We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“almost there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just spent 8 enjoyable days at the hotel. On arrival, we got an upgrade from the smaller garden villa that we had booked to a larger villa de charme. These are built around palm trees in the jungle on the hill, the evenings and mornings on the balconies are unforgettable, with birds and fruit bats flying above you between the trees. The outdoor bathroom/showers are terrific, although we found the rooms a bit too dark. The golf cart staff was very friendly and quick to arrive, although most of the time I chose to walk. The lady at the information desk helped us twice to rent a car for a day trip to Praslin. The bar and cocktails deck staff was very friendly too, the service was quick. The infinity swimming pool is excellent. For a nice change, it’s not one of those shallow bright blue pools that give you 10 meters to swim and 15 meters to stand. This one is deep enough and large enough to actually enjoy a swim. The breakfast buffet is one of the most extensive that we have come across in similar hotels.
This is not a beach hotel, rather a waterfront hotel. There is a small stretch of sand next to the pool/bar area but the see is shallow and we did not see anyone spending much time there. But in the end this may be for the better, gives the hotel a nice compact on-the-cliff feel. Besides, La Dique has many nice and simply breathtaking beaches and they are most definitely worth the bike ride.

We stayed on a B&B basis, so we went to the a la carte restaurant for dinner a couple of times. Fish and sea food are excellent, meat is questionable, as pork and chicken seem to get the same amount of cooking time as fish, so I would not recommend those. The wine is unreasonably expensive. A basic South African white single grape twist off bottle starts at around $45. Half bottle Sancerre - $85! Mercifully, local rum saves the day (and wallet).

Oddly, there does not seem to be (or we did not figure out) a simple evening meal option. The bar will not offer any food or snack after 6pm. You either pay a full entry buffet price per person or pick from a choice of gourmet options at the a la carte restaurant. And unlike the wide choice of wonderful beaches during the day, La Digue has a limited choice of dinner options.
The bikes are free but bad. You should really hate you child to put her on the rusty piece of junk that the hotel calls a kid’s bike. The chains and gears on other bikes are also rusty, brakes and wheels are very noisy, some pedals are bent to the point of kicking your foot off the pedal. The bike garage staff either lacks any will to work or does not have any tools to work with and decided not to bother at all.

Overall, a great hotel on a very special island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    391
    143
    70
    33
See reviews for
206
1,165
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kehl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We came on april 2010 , and we decided to come back because our stay was amazing. Once again we were not disappointed, the staff and management of the hotel gave us a wonderful stay. The little touches, the service, the pool and the style of the room. Never two without three, we'll be back .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel really struggled to meet expectations from that of its Mahe equivalents, which it really shouldn't have... The setting, pool and rooms are beautiful, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Jacuzzi room set in the hill s and it was amazing... with an outside bathroom and decor that was incredible.

The Problems start with the staff - they are rude, unhelpful and pretty much miserable at all times! Shocking when you come from Le Constance Ephilia on Mahe where the staff couldn't be more friendly..

The Buffet food during dinner and breakfast way way below parr - cold and pretty limited in section if you dont like the theme they have on!!!! I did actually feel for one of the chefs who was cooking eggs and was boiling behind there with no sign of help! Really poor! Also £4 for a bottle of water... ha! what a cheek... we bought our own one night and got told off by the staff!!!! Just shocking...

Now my last complaint here was the bikes - which are very poorly maintained and honestly a deathtrap waiting to happen... Just make sure you get a good one before going out...

Lastly the aircon in the rooms is highly ineffective - but hey its the Seychelles! and its HOT

Now I am a fair man - so I score it average as the rooms and setting were impressive, but the service and food was so apauling I simply cant score it any higher - Disappointing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Since booking a few months ago the reviews have been a bit worrying but management has obviously listened. Only one minor problem with very slow check-in, diffident female staff made no effort to explain. Once staff member Ishan did so and apologised we were fine- the complimentary drink offer was very kind and settled the aggravation.
Now, the good stuff. This is a beautifully trendily designed hotel with a fabulous position- the bar, pool and restaurants have a wonderful review. Stayed in Villa Charm Elegance- huge area with jacuzzi- a bit dark as mentioned by other reviewer (good bedside lamps) but otherwise gorgeous-221 is up against granite walls and is very big up- made good use of the buggies.
Breakfast average but nice freshly cooked noodles at the buffet for dinner. The a la carte was better- very fresh salad. Ordered the seafood platter (by 4 pm)- plenty for two people and the best lobster we've ever had. Service good.
Hired a tandem bike at the jetty and pedalled to Grande Anse and then over the top of the island- much under rated road and beaches this way. Source Argent beach a bit over rated- too many people compared to the more remote ones.
Lovely anniversary fruit and champagne- nice touch.
Someone is obviously responding to the reviews and quickly. The hotel gets my top recommendation...

Room Tip: rooms with jacuzzi expensive but incredibly spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisavanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

First I need to start off with the positives because this truthfully isn't a biased review of any sort. Firstly, the island of La Digue - exceptional! Mind blowing! A real beauty! Beaches are surreal and award winning. Then there is the Hotel, Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie - a thorn amongst the roses, an absolute death trap.

On arrival at the hotel, everything seems grand with a marvelous entrance and modern architectural design. Our smiles of awe and awsomeness soon turned into a frown of doom and gloom, which pretty much lasted throughout our stay. The welcoming hostess had a huge chip on her shoulder. She gave us a very brief and cold welcoming and any other questions raised by us was followed by a huff and puff like the big bad wolf. Any requests were a huge inconvenience for her to to follow, let alone answer if they were even possible. Luggage took forever to arrive from the dock. Isn't first impression always the last? In this case, definitely yes.

Rooms on the other hand are to die for, outside showers and private villas had everything you could need, but be carful how you use your bath towel because you only get one each throughout your stay. Maybe shower half your body the one night and the other half another night so you can save damp space on the towels?

As for the restaurant, this is an area to avoid at all costs, not in terms of the food, but it's service. On one event : "sorry sir, you can't come in, lunch is only served at 12.30pm", time check 12.28pm... Are you serious!? Once allowed in 2 minutes later we were moved several times, as we were told you can't eat by the pool, you can't eat at the bar and so on. When we were seated in an area we didn't like, another waiter brings a gentleman a yummy burger and chips at the bar and another tourist a salad by the pool. Hmmm...favoritism? Or just poor un synchronized management and shocking service.

Dinner is were I finish off this review and is the main reason for giving this hotel such a terrible review. On arrival, waiting to be seated I felt like I was back in school again "sorry sir, no slops or shorts above the knee, you can't come in" Instead of getting angry, knowing this is a beach resort, I sucked in my pride and headed back to my room which is a tiresome walk up the hill where you have to catch a golf cart, leaving my partner alone at the restaurant. Once I was finally seated a family of 7 were seated and how were the dressed? Sarongs, shorts and slops. Funny that, how dare they be dressed like that, coming from the beach.

Again, poor management each one with there own set of different rules. We started off by ordering wine that was off and smelt like vinegar. Corked wine, sour staff, it was time leave, so we left without even ordering food and ventured into the village were the locals welcomed us humbly with fantastic wines and homemade cooking.

The next day we decided to shorten our stay, we checked out earlier than arranged coming back to Mahe island were hotels are grateful for your business and we once felt we were back on holiday and not school detention.

Honestly, this hotel does not do the island justice, stern warning!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Too big, not personalized, crazy golf cart driving from staff, bad to poor service, free bicycles are death traps, but above all, the rudest bunch of people I have ever met in a 5 star establishment.

When you pay for top prices there is an expectation level that is seriously lacking here.

New manager from France apologized after we were accused of racist remarks (utter rubbish). He advised he had just arrived and agreed the hotel needed work. Boy has he got his work cut out for himself.

Good luck to him and perhaps he is just what the hotel needs. A good shake up!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Schmidhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Sadly was only here for one night so not enough time to enjoy it properly. That said the villa was very nice, service was good and breakfast and evening meal were very good too. Transport to and from harbour were painless. Would love to go back but the bikes the hotel have are terrible and make cycling around the island much harder than it should be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie

Property: Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing