We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty resort right on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a very nice property in close proximity to the ferry dock. It is relaxing but probably the trendiest spot on the island. The pool is beautiful and the bar is very nice at night although it is pricey.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank e w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Why did I only stay for one night!!!!!!!! As a Director of Sales working for a hotel on mainland Mahe this was my first visit, paid of course as incognito so as not to get any possible special treatment. Well the place is simply stunning, service no fault and food incredible. This hotel certainly keeps the brand of Seychelles on top. Well done, should be rated 5 stars, superb!.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the villas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Domaine de L'orangeraie is a very nice place, with great rooms. really large, with all amenities, great outside bathroom and stunning terrace. The place to be with the one you love for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiCyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stunning property. An absolute beauty on the pearl of the Indian Ocean. From pick up at the ferry to check out - I only wish I could stay longer here.

Wonderful and luxury villa. The amenities are excellent. Comfortable bed, spacious room, beautiful garden. I had a tough time pulling myself out of the room (but at the same time La Digue is such a paradise that you want to go around. How tough is our life there!)

Breakfast by the ocean to kick off the day. Free bike to go around beautiful beaches. They offer "After check out service" to let us shower and rest. Perfect stay and great memories!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardcjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed two nights at L'Orangeraie in May. First of all this property is stunning, absolutely beautiful. When we arrived, we were so impressed by the sheer beauty found at this hotel. Abby was our guest relations executive and she was excellent. She provided a great overview of the property and offered terrific service. Our villa was fantastic, providing everything we needed. Our package included both breakfast and dinner. I have to say, this hotel has some of the best buffet food we have ever experienced. Our first night there, I shared with the Chef working the grill that I have a shellfish food allergy. He personally prepared a chicken breast separately for me to ensure I would have no contamination. I really appreciated this.

From there on out the service seemed to decline. One of our bags did not make it to island, it was delayed in Mahe. We soon realized my husband did not have his saline solution or contact case. We asked guest relations for assistance and they simply said "you will have to wait till tomorrow, the pharmacy in town is closed." I understand that this may be the case, however their response was cold and non-solution oriented. For a 4 or 5 star hotel, I truly expect they to show some compassion and at least act like they cared. Abby did follow up the following morning and ensured our bag was tracked and arrived promptly at the hotel.

When you would pass a staff member on the hotel grounds there was no greeting and they truly seemed bothered if you greeted them. The wait staff in the restaurant was not friendly and lacked a since of urgency or time, and would frequently forget to bring you something (coffee, wine, etc). I really felt like the staff is burnt out or not happy. Perhaps it is cultural La Digue as we found several of the locals to be unfriendly as well. We are world travelers and kind to others, and we did not experience this on the other islands. This service experience is truly unfortunate, especially for a property that excels in physical beauty and food. Based on the service, I would not recommend L'Orangeraie.

Room Tip: We booked a villa de charme, it was absolutely beautiful. My favorite part was the amazing outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spindygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just spent 8 enjoyable days at the hotel. On arrival, we got an upgrade from the smaller garden villa that we had booked to a larger villa de charme. These are built around palm trees in the jungle on the hill, the evenings and mornings on the balconies are unforgettable, with birds and fruit bats flying above you between the trees. The outdoor bathroom/showers are terrific, although we found the rooms a bit too dark. The golf cart staff was very friendly and quick to arrive, although most of the time I chose to walk. The lady at the information desk helped us twice to rent a car for a day trip to Praslin. The bar and cocktails deck staff was very friendly too, the service was quick. The infinity swimming pool is excellent. For a nice change, it’s not one of those shallow bright blue pools that give you 10 meters to swim and 15 meters to stand. This one is deep enough and large enough to actually enjoy a swim. The breakfast buffet is one of the most extensive that we have come across in similar hotels.
This is not a beach hotel, rather a waterfront hotel. There is a small stretch of sand next to the pool/bar area but the see is shallow and we did not see anyone spending much time there. But in the end this may be for the better, gives the hotel a nice compact on-the-cliff feel. Besides, La Dique has many nice and simply breathtaking beaches and they are most definitely worth the bike ride.

We stayed on a B&B basis, so we went to the a la carte restaurant for dinner a couple of times. Fish and sea food are excellent, meat is questionable, as pork and chicken seem to get the same amount of cooking time as fish, so I would not recommend those. The wine is unreasonably expensive. A basic South African white single grape twist off bottle starts at around $45. Half bottle Sancerre - $85! Mercifully, local rum saves the day (and wallet).

Oddly, there does not seem to be (or we did not figure out) a simple evening meal option. The bar will not offer any food or snack after 6pm. You either pay a full entry buffet price per person or pick from a choice of gourmet options at the a la carte restaurant. And unlike the wide choice of wonderful beaches during the day, La Digue has a limited choice of dinner options.
The bikes are free but bad. You should really hate you child to put her on the rusty piece of junk that the hotel calls a kid’s bike. The chains and gears on other bikes are also rusty, brakes and wheels are very noisy, some pedals are bent to the point of kicking your foot off the pedal. The bike garage staff either lacks any will to work or does not have any tools to work with and decided not to bother at all.

Overall, a great hotel on a very special island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We came on april 2010 , and we decided to come back because our stay was amazing. Once again we were not disappointed, the staff and management of the hotel gave us a wonderful stay. The little touches, the service, the pool and the style of the room. Never two without three, we'll be back .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,422 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,071 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
819 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range: £332 - £625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing