We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would fly to the Seychelles again just to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I honeymooned in the Seychelles visiting Praslin, La Digue and Mahe, and this was by far the most beautiful hotel in which we had the pleasure of staying. When we arrived, we waited quite a bit of time past the check-in time (noon) to get our room, but it turned out, they had upgraded us to a Charme villa! Furthermore, they surprised us with champagne and a basket of fruit, and we received little packages of chocolates on our bed every day.

The hotel is impeccably appointed with clear attention to detail, and the huge, outdoor bathroom was the best of any hotel we have tried. They had something we had never seen before - soap 'paper'. They look like thin sheets of parchment but are made of soap and dissolve when you wash your hands - unique and really cool. Their shampoo, lotion and soaps were custom-made with various combinations of aromatic tropical ingredients (e.g., ylang ylang, lemongrass, avocado, etc.). The bedsheets are so soft! While some reviewers have mentioned the steep price of staying here, it is actually a good value because a regular city hotel in the US will cost around $150USD/night to start, and they are much smaller, offer significantly less amenities, and they are not located on a beach and amongst tropical forest in the Indian Ocean! There were some ants on the bathroom counter and a flying cockroach or two outside, but seeing as this is a tropical island, we aren't so isolated to presume that natural life won't visit even in a luxury resort! That being said, when we had massages in the spa - afterburn smoothing wrap for him and a coconut ritual for me, we both got mosquito bites right at the beginning because of the time of day (dusk) and exposed shoulders. That initially detracted from the relaxation we were attempting, so if there is any place in the hotel to do what they can to minimize pesky insects, it should definitely start at the outdoor spa areas. The sunset view from the outdoor massage room, however, was stunning.

The infinity pool is great, and the whole reception and bar areas are beautifully decorated. The breakfast buffets were surprisingly delicious, covering the usual egg station, sausages and bacon, porridge, breads and fruits, but also a variety of cheeses (brie, cheddar to name a couple). We ate at the a la carte restaurant for a lunch and dinner, and the dinner was definitely better but both were generally lackluster given the expectations we had with such a wonderful hotel in all other regards. At lunch, his entrecote was tough and chewy, and my smoked fish and mozzarella app was quite good for the first two pieces but then the toasted white bread taste got old after that. For dinner, we had a lobster medallion app for about $27USD that consisted of 3 tiny circles of lobster, and while the menu description said it came with truffle green beans, ours came with peas and a piece of white fish wrapped in eggplant (?) that were only so-so. The foie gras app, however, was an abundant portion and scrumptious. A tuna and octopus app was okay.

Room Tip: You can easily just walk down from the higher rooms instead of waiting for a buggy every time. You m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v_valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear V-Valentine,

Thank you so much for your message left on the Tripadvisor forum.

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our boutique hotel for your honeymoon and to make you discover our little paradise.

We look forward to welcome you at another time, for your wedding anniversary, for another beautiful hotel experience.

Kindest regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

Le Domaine is one of the most beautiful island resorts i have seen, the pool area at sunset over looking the ocean is breath taking. The hotel has such amazing attention to detail and is decorated absolutely beautifully. The Interior Designer did an incredible job.
What i loved the most:
A massage in the the Spa - That has to be one of the best located Spas i have ever seen, Set high up in the granite rocks with sweeping oceans views.
The essential oils that that the burn in the bedrooms - Lemongrass was the scent, it made the room so fresh and relaxing
The rooms- The garden and Charme Villas are both great - if you can upgrade you should the Charme Villa is stunning! The cleaning staff did such a great job, after a sandy day at the beach you unfortunately get sand in your room and every single day that you feel like its a brand new room as they are cleaned so well!
Great breakfast - in the bottom restaurant that you are basically sitting in the beautiful turquoise sea.

But most importantly what i have to comment on is that i left my wallet in my room on the day of departure - My wallet contained alot of money and all my cards. The hotel had my wallet delivered to me in my hand on another island and nothing at all was missing. So Thank you so much for that. There is a great team off staff working there. I would recommend anyone to book and sty at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Lulu S.,

We were delighted to welcome you recently on La Digue island and would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience at Le Domaine with the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate the good comments and same will be forwarded to each one who contributed to make your stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to Seychelles islands,

Wishing you a nice day, we remain available at any time to assist you,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My husband and I are on a mission to explore as many hotels in Seychelles as we possibly can - and we must say, of the few we've visited, Le Domaine definitely tops our list!

The location is simply stunning - the hotel seems to have been strategically 'placed' admist nature. Our room was not ready when we arrived (we can totally understand why this place is always full!), so we spent some time in the arrival lounge which had tea/coffee/tv/wifi and a shower room. Thumbs up! The staff were friendly, always checking on us and reminding us that our room was being prepared.

Our room, a garden villa, was spectacular! Very modern and extremely comfortable, with all the amenities you could possibly need. We found it very hard to leave it, even for dinner! We had a small issue with our mini bar - I believe the fuse burnt and all the power went out. Front office reacted like magic - within minutes maintenance were in our room and all power was restored! How efficient!

The pool experience at sunset is really something: not sure if they have a heating system for the pool, but the water was heavenly, and that coupled with two cocktails and some live music really made our day.

The food is also one of the best we've had. An excellent choice was provided at breakfast of both continental and american. Dinner is themed, and we had Indian cuisine, but they also provide some international dishes which is great. Our favourite was the dessert station with a freezer full of ice cream goodies. I complained the next morning about breakfast not having a 'dessert' course! Collin, a student I believe, is a staff member who stood out the most to us, for his warm smile and excellent service. Our room maid for the night (not sure of her name) was also extremely friendly. We hope that the hotel has some recognition program for its team members who receive praise from guests - they deserve it.

All in all, we were truly surprised at the quality of service, the level of sophistication, cleanliness, efficiency of staff and quality of food, given this place is not a chain hotel. We imagine that management must place great emphasis on training their staff, to have them reach this level. There were a few small mistakes (i.e. being delivered the wrong luggage to our room) but what matters is how its dealt with. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Have no fear in booking a garden villa - it is just as private, beautiful and comfortable. Also, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseinSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Genevieve,

Greetings from Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie. We very much value your personal feedback and we thank you for taking the time to submit your opinion online, in regards to your recent stay in our hotel. Praising our staff is also much appreciated and we will certainly forward them your great comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie on La Digue for another memorable experience,

Kindest regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The hotel is a really good value for money. Everything is top there.
The only improvement must be the quality of the wifi connection in the bar and pool area.
The staff is really friendly and helpful, the villa is secluded the only disturbance is the fruit that drop on the roof now and again...:)
The place itself is an oasis in a small island village...
The only thing I missed during the day and evenings was a little bit of local music, which is fantastic, there was only one evening with a local band and only for one hour or two...
There is only one hotel of this level on La Digue, so don't hesitate to book it if you are after a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels
Thank Yevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Traveler,

We thank you for praising our boutique hotel on La Digue island and for choosing our hotel during your stay in the Seychelles. We were glad for an opportunity to make you experience our various services and especially the exoticism of the place.

We wish you a very happy New Year and look forward to see you soon on our shores,

Best regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My English is poor,but I try to let everyone knows. I stayed 4 nights in villa de charm this middle of this month. Lets start...
1. We asked to pick from the jetty. When we arrived,we didn't see their smile and welcomed. The man who pick us looks charp and strange to us.
2. We got in our villa,it's nice design,the lemon grass oil smells good. But some equipment are broken or useless. It's just for good looking! Like the toilet,you must cover then flush,it's not convenient. And blind is broken. Can see the light by. There's no main power switch,and the power switch is diffcult to turn on or off.
3. No teeth brush I can accept. But no body lotion,no hair conditioner,you have to ask for.
4. We don't know we have wait outside to wait the buggy,we thought when they arrive,they will knock the door. So the first we called buggy,we waited inside and outside for ten minutes. Then call them,they said,the buggy didn't see us then went back. What service!
5. One of the most important is service! It's terrible. I can't believe it's the best resort in the island! Front office,spa office,restaurant staff,all are terrible service. (the only three staffs are good, one is buggy driver he's from Mahe. One girl offer swimming pool towel service. And one chubby woman from spa reservation.)and the tall boy from bicycle rent,he's no expression,like he doesn't want rent us bicycle for free.
6. The other important is food! We booked for half board. So both breakfast and dinner are buffet. Breakfast is not too much choice. Dinner quality is terrible. Very low level and bad tasty.
7. The spa location very good,from the room you can see nice view. We booked for sunburn smoothing and after sun cooling wrap. My god,it's extremely same! Anyway the way massage is good,we didn't complain. And the skinner woman from spa reservation is the most terrible and horror staff I've never seen. I asked some question she didn't reply and no expression.
8. Swimming pool is very nice. You can see sun set there.
Almost these. After 4 days in this resort we went to raffles in praslin. It's completely difference!! I'm trying to let everyone knows my feeling.

Room Tip: Higher and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ltc870810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Traveler,

We thank you for choosing Le Domaine for your recent stay on La Digue island and for taking the time to share your comments. We value your feedback very much, as we strive constantly to provide our guests with a most beautiful experience in our independent hotel de charme.

We are disappointed to notice that your stay in our hotel did not fully match your expectations in certain aspects, we apologize for it and do hope that you will however keep a good souvenir from La Digue overall.

In order for us to better understand your above mentioned remarks and personal experience concerning service at Front Office, Spa office as well as Restaurant, please kindly provide us with more details to the following address: reservations(a)orangeraie.sc We will be glad to hear from you and your input will be useful for eventual corrective actions.

We wish you a most enjoyable festive season and remain available at any time to assist you,

With kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We initially stayed in a Villa de Charme in February 2012. After 2 days, we asked to be moved to the Garden Villa, which was cheaper, and we found it to be much better.

We paid 420 Euro per night for the Villa de Charme. Although nicely decorated, we thought it was too crowded with things inside and there was not enough light inside. But the worst part was the bugs. There were ants in our bed, many lizards inside the apartments, and the outdoor bathroom was really beautiful, but impossible to have a peaceful shower without all kinds of bugs flying on you. Because of this, we asked to move to a Garden Villa for the remaining 2 nights (around 350 Euro I think), which is much more simple, but we much preferred. The staff was nice to arrange the change after no availability at first.

Other than this, the swimming pool area is really nice, the best part of the hotel. The breakfast buffet and dinner were decent, nothing special. The "free" bikes were great to bike around the island. Staff was friendly, but less than Praslin where we came from. And the spa has a tremendous view of the island, very nice.

Enjoy La Digue, very charming island!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caio_Grynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Good afternoon Caio,

Greetings from Seychelles. Trust you had an enjoyable flight back to Brazil.

It was our pleasure to welcome you at Le Domaine and to make you experience our hotel. We have well noted your preference between our Villas de Charme (on the hillside, decorated with natural elements and with an outdoor bathroom) and the Garden Villa, which are two very different categories, each one having its own very special touches.

Please note that our Garden Villas are now being modernized and remodeled. Having listened to our guests' feedback, we have designed the first newly furnished room incorporating modern, comfortable and island inspired designs. The 60 sqm Garden Villa offers the convenience of a peaceful and spacious accommodation set in an enchanting surrounding, amidst the exotic and lush garden of Le Domaine.

We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, especially in one of our new Garden Villas. Our reservations & marketing teams will be delighted to assist you at any time,

Wishing you a nice day,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed at a Villa de Charme Elegance in July 2012. While we spent most of our time at the various gorgeous beaches on La Digue, the hotel has a beautiful pool where you can relax. The complimentary bikes available for use are a great amenity and allows you to explore the whole island. The breakfast buffet and dinner were ok, nothing spectacular. The service could be a bit friendlier and the staff seemed uninterested at times in providing assistance... they should take more initiative. The buggy service was unreliable and could involve long waits. Sometimes the buggy that was called for us was snatched up by a different guest waiting further up the road. The rooms themselves were quite dark and a few more lamps could have helped to avoid some stubbed toes. The outdoor bathroom and shower, while charming initially, had a lot of bugs. Don't leave your toothbrush outside overnight or it will be covered with ants by morning. Internet is slow and unreliable on the whole island but for the hotel to charge extra for it is unreasonable. Probably the nicest place to stay on La Digue but wouldn't spend more than 2 or 3 nights there... stick to the bigger resorts on Mahe and Praslin if you're looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zoltrix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Zoltrix56,

We thank you for your contribution and for taking the time to post your personal comments on Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie. We were glad for the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel de Charme and to make you experience our various services.

We regret that you left with mixed feelings at some levels and would like to apologize if some specific points did not fully match your expectations, but we do hope that you will still keep a good overall souvenir of your stay as well as of La Digue island.

Wishing you a nice day, we hope to welcome you another time soon during your next trip to Seychelles,

Kind regards,

Philippe CORNAILLE, Resident Manager, for
Stephane BURKHALTER, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,440 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
956 reviews
7 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
352 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,053 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range: £341 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing