We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel L'Ocean
Nearby Hotels
Casa De Leela(La Digue Island)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chateau St Cloud(La Digue Island)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel(La Digue Island)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$588
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Six Senses Zil Pasyon(Felicite Island)
US$1,517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Digue Island Lodge(La Digue Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Gregoire's Apartments(La Digue Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Colibri Guest House(Baie Ste Anne)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
24
45
15
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
45
15
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla diguewifibikebeachesislandluggageferry
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We’re an Italian Family composed by 2 adults and one 10 years old girl. We spent in August 5 nights in Hotel L’Ocean and we reported a very good experience.
The hotel is just in front of the ocean on a Hill on a quite location. All rooms are in front of the sea and they are spacious and clean with a creole style furniture very nice.
Breakfast was very strong, with a very good choice of food, also restaurant was very good both for buffet menu and à la carte.
The only problem, but not really related to hotel itself was water, due to lack of raining in the last months.

Emanuela, Stefano, Isabella Samia

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emafalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in L’Ocean for three nights in April/May from where we explored the island by bike. The main reason for choosing the hotel were the reviews posted on tripadvisor which were generally very positive.
We had a slightly different experience. The staff appeared to be very cold and disinterested and this was noticed straight at our arrival. During our stay, we made an effort to be polite and engage in the conversations about the island and local food which help the staff become warmer and friendly, even greeting us with an occasional smile.
The room was nice, but totally OTT decorated. The shower room needs improvement, but was perfectly adequate. There was an abundance of toiletries.
The room had a balcony with a nice sea view, but the view was not as amazing as some of the reviews suggested as the roof of the dining room in front slightly obscured it.
We had DBB and on the first night decided to have a couple of drinks first and eat at about 8.30pm only to be told by the waitress and the chef, shouting from the kitchen, that we had to eat by 8.00pm. We thought this was unusual since the restaurant was meant to be open till 10.00pm. As soon as we finished our dinner, the staff locked up the kitchen and the bar, leaving the dishes on the tables and went home.
L’Ocean is a perfectly nice hotel but we will not be going back. Instead, we would highly recommend Domaine de L'Orangerie with excellent décor, facilities, very friendly staff and delicious food. But probably pricier.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

- staff- is realy very kind, helpful, gives you any kind of information you would need, but regarding the meals it just was not real information.They also welcome you
with welcome drink and smile and kind of information meeting, which was great.
- rooms- first we got a room number 6 with air condition out of order and very very poor bathroom, Went to the reception and got a room number 4 which was a bit better. Bathrooms are in general very poor. Rooms are very nicely decorated and at a first glance look like 5 star room, but closer look leads you to cheap renovation. Terraces of the rooms are devided only by a small fance so you could visit another room from your terrace. 2 rooms upstairs are just the same, less humid we would recon, but balcony is realy small.
- the view which everybody is describing as amazing- it is just a view to the ocean, nothing realy special about that view, nice feeling though.
- breakfast and dinner- we read and were told upon arrival that food is in a buffet form. At dinner we found out that it is a menu, only one actualy with dishes I do not eat at all. I asked for ordinary chicken curry instead and got lost of bones with curry. Explanation for the menu was - due to unsufficient number of clients, could not do it. O.k., we would understand and accept ed it if we were told at the beginning that dinner was not always buffet. But we booked it especialy because we were looking for buffet form in order to try several typical dishes at the same time. For the next evening we cancelled dinner, of course, and went for a super buffet dinner to the hotel next door-about 50m further -with nobel atmosphere, service, plenty of typical and international dishes and beside everything- locals had a show singing and dancing. Dinner was much cheaper than in our hotel, in buffet, with show and very cosy atsmophere.
- location- you can walk about 15 minutes a bit up from the village and you cannot walk in the dark. So you have to be back to the hotel before dark by bycicle or on foot. Except for neighboured Patatran Village- in our opinion much bette r hotel, there is absolutely nothing around, so stock yourself with water orwhatever you might need from the village.
- in general- hotel is much overpriced for what it is offering. If you do not mind location, better choice would be Patatran Village. If you want a perfect location with resort style and on the beach and even cheaper price, choose Island Village which we also went to check.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The hotel is in the quiet northern end of the island, on top of a hill before the road bends. We stayed in room 1, the view from the balcony wasn't too bad as we still had the full view of the sunrise and a bit of sunset. I think this was the best room if you couldn't get the ones upstairs. The room was nicely decorated with shells, sand etc that gave you the beach feelings. The bathroom is clean, no tub though. The only thing that I would complain was the seal of the shower door should be fixed, as the water was leaking from the door and made the floor wet. There was no tv, but we didn't need one here.

We paid for the dinner plan and it really was a good idea as there weren't any restaurants nearby. The dinner was buffet style and the food was excellent! The dishes were different everyday and it was great to try out different things. The tables in the restaurant all had a glass covered box and you could see the shells, sand, and other decorations inside. Breakfast were the typical stuffs, not buffet style.

We rented the bicycles from the hotel and went to different beaches. There was a beach close by if you don't want to bike. A lot of the beaches were deserted, especially those in the northeast (turn right from the hotel). The island in general was quiet compare to Praslin and Mahe.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Perched on the hill at the northern tip of La Digue, the hotel location is great.
Jude was always helpful, with arranging transfers and a wonderful 1/2 day snorkel trip to Coco and Felicitie islands that was great value.
The rooms are not spacious, and every wall is covered in decorations made from shells, corals or palm barks. Its a bit OTT.
The bathroom is dated, with lots of wasted space. Although the hotel looks like its going through a refit one room at a time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews