We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hoping to return someday...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Surmer Self-Catering Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
“Hoping to return someday...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Location was superb, literally right next to the beach. Brigitte & the rest of the staff was friendly and hospitable, and helped make the stay a very enjoyable one. The chalet was very well equipped, although maybe just a tad on the pricey side. Also I found the bathroom a bit dimly lit, so I'd imagine putting on make-up, for example could be a bit of a challenge. A shaving light above the mirror would definitely be a welcome addition.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juho N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    43
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
46
78
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Le Surmer was our place to stay on La Digue and it was really great (if we find a way to go back to La Digue, def our place to return!). We had our own little (or rather big I should say!) chalet, with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, living room and a little balcony. Everything was very clean, nice and very new looking, modern and the crew added a little extra touch by folding our towels into some shape (swans, fish, you name it).

The staff is very nice and helpful. The cook is the kindest man and gives Le Surmer the little extra touch. :) Our breakfast was included which was delicious. We also had dinner there one evening (and still wish we had had the chance to eat there more often!) and ate Red Snapper. It was so good! If you decided to 'eat out' at all during your stay, you should really ask him to cook for you.

The internet was the only thing we found to be a bit too expensive, so we did not use it, which really is how it should be when you vacation in the Seychelles! :) So it turned out to be a great thing for us, but you should consider this when booking.

The 'complex' is beautifully gardened and right by the beach. You can walk to the famous Anse d'argent (if you walk through the water at low tide, you don't have to pay the parks' entrance fee!), though we really recommend taking a bike and going to Anse Grand, Anse Petit and Anse Coco, which we found to be even more beautiful and with barely any people around.

You should also go to "Chez Jules" by bike and have a fruit drink and dinner there one evening. It is this little shack right next to the bike trail, you have an ocean view and really good food! (We had the octopus salad and also one day we had something else that I can't remember the name of. :) )

Room Tip: all chalets look the same and are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013


bungalow Veuve! the best one! With a special view on the ocean.

The owner Brigitte is very professional and friendly.

The village is very close to the Anse D'argent beach.

The bungalows are very clean and new build with all the accessories you need for cooking but you have to try the best dinner in la Digue cooked by the le surmer's chef.

In front of the bungalow there is a beautiful beach and at 5:00 pm you can buy the fresh fish wich is picked directly from the local fisherman.

All the people that work at the surmer makes you fell welcome.

Finally...
Everything just wonderfull!

Ps. usully you say that the world is to big to visit the same place for two times, but in this case...
We will come back!
Francesco and Bianca from Italy

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescobianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo mesto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

After extensive online searching for our temporary home on our 40-day vacation (end of March-beginning of May) we have decided on Le Surmer Chalets, where we found extremely responsive host Brigitte. Once we arrived on island, we were pleasantly surprised with Chalets interior and comfort, which were above of what we were expecting. We traveled with 2 kids (one of them still an infant) and Brigitte and her team were extremely forthcoming in making all our wishes fulfilled (first with 1 extra bed and 1 crib, and later we changed our mind and got 2 beds instead). Also, we were given a food mixer for preparing baby food, which was great, as we couldn't find one to be bought in any of the local shops. We have had a lot of requests, and there was never a problem to accommodate on any of our wishes.

Our bedsheets, towels and even beach towels were changed daily, chalet was thoroughly cleaned and staff was very friendly and flexible on cleaning times, as we had kids sleeping at random times. I have to say that I have hard times imagining any of these things improving, as they can be rated only with highest grade.

Location is very convenient, only a minute from Grocery shop (Monica's shop) and very close to Gregorie's store and Pizzeria, as well as La Digue Lodge resort where you can jump for food or swimming pool. It is also extremely close to L'Union estate park, through which you have access to gorgeous beach Anse Source d'Argent.

Property also boasts a restaurant whose chef prepares wonderful food, which was a pleasant surprise. I recommend you try it out, as it is among better ones on the island (and we have tried a LOT of restaurants in those 40 days).

Le Surmer also has a private beach with beach chairs and picnic table. We spent a number of evenings looking at beautiful sunsets with friends while children were playing in sand.

I am thinking what could I write as a possible improvement at Le Surmer but I really can't think of anything, which is a really good thing.

I am highly recommending this place and I am sure we will come back if Brigitte takes us back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sas575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I was extremly sad to leave Le Surmer and La Digue in general. These self catering chalets are exactly what one needs, to feel like they are in paradise. The chalets are very cosy and home-like, the garden is very green and pretty, it is almost at the beach and very close to Anse Source d'Argent. The staff is incredibly nice and the cleaning service is superb (new towels everyday, folded in a decorative way, which is very pretty). The people around are very nice, helpful and loving. We didnt have to lock our bikes or even our chalet because we knew there was no danger. Absolute peace and quiet, just the sound of the ocean and birds :) This is a place I will definately come back to.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianka761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Just got back from the most beautiful holiday ever! These villas are just a few minutes away from one of the most beautiful beaches on earth Anse Source d Argent. They are very well equipped, with aircondition, spacious, cleaned everyday, towels changed every day. The chalets are in a garden, so you are separated from the other chalets by green hedges. The staff is very friendly, manager Bridget treats all guests like her family. One can also book breakfast and dinner from them, very good cuisine. In general, there is not much food in shops on La Digue therefore it is worth taking food from them. They will hire a bike and arrange any trips too. It is a very quiet, relaxed, and safe place. The beach is just 10m across the street which only has pedestrians or people riding a bike. Very good value for money. People looking for more people and noise should rather go to Ibiza. I am definitely coming back soon :D. Lucia Renner, Belgium

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciaR175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Clean,Tidy,Quiet,Near the beach and on La Digue what more can you ask for. Good simple breakfasts go with the relaxed atmosphere. Visited in Dec 2012 and were more than impressed with this little gem which was a good price for Seychelles and not too stuffy like most other hotels in Seychelles who offer so much but deliver so little! This has to be the best way to see Seychelles on a budget. We traveled with 2 children and were made welcome as soon as we got there by Brigitte and Danny who's family have obviously worked very hard to make this place a reality! Well done to you both and good luck in the future we will be back again if in your area.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lymefossilshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Digue Island hotels
0.0 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Leela
Casa De Leela
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Digue Self-Catering Apartments
0.0 mi away
La Diguoise Guesthouse
La Diguoise Guesthouse
#6 of 45 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Surmer Self-Catering Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Surmer Self-Catering Chalets

Property: Le Surmer Self-Catering Chalets
Address: Anse Reunion, La Digue Island 271, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Surmer Self-Catering Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April 2012, and are based opposite the beachfront, thus we provide beach beds & towels free of charge, fully air-conditioned; have 2 bedroom chalets for family and friends; provide Creole and continental cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Le Surmer Self-Catering Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing