation was in a great location, spacious and well equipped, set in lovely gardens. Ideal size for a family of 4 (2 boys 13 and 8). Staff were very helpful and kept the bungalow beautifully clean. We booked bikes for 4 days but ended up having them for our whole stay - a wonderful way to get about and a necessary part of being on La Digue. Daily supply of beach towels was an added bonus. Pool was small but nice and with so many lovely beaches we only used it a couple of times. The breakfast and Creole evening meal prepared for us on the verandah was really good and recommended. Food is generally pricey but a variable supply of basics can be found a the local shops. Anse Source D'Argent was a regular bicycle trip for us but the most beautiful beach we found was Anse Cocos - a bike ride and walk up and down steep granite forest paths (hard work) but well worth it. No shade on beach but at the far end is a little 'pool' in the rocks safe for children and with a little hut fashioned out of rocks and palm leaves-really beautiful spot. Enjoyed watching fruit bats from verandah at dusk. Overall the island and accomodation was something special and great for the whole family. Hope they don't allow any more vehicles, they are already starting to spoil the feel of the island.

Room Tip: The two bedroom bungalow was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in one of their apartments. It was immaculately clean and furnished nicely. It was located in a lovely garden with many different types of tropical flowers. I had an injured foot and the staff were most helpful to me. Breakfast was served daily on the patio and the pool was small but lovely. Don,t miss Source D'Argent Beach.....out of this world.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kafsdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.2 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau St Cloud
Chateau St Cloud
#5 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Diguoise Guesthouse
La Diguoise Guesthouse
#6 of 44 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocotier du Rocher
Cocotier du Rocher
#4 of 44 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Leela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Leela

Property: Casa De Leela
Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa De Leela is a well recommended Self Catering Guesthouse with 3 different types of rooms. All the rooms are fully furnished with a well equipped kitchenette. Situated only 10 minutes from the most beautiful beach of the island Casa De Leela is the ideal place for you to spend your holiday in tranquility and calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casa De Leela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Leela Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing